Skip to Main Content
The State University of New York at Fredonia Reed Library

Special Collections & Archives: Student-Curated Exhibits

Webpage for the Daniel A. Reed Library Special Collections & Archives department.

Student-Curated Exhibits & Digital Humanities Projects

These digital humanities exhibits were created by students in the ENGL435 - Fredonia Founding Faculty seminar class in the Spring of 2023 using primary source materials from our University Collections and Local & Regional History Collections to explore the lives of two SUNY Fredonia Faculty members.

Robert Rie:  Always Fired - I Never Quit

Video Presentation by Anne Smith and Alex Fisher

 

 

 

Marion Sonnenfeld: The Woman Who Brought Germany to Fredonia

Video Presentation by Laura Manikowski and Connor Klingler

ENGL 399 Student Exhibits

These exhibits were created by Fredonia students Ashley Halm, Devin White, and Liv Frazer during the Fall 2021 semester for the ENGL399 research practicum, Digital Humanities: Zweig.  Materials from the Stefan Zweig Collection were used to research, design, and create these digital projects that focus on particular elements of Zweig's career, especially his 1939 lecture tour in the United States and his literary works that have been translated to film during and after his lifetime.  

 

Zweig in America: the 1939 Lecture Tour

Video by Ashley Halm & Devin White

 

Stefan Zweig and the Legacy of Letter From an Unknown Woman 

Slide Presentation by Liv Frazer

Stefan Zweig: The Self of Exile

This virtual exhibit was created by Fredonia student Anna Wright (History, Class of 2021) for a Museum Studies internship with the Special Collections & Archives Division.  Materials from the Stefan Zweig Collection were used to research, curate, and design the virtual exhibit, which was produced with StoryMapJS software.  The exhibit explores the humanity of Stefan Zweig, his exile journey from Austria to Brazil, the relationship between Zweig's humanity and his literary legacy, and the impact that the reality of exile had on other Jewish and marginalized creatives that he corresponded with throughout his lifetime.  

Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary

Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford

Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike logo Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.