The Daniel A. Reed Library Special Collections & Archives Division is proud to offer a wide variety of collections in a diverse spectrum of subjects, historical periods, and topics.
Please refer to the list below for an overview of the types of collections in our holdings.
These collections are what the Special Collections & Archives Division of Reed Library is known for; world-class collections that provide a deeper look into the lives of Stefan Zweig and Sigurd Rascher, and also provide insight into the history of the Holland Land Company in our fledgling country. These are some of our largest and most unique collections, meaning that they hold a wide variety of material types, which makes their finding aids very thorough in information and, generally, unique in format.
Please note that the Stefan Zweig Collection and Sigurd M. Rascher Collection finding aids are both in progress, with plans to be released in the near future. For inquiries about either of these collections, please contact Special Collections & Archives staff.
The collections of Local & Regional History cover the past two centuries of history in New York State, with the earliest items in the collections dating from around 1800. Represented especially are the Western New York region, various towns and residents of Chautauqua County, and several organizations and individuals from the Village of Fredonia.
The materials represented in our selection of University Collections & Records trace the rich history of SUNY Fredonia from its humble beginnings as the Fredonia Academy through its transition to a state Normal School, Teacher's College, and eventual incorporation into the SUNY System. Included are organizational, faculty/staff, and alumni collections, providing a glimpse at student and faculty life at the Fredonia Normal School, Fredonia Teacher's College, SUNY College at Fredonia, and SUNY Fredonia campuses through the years.
Our digital collections represent physical materials that have been digitized for preservation or access purposes, and also include collections of born-digital content (meaning no digitization was directly involved in the creation of these digital materials).
These represent the "Special Collections" part of the Special Collections & Archives Division. Included here are Special Collections - or book-based collections that are representative of a specific theme or subject; Rare Books - collections and individual volumes of books that are not held by many other libraries worldwide, sometimes curated by a particular subject; and Manuscripts - selections of typewritten or handwritten documents and/or ephemera that are unique and not found anywhere else.
Special Collections & Archives are located on the 1st floor of the Carnahan-Jackson Center (accessible through the main floor of the Daniel A. Reed Library) on the campus of the State University of New York at Fredonia. View a Google Map of our location.
Contact the Archives Clerk at email@example.com for general inquiries,
PH: +1 716-673-3183
To make a research appointment for the use of Special Collections materials, please complete the Archives Research Consultation Request form.
Walk-in requests are not accepted, and appointments for the use of materials are mandatory.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • firstname.lastname@example.org
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.