Thank you for your interest in materials from Daniel A. Reed Library Special Collections & Archives for your research.
Please use the form below to make an appointment for either an individual (or small group) or an entire class (Faculty ONLY, please).
For more information on how to contact us or locate us on campus, please see the bottom of this page.
PLEASE NOTE: We do not provide individualized genealogical research for patrons. If you require assistance with genealogical research, we suggest you contact a professional genealogist. Further, we do not have the staffing to conduct searches of records on microfilm.
The Archives does not hold any of the following documents: immigration records and passenger lists, naturalization records, police and criminal records, or property deeds. We cannot search for vital records (e.g., birth, death, marriage certificates). Such information must be obtained through the New York State Department of Health or the relevant County, City, or Town Clerk's office. Please see the list of online resources below for help in locating such records.
Should you require assistance with your genealogical research, you may wish to consider using the services of a professionally trained genealogist. The following organizations may be able to provide information considering individual genealogy services. The Reed Library Archives & Special Collections does not endorse the services of the following individuals or organizations, nor can we specifically recommend any of these individuals or organizations:
As a courtesy to patrons seeking assistance with genealogy research, we have provided the following list of online resources. Please note that some of these services may require a paid subscription.
New York-specific resources:
Native American-specific resources:
General resources:
Special Collections & Archives are located on the 1st floor of the Carnahan-Jackson Center (accessible through the main floor of the Daniel A. Reed Library) on the campus of the State University of New York at Fredonia. View a Google Map of our location.
Please email special.collections@fredonia.edu for general inquiries,
or contact the Coordinator of Special Collections & Archives directly.
PH: +1 716-673-3183
To make a research appointment for the use of Special Collections materials, please complete the Archives Research Consultation Request form.
Walk-in requests are not accepted, and appointments for the use of materials are mandatory.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.