Skip to Main Content
The State University of New York at Fredonia Reed Library

Special Collections & Archives: About Us

Webpage for the Daniel A. Reed Library Special Collections & Archives department.

About Daniel A. Reed Library's Special Collections & Archives

What is the Special Collections & Archives Division?

​We are the Special Collections & Archives Division (SC&A), and our goal is servicing the campus of the State University of New York at Fredonia (Fredonia) as well as other communities to bolster their research, work, and level of understanding surrounding the materials held in our collections.  We boast an excellent and impressive Rare Books collection, and we have specialized collections based on topics in University history, music, local and regional history, activism, Jewish history, and the Interwar Period, as well as dozens of manuscript collections, ephemera pieces, and physical objects.

Who Uses Special Collections?

Our primary group of patrons is the campus community - undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, staff, and administration.  Beyond campus scholarship, the SC&A serves researchers on regional, national, and international levels.

But really -- everybody is welcome, and history should be appreciated by all.

Mission Statement

The Special Collections & Archives Division has several missions:

  1. To provide specialized and/or historical information from collections of primary source materials for the Fredonia campus community;
  2. To curate, preserve, and make available the best possible primary resources in selected subjects that support the scholarly work of Fredonia faculty and students as well as researchers and broader academic communities worldwide;
  3. To document and preserve the history of the State University of New York at Fredonia and the greater Fredonia community, and to make that history available to the campus community as well as the public;
  4. To create world-class collections that are engaging, meaningful, and historically relevant that will encourage scholarly activity and improve the overall understanding of the subjects and topics which they represent.

Virtual Tour of Special Collections & Archives at Daniel A. Reed Library

Special Collections Staff - Coordinator of Special Collections & Archives

Profile Photo
Mandi Shepp
she/they
Contact:
Office: Carnahan-Jackson Center 104
(716)673-3606

Contact Information

Where We Are In The Library:

Special Collections & Archives are located on the 1st floor of the Carnahan-Jackson Center (accessible through the main floor of the Daniel A. Reed Library) on the campus of the State University of New York at Fredonia. View a Google Map of our location.

Phone & Email:

Please email special.collections@fredonia.edu for general inquiries,

or contact the Coordinator of Special Collections & Archives directly.

PH: +1 716-673-3183

To make a research appointment for the use of Special Collections materials, please complete the Archives Research Consultation Request form.

Walk-in requests are not accepted, and appointments for the use of materials are mandatory.

Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary

Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford

Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike logo Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.