Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Reed Library: Community & Alumni

How to Use the Library Resources & Computers

How to Borrow from Reed Library

  • Bring a valid photo ID to the Circulation Desk.
  • Fill out a brief form before receiving your card.
  • As a library card holder you are subject to fines and are responsible for any late, lost, or damaged items. Please refer to our circulation policies.
  • Any fines will have to be paid in-person at the circulation desk.
  • If you would like to renew an item, you will need to call the Circulation Desk at 716-673-3184. At this time, community members cannot renew materials online.
  • Keep in mind that library hours vary over the course of the year. Please refer to our hours.
  • If you have any questions, please call 716-673-3184.

How to Make Photocopies

  • Photocopy machines do not accept change.
  • You can purchase a Fredonia gift card and have value placed on it at the college bookstore. Cards can also be purchased at the Vend Port machine on the wall near the McEwen Computer Lab.  From this source, $10.00 will give you $7.00 of value on the card.
  • Swipe your card.
  • Photocopies are $.10/page.
  • Double-sided copies are not available. 

How to Use Reed Library Computers

  • Bring a valid photo ID to the Circulation Desk. You must be 18 or older. You are responsible for supervising any minors you may have with you. The library bears no responsibility for Internet content. (August 2008)
  • Register for a one day username and password, or a longer-term username and password that will expire on February 1 or September 1.  
  • There are four computers for community use. If those machines are occupied, you will have to wait until one of the machines opens. 
  • These four computers have access to pre-installed software, Internet, the library catalog and library databases. 
  • When Reed Library is busy, community users may be asked to relinquish computers to Fredonia students at any time. 

Circulation Policies

Students, Faculty & Staff may borrow library materials by presenting their FREDCard at the Circulation Desk.

Current students may borrow up to 25 items. Faculty (current and emeritus) and staff (current) may borrow up to 50 items.

Community Members and  Alumni may borrow up to 25 items, using their community borrower card.

Library Loan Periods and Fines
Item Loan Period Fines
Books, Scores 3 Weeks $.25 per day until overdue item is returned.
DVDs 1 Week $1.00 per day until overdue item is returned
Records, Cassettes, CDs 3 Weeks $1.00 every hour until overdue is returned
Headphones 3 Hours (In Library Use Only) $1.00 per day until overdue item is returned
Nook 1 Week $5.00 every hour until overdue is returned

Reserve Materials -- Loans and Fines

Loan Period Fines
2 Hour Library Use Only, One Item Per Person $1.00 every hour and portion thereof until overdue item is returned
2 Hour & Overnight When borrowed within two hours of closing, item is due within first hour of opening on the following day, one item per person $1.00 every hour and portion thereof until overdue item is returned
3 Hour Library Use Only, One Item Per Person $1.00 every hour and portion thereof until overdue item is returned

Gift & Donation Policy

We value the donation of gifts to our collections and appreciate resources that support the mission of State University of New York at Fredonia.

The following are the guidelines for accepting gifts:

  • The Library accepts materials that directly support the curriculum, enhance current research areas, support current curricular interests, add to the College archives or local history collections, or demonstrate literary merit.
  • As with purchases, the Library will adhere to current cooperative collection development agreements in their decisions to add items to the collection.
  • Gifts become the property of the College upon receipt, and the Library will determine the use or disposition of these materials.
  • Materials must be in good condition.
  • Materials not accepted into the collection will be discarded, donated or sold and monies designated for building the collection.
  • Bookplates will be inserted into materials at the request of the donor.
  • Gifts will be acknowledged in a letter from the Library Director or the Collection Development Librarian upon request of the person donating the materials.
  • Appraisals and/or lists of books donated are the responsibility of donors and must be completed before the donation is made to the Library. Donors should consult their tax advisors about the need for a professional appraisal.
  • Questions about donations to the Music Collection should be directed to Kevin Michki, Music Librarian, at 716-673-3117 or kevin.michki@fredonia.edu.
  • For donations to the Archives and Special Collections click here.

Microform

One of our microform machines allows for free printing direct from the film. The others scan the film to a PDF, which you may email to yourself to print. Students can print this PDF using their print quota; community members will need to purchase a print top-up card if they wish to print the item in the Library.

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu