Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Reed Library: Library Collections

Library Collections

Reed Library Board Game Collection

Board Game Collection

Reed Library's Board Game Collection is located within the Reference Book section. All games are available for in-library use.

For more information on the Board Game Collection, please see the Board Game Collection guide.

New Books

The Library's newest additions to our circulating collection are displayed on the Library's first floor, opposite the Circulation Desk.

New books have the same loan periods as all other circulating materials.

DVDs

Reed Library offers a collection of nearly 1000 DVDs for educational and leisure viewing. The DVD Collection is located across from the New Books shelves, on the Library's first floor near the computers.

DVDs are loaned for four weeks. The overdue fine is $1 per day. DVDs are arranged by the accession number shown on the spine of the case, and in the call number in the catalog. These represent the order in which the Library received the DVDs, and do not necessarily represent new releases.

Microforms Room

The Microforms Room, on the first floor of Reed Library, houses microfilm and microfiche of newspapers, archival material, and other periodicals and monographs, as well as machines to read and reproduce these materials.

For more information on the Library's microform holdings, please see our microform guide.

Safezone Collection

The Safezone Collection includes fiction, nonfiction, and DVDs related to LGBTQIA+ issues.

For more information on the Safezone Collection, please see the Safezone Collection guide.

Literacy Collection

The Literacy Collection, of particular interest to English language learners, consists of literary works grouped in different stages based on word count and difficulty level. Titles include classic fiction including The Secret GardenFar From the Madding Crowd, and The Joy Luck Club; biographies of figures including Shakespeare and Gandhi; nonfiction bestsellers such as Eat, Pray, Love; and original fiction and nonfiction. The collection is shelved between the Oversized Reference Materials and the Very Short Introduction Collection. The stages range from Starter to Stage 6.

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI) Collection

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Collection is an extension of Reed Library's Juvenile Collection that brings attention to underrepresented groups in children's literature.

For more information on the DEI Collection, please see the DEI Collection guide.

Juvenile Collection

on the second floor of the Carnahan-Jackson Center, includes books for readers from Pre-K to 12th grade, and resources for P-12 educators.

For more information on the Juvenile Collection, please see the Juvenile Collection page.

Collections Overview

In addition to our main circulating collection and Reference Collection, Reed Library has several smaller collections for more specific patron needs:

  • Archives & Special Collections hold original historical material, available to researchers by appointment.
  • The Music Collection, located in the Reed Library mezzanine, holds books, scores, and vinyl records for students, faculty, and researchers in the music fields. CDs and DVDs are located on the Library's first floor.
  • The New Books shelves, near the Circulation Desk, showcase recent additions to the Library's collection.
  • The DVD collection, across from the New Books shelves, includes over 1000 DVDs for research and entertainment.
  • The Microforms Room, on the first floor of Reed Library, houses microfilm and microfiche of newspapers, archival material, and other periodicals and monographs, as well as machines to read and reproduce these materials.
  • The Juvenile Collection, on the second floor of the Carnahan-Jackson Center, includes books for readers from Pre-K to 12th grade, and resources for P-12 educators.
  • The Safezone Collection includes fiction, nonfiction, and DVDs related to LGBTQIA+ issues.
  • The Literacy Collection, near the center of the first floor, features books from the Oxford Bookworms Library, with classic and original literature rewritten for English language learners.

With the exception of Archives & Special Collections, all of the Library's collections are available at any time the Library is open. If you have any questions regarding these or other collections, please ask a librarian.

Research Assistance Available

In-person, in Reed Library
Monday-Thursday: 9 am to 10 pm
Friday: 9 am to 4 pm
Sunday: 6 pm to 10 pm

 

undefined

 

  Call: 716-673-3222

  Text: 716-407-7698 

 

undefined


Individual research appointments

Schedule an individual research appointment with a librarian. We can meet in person or virtually.

 

undefined
 
 Email

  Please address any questions or concerns to reedref@fredonia.edu

 

undefinedChat live 24/7 

Our virtual reference service is available around the clock for any questions you may have.

 

 

Interlibrary Loan

If Reed Library doesn’t have the article, book, score, DVD, or other item you are looking for, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. This service is free!

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu