Call numbers are used to identify individual works. A call number is divided into lines: each line gives distinct information about the work. You can find a book's call number on the cover and/or spine of the work.
| Example | Description |
|---|---|
| ML | The first line of a call number contains the work's class. The class indicates the subject of the work. Class ML is used for literature on music, while class MT is used for materials on music instruction and study. |
| 2054 | The second line of a call number contains the work's class number. Class numbers organize works within the same class into subcategories. |
|
C35 |
A class number is typically followed by one or more Cutter numbers. A Cutter number is a combination of letters and numbers exclusive to an individual author, editor, title, publisher, etc. |
| 2008 | A call number typically ends with one or more lines about the work itself. This can include a date of publication, date of revision, volume number, etc. |
Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML128.O6 | Bibliographies |
| ML550 | History |
| ML552 → 592 | Construction & Repair |
| MT180 → 189 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML128.P3 | Bibliographies |
| ML650 | History |
| ML652 → 697 | Construction & Repair |
| MT220 → 255 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML800 | History |
| ML802 → 846 | Construction & Repair |
| ML850 → 897 | Performance |
| MT260 → 279.7 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML900 | History |
| ML901 | Construction & Repair |
| ML905 | Performance |
| MT280 → 298 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML910 | History |
| ML911 | Construction & Repair |
| ML915 | Performance |
| MT300 → 318 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML920 | History |
| ML921 | Construction & Repair |
| ML925 | Performance |
| MT320 → 334 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML1005 | History |
| ML1006 | Construction & Repair |
| ML1008 | Performance |
| MT540 → 557 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML1015.G9 | History |
| ML1016.G8 | Construction & Repair |
| MT580 → 599 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML128.F7 | Bibliographies |
| ML935 | History |
| ML936 | Construction & Repair |
| ML937 | Performance |
| MT340 → 359 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML128.O2 | Bibliographies |
| ML940 | History |
| ML941 | Construction & Repair |
| ML943 | Performance |
| MT360 → 379 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML950 | History |
| ML951 | Construction & Repair |
| MT400 → 415 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML945 | History |
| ML946 | Construction & Repair |
| ML948 | Performance |
| MT380 → 395 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML128.S247 | Bibliographies |
| ML975 | History |
| ML976 | Construction & Repair |
| ML978 | Performance |
| MT500 → 508 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML128.T78 | Bibliography |
| ML960 | History |
| ML961 | Construction & Repair |
| ML963 | Performance |
| MT440 → 448 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML955 | History |
| ML956 | Construction & Repair |
| ML958 | Performance |
| MT420 → 432 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML128.T76 | Bibliography |
| ML965 | History |
| ML966 | Construction & Repair |
| ML968 | Performance |
| MT460 → 472 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML970 | History |
| ML971 | Construction & Repair |
| ML973 | Performance |
| MT480 → 486 | Studies (Tuba) |
| MT496 → 496.8 | Studies (Euphonium) |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML102.P4 | Dictionaries |
| ML128.P23 | Bibliographies |
| ML1030 → 1049 | History |
| MT655 → 725 | Studies |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML1460 | History & Criticism (Vocal Technique) |
| MT820 → 915 | Singing & Vocal Technique |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML102.B35 | Dictionaries |
| ML1299 → 1354 | History & Criticism |
| MT73 → 73.7 | Instrumentation & Orchestration |
| MT135 → 136 | Analysis & Appreciation |
| MT733 → 733.7 | Performance |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML1499 → 1554 | History & Criticism |
| MT70.5 | Arranging |
| MT85 | Conducting |
| MT88; MT875 | Singing |
| MT110 → 115 | Analysis & Appreciation |
| LC Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| ML128.O5 | Bibliographies |
| ML1200 → 1270 | History |
| MT125 → 130 | Analysis & Appreciation |
| MT730 | Performance |
Visit our Research Guides for call numbers related to music composition, education, theory, and therapy.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.