Our most recent round of acquisitions will focus on two broad subjects:
Check out our Sorel Collection Page for the latest additions by Sorel visiting artists!
A Little History of Music by
Human beings have always made music. Music can move us and tell stories of faith, struggle, or love. It is common to all cultures across the world. But how has it changed over the millennia? Robert Philip explores the extraordinary history of music in all its forms, from our earliest ancestors to today's mass-produced songs.
Hearing Beethoven by
We're all familiar with the image of a fierce and scowling Beethoven, struggling doggedly to overcome his rapidly progressing deafness. That Beethoven continued to play and compose for more than a decade after he lost his hearing is often seen as an act of superhuman heroism. But the truth is that Beethoven's response to his deafness was entirely human. And by demystifying what he did, we can learn a great deal about Beethoven's music.
The Cambridge Companion to Amy Beach by
The Cambridge Companion to Amy Beach makes her life and music accessible to a new generation of listeners. It outlines her remarkable talent as a child prodigy, her marriage to a prominent physician twice her age, and her subsequent international acclaim as a composer and piano virtuoso. Analytical chapters examine the range of her musical output, from popular songs and piano pieces to chamber and symphonic works of great complexity.
The Cambridge Companion to the Harpsichord by
Written by fourteen leading experts in the field, this Companion covers almost every aspect of the harpsichord - the history of the instrument, tuning systems, the role of the harpsichord in ensemble, its use in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, and includes separate chapters devoted to Domenico Scarlatti, J. S. Bach and Handel.
The Cambridge Companion to Metal Music by
This Cambridge Companion reflects the maturing field of 'metal music studies' by introducing the music and its cultures, as well as recent research perspectives from disciplines ranging from musicology and music technology to religious studies, Classics, and Scandinavian and African studies. Topics covered include technology and practice, identity and culture, modern metal genres, and global metal, with reference to performers including Black Sabbath, Metallica and Amon Amarth.
American Song and Struggle from Columbus to World War 2 by
Long before anyone ever heard of 'protest music', people in America were singing about their struggles. They sang for justice and fairness, food and shelter, and equality and freedom; they sang to be acknowledged. Sometimes they also sang to oppress. This book uncovers the history of these people and their songs, from the moment Columbus made fateful landfall to the start of the Second World War, when 'protest music' emerged as an identifiable brand. Cutting across musical genres, Will Kaufman recovers the passionate voices of America itself.
The Cambridge Companion to Caribbean Music by
The diverse musics of the Caribbean form a vital part of the identity of individual island nations and their diasporic communities. At the same time, they witness to collective continuities and the interrelatedness that underlies the region's multi-layered complexity. This Companion introduces familiar and less familiar music practices from different nations, from reggae, calypso and salsa to tambú, méringue and soca. Its multidisciplinary, thematic approach reveals how the music was shaped by strategies of resistance and accommodation during the colonial past and how it has developed in the postcolonial present.
Women, Music and Leadership by
Women, Music and Leadership offers a wide-ranging survey of women in musical leadership and their experiences, highlighting women's achievements and considering how they negotiate the challenges of the leadership space in music.
The Oxford Handbook of Opera by
What is opera? Contributors to The Oxford Handbook of Opera respond to this deceptively simple question with a rich and compelling exploration of opera's adaption to changing artistic and political currents. Fifty of the world's most respected scholars cast opera as a fluid entity that continuously reinvents itself in a reflection of its patrons, audience, and creators.
The Cambridge Companion to Operetta by
Those whose thoughts of musical theatre are dominated by the Broadway musical will find this book a revelation. From the 1850s to the early 1930s, when urban theatres sought to mount glamorous musical entertainment, it was to operetta that they turned. It was a form of musical theatre that crossed national borders with ease and was adored by audiences around the world. This collection of essays by an array of international scholars examines the key figures in operetta in many different countries. It offers a critical and historical study of the widespread production of operetta and of the enthusiasm with which it was welcomed. Furthermore, it challenges nationalistic views of music and approaches operetta as a cosmopolitan genre. This Cambridge Companion contributes to a widening appreciation of the music of operetta and a deepening knowledge of the cultural importance of operetta around the world.
Artificial Intelligence and Music Ecosystem by
Artificial Intelligence and Music Ecosystem highlights the opportunities and rewards associated with the application of AI in the creative arts. Featuring an array of voices, including interviews with Jacques Attali, Holly Herndon and Scott Cohen, this book offers interdisciplinary approaches to pressing ethical and technical questions associated with AI. Considering the perspectives of developers, students and artists, as well as the wider themes of law, ethics and philosophy, Artificial Intelligence and Music Ecosystem is an essential introduction for anyone interested in the impact of AI on music, including those studying and working in the creative arts.
The Musical Brain: What Students, Teachers, and Performers Need to Know by
We make or listen to music for the powerful effect it has on our emotions, and we can't imagine our lives without music. Yet we tend to know nothing about the intricate networks that neurons create throughout our brains to make music possible. The Musical Brain explores fascinating discoveries about the brain and music, often told through the stories of musicians whose lives have been impacted by the extraordinary ability of our brains to learn and adapt.
Push: Software Design and the Cultural Politics of Music Production by
Push: Software Design and the Cultural Politics of Music Production shows how changes in the design of music software in the first decades of the twenty-first century shaped the production techniques and performance practices of artists working across media, from hip-hop and electronic dance music to video games and mobile apps. Emerging alongside developments in digital music distribution such as peer-to-peer file sharing and the MP3 format, digital audio workstations like FL Studio and Ableton Live introduced design affordances that encouraged rapid music creation workflows through flashy, "user-friendly" interfaces. Meanwhile, software such as Avid's Pro Tools attempted to protect its status as the "industry standard," "professional" DAW of choice by incorporating design elements from pre-digital music technologies. Other software, like Cycling 74's Max, asserted its alterity to "commercial" DAWs by presenting users with nothing but a blank screen. These are more than just aesthetic design choices. Push examines the social, cultural, and political values designed into music software, and how those values become embodied by musical communities through production and performance. It reveals ties between the maximalist design of FL Studio, skeuomorphic design in Pro Tools, and gender inequity in the music products industry. It connects the computational thinking required by Max, as well as iZotope's innovations in artificial intelligence, with the cultural politics of Silicon Valley's "design thinking." Finally, it thinks through what happens when software becomes hardware, and users externalize their screens through the use of MIDI controllers, mobile media, and video game controllers.
The Sonic Gaze: Jazz, Whiteness, and Racialized Listening by
This book argues that whiteness is not only a visual orientation; it is a way of hearing. Inspired by formulations of race and whiteness in the existential writings of Frantz Fanon, Simone de Beauvoir, Jean-Paul Sartre, W.E.B. Du Bois, Richard Wright, Lewis Gordon, Angela Davis, bell hooks and Sara Ahmed, this book introduces students to the notion of the white sonic gaze.
Broadway Bodies: A Critical History of Conformity by
In Broadway Bodies, author Ryan Donovan explores how ability, sexuality, and size intersect with gender, race, and ethnicity in casting and performance.
On Music Theory, and Making Music More Welcoming for Everyone by
Since its inception in the mid-twentieth century, American music theory has been framed and taught almost exclusively by white men. As a result, whiteness and maleness are woven into the fabric of the field, and BIPOC music theorists face enormous hurdles due to their racial identities. In On Music Theory, Philip Ewell brings together autobiography, music theory and history, and theory and history of race in the United States to offer a black perspective on the state of music theory and to confront the field's white supremacist roots.
Writing in Music by
Writing in Music demystifies music writing conventions and methods by offering strategies for the types of writing that students most often encounter in college courses on music. The book offers guidance through the writing process and, for research assignments, through the research process.
The Complete Musician by
With a focus on music in context and a wealth of in-text and online exercises, The Complete Musician offers a complete program for teaching and learning undergraduate music theory. Rather than rote learning of concepts and memorizing terms, the text asks students to explore the ways in which theory informs and responds to the work of performers and composers, underscoring its relevance to students' wider musical lives.
Principles of Music by
Principles of Music, Third Edition, introduces students to music fundamentals by moving step-by-step through carefully sequenced exercises. Throughout the text students learn to use the keyboard as a tool to visualize theoretical concepts. In addition to pitch, the text explores the basics of rhythm and meter, emphasizing exercises that link to performance throughout. New online exercises help students develop skills in music fundamentals before putting pencil to paper.
Choral Repertoire by
Designed for conductors and directors, students and teachers of choral music, amateur and professional singers, scholars, and interested vocal enthusiasts alike, it is an account of the complete choral output of the most significant composers of this genre throughout recorded history. Organized by era (Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Modern), Choral Repertoire covers general characteristics of each historical era; trends and styles unique to various countries; biographical sketches of over 500 composers; and performance annotations of more than 5,000 individual works.
How to Market the Arts by
How to Market the Arts provides a history of both nonprofit arts and critical marketing concepts to show how standard methods of marketing are ill-suited for the nonprofit arts industry. Through visual models and case studies of several arts organizations, the book offers instead a practical look at how this industry might adopt more holistic marketing strategies that better reflect their true function which is often to serve communities over persuading consumers. Rhine and Pension offer a theoretical framework for reconsidering the nature of nonprofit arts marking, as well as useful steps an organization might take to increase its value to a community and develop a broader audience base.
Gays on Broadway by
A fascinating look at the gay and lesbian influence on the American stage by an internationally-recognized authority on the topic From the genteel female impersonators of the 1910s to the raucous drag queens of La Cage Aux Folles, from the men of The Normal Heart to the women of Fun Home, and from Eva Le Gallienne and Tallulah Bankhead to Tennessee Williams and Nathan Lane, Gays On Broadway deftly chronicles the plays and people that brought gay culture to Broadway.
Culturally Responsive Teaching in Music Education by
Culturally Responsive Teaching in Music Education: From Understanding to Application, Second Edition, presents teaching methods that are responsive to how different culturally specific knowledge bases impact learning. It offers a pedagogy that recognizes the importance of including students' cultural references in all aspects of learning. Designed as a resource for teachers of undergraduate and graduate music education courses, the book provides examples in the context of music education, with theories presented in Part I and a review of teaching applications in Part II.
Integrating STEM with Music: Units, Lessons, and Adaptations for K-12 by
This practical resource for music educators provides 15 fully-developed and classroom-vetted instructional plans with assessments that are aligned to articulate learning from kindergarten through grade 12. With these instructional lessons and adaptations for K-12 music and STEM classes, pre-service educators, in-service educators, and administrators can better understand and immediately use tools for planning, assessing, and the practical integrating of STEM with Music.
The Journey from Music Student to Teacher by
The Journey from Music Student to Teacher: A Professional Approach, Second Edition helps prospective educators transition from music student to professional music teacher. This textbook acknowledges that students must first reconcile their assumptions about learning and teaching before they can make thoughtful, informed decisions about their own professional education.
Curriculum Philosophy and Theory for Music Education Praxis by
Mindful of traditional philosophical roots of curriculum-foundations that still impact contemporary strategy, author Thomas A. Regelski offers a model curriculum based on recent praxis theory in which musical and educational benefits are evident to students, administrators, and taxpayers who ultimately fund music programs.
The Routledge Handbook to Sociology of Music Education by
The Routledge Handbook to Sociology of Music Education is a comprehensive, authoritative and state-of-the-art review of current research in the field. The Handbook is dedicated to the exclusive and explicit application of sociological constructs and theories to issues such as globalisation, immigration, post-colonialism, inter-generational musicking, socialisation, inclusion, exclusion, hegemony, symbolic violence, and popular culture.
Music in Early Childhood: Exploring the Theories, Philosophies and Practices by
Music in Early Childhood is an accessible and practical handbook, which introduces theories and pedagogical approaches for early childhood music education from birth to 8 years and explains their practical application. Understanding the theories and philosophies behind music education, and how these translate into practice is the key to being an effective music educator with young children. This book provides a comprehensive overview of these theories and philosophies. Organised in an easy-to-read format that summarises each approach and theory, Susan Young clearly maps out how these theories are applied in present-day practice.
Peer Mentoring in Music Education: Developing Effective Student Leadership by
Peer Mentoring in Music Education: Developing Effective Student Leadership offers a practical guide to peer mentoring in music education, enabling music teachers to implement and benefit from this technique with their students. Drawing on extensive and current research in education and music education, this book's core focus is on the instructional practice of peer mentoring and how students can become effective leaders.
Expanding the Canon: Black Composers in the Music Theory Classroom by
Directly addressing the underrepresentation of Black composers in core music curricula, Expanding the Canon: Black Composers in the Music Theory Classroom aims to both demonstrate why diversification is badly needed, and help faculty expand their teaching with practical, classroom-oriented lesson plans that focus on teaching music theory with music by Black composers.
Teaching Music to Students with Autism by
Teaching Music to Students with Autism is a comprehensive practical guide for music educators who work with students with autism. Authors and veteran music educators Alice M. Hammel and Ryan M. Hourigan offer an approach centered in inclusion designed for music educators, music teacher educators, and all those who have an interest in the education of students with autism. In this second edition, the authors offer fully up-to-date information on the diagnosis of autism, advocating for students and music programs, and creating and maintaining a team-approach when working with colleagues.
Music in the Course of Life by
This book illustrates how social meanings provided by music are experienced throughout the course of life. To this end, the author examines in depth the concepts of self, identity, socialization, and the life course itself. Social scientists have traditionally focused on music experiences among different generations, one at a time, with an emphasis on young audiences. This book explores appreciation for and use of music as a dynamic process that does not begin when we enter adolescence, nor end when we become adults.
Music As Care: Artistry in the Hospital Environment by
This book provides an overview of professional musicians working within the healthcare system and explores programs that bring music into the environment of the hospital. Far from being onstage, musicians in the hospital provide musical engagement for patients and healthcare providers focused on life-and-death issues. Music in healthcare offers a new and growing area for musical careers, distinct from the field of music therapy in which music is engaged to advance defined clinical goals.
Music and Creativity in Healthcare Settings by
Through a series of vivid case studies, Music and Creativity in Healthcare Settings: Does Music Matter? documents the ways in which music brings humanity to sterile healthcare spaces, and its significance for people dealing with major illness. It also considers the notion of the arts as a vessel to explore humanitarian questions surrounding serious illness, namely what it is to be human.
Music Technology Essentials by
Music Technology Essentials provides an overview of the vocabulary, techniques, concepts, and devices used in contemporary music production and guides readers through the essential fundamentals of music technology so that they can create their own music productions at home.
All You Need to Know about the Music Business by
Dubbed "the industry bible" by the Los Angeles Times, All You Need to Know About the Music Business by veteran music lawyer Donald Passman is the go-to guide for everyone in the music business through ten editions, over thirty years, and over a half a million copies sold.
Composing with Constraints: 100 Practical Exercises in Music Composition by
Composing with Constraints: 100 Practical Exercises in Music Composition provides an innovative approach to the instruction of the craft of music composition based on tailored exercises to help students develop their creativity. When composition is condensed to a series of logical steps, it can then be taught and learned more efficiently. With this approach in mind, Jorge Variego offers a variety of practical exercises to help student composers and instructors to create tangible work plans with high expectations and successful outcomes.
Musical Theatre for the Female Voice by
Musical Theatre for the Female Voice covers the origin of singing in musicals, from the bel canto style of 300 years ago through to the latest developments in high belting, in shows such as Wicked and Waitress. It offers the reader exercises and methods that have been used to train hundreds of singers at some of the UK's leading musical theatre training institutions and are underpinned by the latest academic research in journals on singing, psychology, and health.
The G. Schirmer Collection of American Art Song - 50 Songs by 29 Composers by 
Octaves and Sweet Sounds: For Voice and Piano by 
Octaves and Sweet Sounds: For Voice and Piano by 
Old American Songs: Complete by 
Variationen Zur Gesundung von Arinuschka/Für Alina : Für Klavier by 
Elegie: For Viola Or Violin Unaccompanied by 
Carmen Fantasy, Op. 25 : For Violin and Piano by 
Meditation and Processional: For Viola and Piano by 
Swan, From Carnival Of The Animals: For Violoncello and Piano by 
Concerto No. 4 In D Minor, Op. 31 : For Violin and Orchestra by 
Concerto No. 2 In D Minor, Op. 22 : For Violin and Piano by 
Organized Method Of String Playing: Violoncello Exercises For The Left Hand by 
Tune From Childhood (After Concertino For Clarinet and String Quartet) : For Solo Clarinet. by 
Sonata In A Minor : For Oboe (Or Flute) and Piano by 
Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73: For Clarinet and Piano by 
The Rascher Collection : Solos from the Repertoire of Sigurd Rascher for E♭ Alto Saxophone and Piano
Fantasie: Pour Saxophone Soprano Ou Tenor Et Piano by 
Concerto No. 1 In F Minor: For Clarinet and Piano by 
Top Register Studies for Flute: 90 Melodious Studies by 
Introducing The Alto Or Bass Clarinet: A Transfer Method For Immediate Instruction by 
Beautiful Colorado: For Euphonium and Piano by 
Concerto In E Flat Major : For Trumpet and Piano by 
Concerto: For Tenor Trombone and Orchestra by 
Nightsongs: For Fluegelhorn and/or Trumpet and Piano by Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
