Skip to Main Content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Music Collection: Audiovisual Media

Physical Materials

Reed Library's LP Collection is located in the Music Mezzanine, on the second floor of the library. It contains over 7,000 LPs spanning numerous genres.

Please Note: We are in the process of reorganizing our LPs based on genre. Most of our LPs now follow a new call number system:

Term 1: Genre Code (see tables below)

Term 2: Information on the record's main composer/performer

Term 3: Information on the record's title

Term 4: Additional information, as needed (volume number, publisher information, etc.)

Class C: Classical Music

Genre Code Description

CD

  • CDB
  • CDM
  • CDO
  • CDR

Dramatic Works

  • Ballets
  • Musicals & Operettas
  • Operas
  • Sacred Dramatic Works (Oratorios, Masses, etc.)

CI

  • CIC
    • CICB
    • CICK
    • CICP
    • CICS
    • CICW
  • CIE
    • CIEB
    • CIEO
  • CIS
    • CISB
    • CISK
    • CISP
    • CISS
    • CISW
  • CIT

Instrumental Works

  • Chamber Works
    • Brass
    • Keyboard
    • Percussion
    • String
    • Woodwind
  • Ensemble Works
    • Band/Wind Ensemble
    • Orchestra
  • Solo Works
    • Brass
    • Keyboard
    • Percussion
    • Strings
    • Woodwind
  • Instrumental Instruction/Methods

CV

  • CVC
  • CVE
  • CVR
  • CVS
  • CVT

Vocal Works

  • Chamber Works
  • Ensemble Works
  • Religious/Sacred Works
  • Solo Works
  • Vocal Instruction/Methods

Class D: Dance Music

 

Genre Code Description
DK Klezmer Music
DLA Latin Dance Music
DLI Line Dancing, Square Dancing
DP Polkas
DS

Schottisches, Scottish Dance Music 
DW Waltzes

Class E: Electronic Music

Class F: Folk, National, & Ethnic Music

Folk music is grouped by region, followed by a Country Code (when applicable)

Genre Code Description
FAF Africa
FAS Asia
FEU Europe
FNA North America
FOC Oceania
FSA South America

Class H: Varieties & Humor

Class J: Jazz

Genre Code Description
JBI Big Band/Swing
JBO Bop, Bebop, etc.
JC Cool Jazz, Smooth Jazz
JD Dixieland Jazz
JE Easy Listening
JFR Free Jazz, Avant-Garde Jazz
JFU Jazz Fusion
JLA Latin Jazz
JLO Lounge, Space-Age
JR Ragtime

Class M: Soundtrack Music (Motion Picture, Television, & Radio)

Class P: Popular Music

Genre Code Description
PBA Barbershop
PBL Blues
PC Country/Western, Bluegrass
PD Disco
PG Gospel, Spirituals
PH Hip Hop, Rap
PN New Age
PP Pop
PRE Reggae
PRO Rock
PS Soul, Rhythm & Blues

Class R: Holiday/Celebration Music

Class S: Spoken Word

Genre Code Description
SC Comedy Albums
SD Documentary
SI Instruction
SPL Plays
SPO Poetry
SPR Prose

Class Y: Sounds and Special Effects

Class Z: Children's Recordings

Genre Code Description
ZI Instruction
ZM Music
ZS Spoken Word

Reed Library's CD CollectionReed Library's CD Collection is divided between 2 locations: the main floor and second floor of the library. It contains over 14,000 CDs. CDs are organized/shelved using accession numbers.

Please Note: Accessing CDs on the second floor of the library requires assistance from a library employee.

Reed Library's DVD CollectionReed Library's DVD Collection is located on the main floor of the library. It contains over 1,600 DVDs spanning multiple genres. DVDs are organized/shelved using accession numbers

Streaming Databases

A cross-searchable index of various Alexander Street Press music databases, including:

Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary

Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford

Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike logo Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.