In-person: Reference Hours
Call: 716-673-3222
Text: 716-407-7698
Email: reedref@fredonia.edu
As the semester comes to a close, Reed Library is here to help you prepare for your final assignments! This display features library resources relating to academic success and personal wellbeing.
Reed Library's Super Quick Skills Collection covers the skills you need to succeed in college, from writing papers to managing your wellbeing.
What Psychology Majors Could (and Should) Be Doing
With more than 115,000 psychology majors graduating each year, it is an understatement to say that competition is fierce. A decent GPA is not enough to make you stand out, whether you plan to go to graduate school or to enter the world of work. So, how can you gain a competitive edge? Like a good mentor, this book steers you to the experiences outside the classroom that will build your professional portfolio and show prospective employers and grad school programs that you have the skills they want -- researching, writing, public speaking, and statistical reasoning. Since professional research experience remains the most important avenue for fostering and demonstrating these skills, the book emphasizes ways to get involved in scholarly research, including finding research opportunities, conducting the research, going to scholarly conferences, and presenting findings in papers and talks. The only book devoted to undergraduate professional skills in psychology, this second edition provides a new overview of the kinds of research experiences you might get, no matter what type of college you are attending, as well as tips for writing your CV and personal statement, succeeding in classes, and thinking about options after college. In short, this consummate guide provides all the help you will need to get the most out of your psychology degree!
Writing Your Psychology Research Paper by
Many psychology students dislike writing a research paper, their aversion driven by anxiety over various aspects of the process. This primer for undergraduates explains how to write a clear, compelling, well-organized research paper. From picking a promising topic, to finding and digesting the pertinent literature, to developing a thesis, to outlining and presenting ideas, to editing for clarity and concision - each step is broken down and illustrated with examples. In addition, a bonus chapter discusses how to combat procrastination. Students learn that the best writing is done in chunks over long periods of time, and that writing is a skill that improves with practice. By following the advice in this book, any student can not only get through their dreaded writing assignment, but become a more proficient writer.
The Psychologist's Companion for Undergraduates
Tailored specifically for undergraduate students, this Companion offers uniquely comprehensive coverage of the topics necessary for successful communication in psychology, making it a valuable resource for research methods and introductory psychology courses. Readers will learn how to effectively plan and write papers in accordance with the latest style guidelines from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition; present data in posters and talks; and evaluate their own and others' work. The clear writing style and reader-friendly format, meanwhile, allow students to absorb information easily, even when reading chapters selectively or out of order. The book includes numerous up-to-date examples drawn from career experiences to engage students and help them apply what they've learned to forward their own careers, while questions encourage them to think more deeply about larger issues in the field, preparing them for future research.
Critical Thinking: Conceptual Perspectives & Practical Guidelines
Dwyer's book is unique and distinctive as it presents and discusses a modern conceptualization of critical thinking - one that is commensurate with the exponential increase in the annual output of knowledge. The abilities of navigating new knowledge outputs, engaging in enquiry and constructively solving problems are not only important in academic contexts, but are also essential life skills. Specifically, the book provides a modern, detailed, accessible and integrative model of critical thinking that accounts for critical thinking sub-skills and real-world applications; and is commensurate with the standards of twenty-first-century knowledge. The book provides both opportunities to learn and apply these skills through a series of exercises, as well as guidelines on how critical thinking can be developed and practised, in light of existing psychological research, which can be used to enhance the experience of critical thinking training and facilitate gains in critical thinking ability.
Research for Social Workers: An Introduction to Methods
A fully revised and updated new edition of this introduction to the research methods most commonly used in social work and social welfare.
A Guide to Study Skills and Careers in Criminal Justice and Public Security
A Guide to Study Skills and Careers in Criminal Justice and Public Security is the ultimate how-to resource for success in the study of criminal justice. Renowned author Frank Schmalleger, who has over 40 years of field experience, has teamed up with researcher and educator Catherine D. Marcum to introduce students to the field of criminal justice, break down its many components, and describe a variety of employment opportunities available to criminal justice graduates. Students will learn how to effectively approach the study of criminal justice; communicate successfully with professors, peers, and potential employers; choose classes that will assist with career goals; develop good study habits and critical thinking skills; and write effectively in criminal justice. Additionally, as their academic careers advance, students will gain insights into how to best prepare for successful careers.
Writing a Research Paper in Political Science
Even students capable of writing excellent essays still find their first major political science research paper an intimidating experience. Crafting the right research question, finding good sources, properly summarizing them, operationalizing concepts and designing good tests for their hypotheses, presenting and analyzing quantitative as well as qualitative data are all tough-going without a great deal of guidance and encouragement. Writing a Research Paper in Political Science breaks down the research paper into its constituent parts and shows students what they need to do at each stage to successfully complete each component until the paper is finished. Practical summaries, recipes for success, worksheets, exercises, and a series of handy checklists make this a must-have supplement for any writing-intensive political science course.
The Freshman Survival Guide by
A completely revised and updated values-based guide to navigating the first year of college that speaks to college students in their own language and offers practical tools that readers need to keep from drinking, sleeping, or skipping their way out of college. In the four years since its initial publication, The Freshman Survival Guide has helped thousands of first year students make a successful transition to college life. However, much has changed on campuses. The explosion of technology, ubiquity of social media, and culture changes have all added new layers of complexity to the leap from high school to college. The Freshman Survival Guide's updated edition features new research and advice on issues such as mental health, sexual assault, and finding balance. It also features expanded sections on dating, money management, and an increased focus on how the over 1.5 million incoming freshman can prepare themselves for the biggest change they've encountered in their lives: heading off to college.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals.
News Literacy: The Keys to Combating Fake News
At a time when misinformation in the media is abundant, this book explains the difficulty in nurturing students to become critical researchers and offers practical lessons that empower students to excavate information that will help them learn. This guide to teaching news literacy explores a wealth of resources and classroom-tested lessons that educators in grades 7-12 can use in their own libraries and classrooms. To introduce the concept of news literacy, the authors explain the steps of the inquiry and research process in detail and examine the Stanford History Education Group (SHEG) 2016 report "Evaluating Information: The Cornerstone of Civic Online Reasoning" and related research studies. Lesson plans corresponding to each stage of the process are coordinated to relevant standards from the CCSS and ISTE and are accompanied by rubrics for providing students feedback on their progress as well as samples of student work as it evolved through the stages. Furthermore, the authors' anecdotal insights from their experiences in collaboratively implementing the lessons with colleagues are an invaluable addition for any librarian seeking to work with teachers to help students become critical researchers. Provides easily replicated and adaptable standards-based lessons Observes a classroom-tested research model applicable to grade levels 7-12 Constructs a usable framework for collaboration with colleagues Gives educators tools to advocate for the necessity of a vibrant, inquiry-based library media program
Writing in the Biological Sciences
Practical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Resource for Scientific Communication presents students with all of the techniques and information they need in order to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries effectively. Angelika H. Hofmann introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines of professional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication.
The Finnish Way: Finding Courage, Wellness, and Happiness Through the Power of Sisu
An engaging and practical guided tour of the simple and nature-inspired ways that Finns stay happy and healthy--including the powerful concept of sisu, or everyday courage.
The 50 Healthiest Habits and Lifestyle Changes by
The 50 Healthiest Habits and Lifestyle Changes provides authoritative, research-based information on habits that are important for everyone, but especially teens and young adults. This easy-to-read book highlights 50 habits for promoting physical as well as mental/emotional and social health.
From Mindfulness to Heartfulness by
As the mindfulness craze has spread in the West it's becoming too commercialized, intellectualized, and diluted. Mindfulness as stress-reducer and attention-enhancer keeps it on a purely cognitive level, missing the emotional, spiritual, and compassionate aspects that have traditionally been an integral part of the practice. In this book (a bestseller in Japan), Murphy-Shigematsu describes what he calls heartfulness, which returns mindfulness to its roots by adding seven additional elements.
Pocket therapy for emotional balance : quick DBT skills to manage intense emotions by
In Pocket Therapy for Emotional Balance, three clinical psychologists and authors of The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook offer quick, evidence‑based tips and tools for managing intense emotions in the moment. Using this handy, take-anywhere guide, readers will find freedom from overwhelming thoughts and feelings, find a sense of calm, and live a more balanced life.
Women's Mental Health : Resistance and Resilience in Community and Society by
This book analyzes systemic problems affecting women's mental health--social inequities, marginalization, racism, and displacement among them--and proposes holistic real-world approaches to practice and policy. Women’s experiences from around the globe are examined including Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, India, Iran, Italy, Ivory Coast, Nepal, Pakistan, Portugal, Rwanda, Senegal, South Korea, Switzerland, and the United States. Together, the chapters in this book deepen our understanding of the intersections of gender, race, culture, age, class, immigration status, and motherhood.
Dyslexia in Higher Education: Anxiety and Coping Skills by
By highlighting the perspectives of dyslexic students, this book evidences the prevalence of anxiety in dyslexic communities. The author targets academic areas where students struggle, offering techniques to overcome these barriers. Such obstacles are not always due to cognitive factors but may be associated with negative experiences, leading to fear and uncertainty.
Music Research by
Clear, concise, and practical, the third edition of Music Research: A Handbook introduces students to the major print and electronic research tools available today. With a strong focus on the connection between music and writing, this comprehensive guide is ideal for use in both undergraduate and graduate music courses that require students to engage in library research or to write research papers.
Stage Presence from Head to Toe by
Stage Presence From Head to Toe: A Manual for Musicians is the only resource of its kind: a practical, authoritative guide to accepted practices of stage presence for performing musicians. It answers the basic questions every musician has about a performance: how to prepare, how to dress, how to walk out on stage, how to bow, how to look confident and put your audience at ease, how to interact with other musicians on stage and with backstage personnel. The book discusses the specific needs of soloists and small and large ensembles, both instrumental and vocal. Includes illustrations, several helpful checklists and a comprehensive bibliography.
Music Library and Research Skills by
Concise and engaging, this text covers a wide range of reference sources for research in all genres of music. Through this practical introduction to the key concepts of music research, students will develop a firm understanding of the tools used to gather data, including what types of sources exist, how they are arranged, and how they may best be used to do research.
Writing about Music by
Where do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? How do you cite John Coltrane's album A Love Supreme? Is it "premiere" or "première"? The answers and much more can be found in this definitive resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with music in print. Extending the principles devised for the classical repertoires, this revised and expanded edition now includes examples from world music, rock, jazz, popular music, and cinema. This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, while others explain the requirements for submitting manuscripts and electronic files, and outline best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words. Updates include greatly simplified citations of Internet locators, the recognition of multiple platforms, and the expectation of paperless transmission and storage of work. Cited as the authority by The Chicago Manual of Style, this classic handbook is the go-to source for anyone writing about music.
Undergraduate Research in Music by
Undergraduate Research in Music: A Guide for Students supplies tools for scaffolding research skills, with examples of undergraduate research activities and case studies on projects in the various areas of music study. Undergraduate research has become a common degree requirement in some disciplines and is growing rapidly. Many undergraduate activities in music have components that could be combined into compelling undergraduate research projects, either in the required curriculum, as part of existing courses, or in capstone courses centered on undergraduate research. The book begins with an overview chapter, followed by the seven chapters on research skills, including literature reviews, choosing topics, formulating questions, citing sources, disseminating results, and working with data and human subjects. A wide variety of musical subdisciplines follow in Chapters 9-18, with sample project ideas from each, as well as undergraduate research conference abstracts. The final chapter is an annotated guide to online resources that students can access and readily operate. Each chapter opens with inspiring quotations, and wraps up with applicable discussion questions. Professors and students can use Undergraduate Research in Music: A Guide for Students as a text or a reference book in any course that has a significant opportunity for the creation of knowledge or art, within the discipline of music or in connecting music with other disciplines.
Fit As a Fiddle by
Instrumental musicians can and do develop many physical problems that interfere with making music. Fit as a Fiddle is written by an international authority in musicians' medicine who also is a symphonic musician and teacher. It provides current and important health-related information for all instrumentalists, presented in an understandable and readable fashion. Dr. Dawson includes a section on basic body structure and function, avoiding medical jargon and setting the stage for following chapters. Further topics include those disorders that are caused by playing music: including overuse, muscle strain, and tendinitis. Subsequent chapters discuss a variety of conditions common to mature performers and teachers, especially carpal tunnel syndrome, arthritis and hearing loss. Each chapter provides self-help advice to both musician and music teacher in recognizing problems, seeking medical care, and choosing treatment strategies. Dr. Dawson includes information on alternate care disciplines, as well as on rehabilitation and prevention of both common and uncommon conditions that can interfere with practice and performance. The book contains a helpful glossary of medical terms, both familiar and unfamiliar. Fit as a Fiddle is written specifically for instrumental musicians of all ages and degrees of experience, as well as their teachers from primary to conservatory level.
Teaching Healthy Musicianship by
Written by a professional musician who is also a certified occupational therapist, Teaching Healthy Musicianship first and foremost help music educators avoid common injuries that they themselves encounter, and in the process it also equips them with the tools they need to instill healthy musicianship practices in their students.
Performance Anxiety Strategies: : A Musician's Guide to Managing Stage Fright by
Performance Anxiety Strategies presents relevant and noteworthy research and insight into some of the most popular and many lesser-known therapies--including holistic, exposure, cognitive, behavioral, and medicinal treatments. Each chapter also features self-guided activities and exercises, words of wisdom from established performing artists and athletes, and suggestions for music teachers, as well as first-person narratives about the authors' personal journeys with music performance anxiety both onstage and in the classroom.
Managing Stage Fright: A Guide for Musicians and Music Teachers by
Why is it that well-prepared, talented, hardworking, and intelligent performers find their performance and self-esteem undermined by the fear of memory slips, technique failures, and public humiliation? In Managing Stage Fright: A Guide for Musicians and Music Teachers, author Julie Jaffee Nagel unravels these mysteries, taking the reader on an intensive backstage tour of the anxious performer's emotions to explain why stage fright happens and what performers can do to increase their comfort in the glare of the spotlight.
The Mozart Effect by
Anyone who has ever seen a two-year-old start bouncing to a beat knows that music speaks to us on a very deep level. But it took celebrated teacher and music visionary Don Campbell to show us just how deep, with his landmark book The Mozart Effect. Stimulating, authoritative, and often lyrical, The Mozart Effect has a simple but life-changing message: music is medicine for the body, the mind, and the soul. Campbell shows how modern science has begun to confirm this ancient wisdom, finding evidence that listening to certain types of music can improve the quality of life in almost every respect. Here are dramatic accounts of how music is used to deal with everything from anxiety to cancer, high blood pressure, chronic pain, dyslexia, and even mental illness. Always clear and compelling, Campbell recommends more than two dozen specific, easy-to-follow exercises to raise your spatial IQ, "sound away" pain, boost creativity, and make the spirit sing!
Making Music and Enriching Lives by
Making Music and Enriching Lives fills an important niche in the very large world of books about music. It's unlike any other instructional book in the way it addresses comprehensive, across-the-board issues that affect all teachers, students, and musicians. In this book, you will find specifics not only about how to teach music, but also about how to motivate and inspire students of any age. In this first volume of her Music for Life series, Bonnie Blanchard (with Cynthia Blanchard Acree) shares successful approaches with both students and teachers that have worked wonders in her own studio to produce successful students who are energized about their lessons and their music. These books touch on all aspects of music instruction from running a studio to student motivation and teaching technique to performing, while addressing not just the musician, but the whole person along the way.
Becoming a Music Teacher: From Student to Practitioner by
Becoming a Music Teacher: Student to Practitioner focuses on making the connections between the college music classroom and public school music classroom transparent, visible, and relevant. Award-winning music educators Donald L. Hamann and Shelly Cooper have created a versatile text for music teacher education, and one that will provide a significant resource for music education students across the US.
Majoring in Music by
Highlights the major components for survival and success during the formative years in a college, university or conservatory and provides examples and strategies to greatly assist the student musician. With no-nonsense advice and practical tips, this guide will prepare music students (and their parents!) to meet the many challenges, and take advantage of the opportunities afforded them during the glorious college years.
The First-Year Music Major: Strategies for Success by
Designed to address the many challenges that first-year undergraduate music students often encounter, The First-Year Music Major: Strategies for Success provides concrete approaches that will help anyone embarking on a degree in music develop the knowledge and skills needed to complete their first year successfully.
What Every Singer Needs to Know about the Body by
This book provides detailed descriptions of the structures and movements necessary for healthy and efficient body awareness, balance, breathing, phonation, resonance, articulation, and gesture. Many voice books focus on the anatomical facts, but leave singers asking, "How can I apply this to my singing?" What Every Singer Needs to Know About the Body helps to answer that question, providing practical exercises and detailed illustrations.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
