Welcome to SUNY Fredonia!
The start of the semester can be overwhelming, but Reed Library is here to help! Whether it's getting started with research or improving your wellbeing, we can help point you in the right direction.
Critical Thinking: Conceptual Perspectives & Practical Guidelines
Dwyer's book is unique and distinctive as it presents and discusses a modern conceptualization of critical thinking - one that is commensurate with the exponential increase in the annual output of knowledge. The abilities of navigating new knowledge outputs, engaging in enquiry and constructively solving problems are not only important in academic contexts, but are also essential life skills. Specifically, the book provides a modern, detailed, accessible and integrative model of critical thinking that accounts for critical thinking sub-skills and real-world applications; and is commensurate with the standards of twenty-first-century knowledge. The book provides both opportunities to learn and apply these skills through a series of exercises, as well as guidelines on how critical thinking can be developed and practised, in light of existing psychological research, which can be used to enhance the experience of critical thinking training and facilitate gains in critical thinking ability.
Writing a Research Paper in Political Science
Even students capable of writing excellent essays still find their first major political science research paper an intimidating experience. Crafting the right research question, finding good sources, properly summarizing them, operationalizing concepts and designing good tests for their hypotheses, presenting and analyzing quantitative as well as qualitative data are all tough-going without a great deal of guidance and encouragement. Writing a Research Paper in Political Science breaks down the research paper into its constituent parts and shows students what they need to do at each stage to successfully complete each component until the paper is finished. Practical summaries, recipes for success, worksheets, exercises, and a series of handy checklists make this a must-have supplement for any writing-intensive political science course.
Music Research: A Handbook
Clear, concise, and practical, Music Research: A Handbook introduces students to the major print and online research tools available today. With a strong focus on the connection between research and writing, this comprehensive guide is ideal for use in both undergraduate and graduate music courses that require students to engage in library research or to write research papers.
Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide
Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide offers a comprehensive guide to the literature on choral music in the Western tradition. Clearly annotated bibliographic entries guide readers to resources on key topics within choral music, individual choral composers, regional and sacred choral traditions, choral techniques, choral music education, genre studies, and more, providing an essential reference for researchers and practitioners.
A Guide to Library Research in Music by
A Guide to Library Research in Music introduces the process and techniques for researching and writing about music. It provides examples of different types of writing; offers a thorough introduction to music literature; describes various information-searching methods and library-based organizational systems; and explores the wide array of music resources.
Undergraduate Research in Music by
Undergraduate Research in Music: A Guide for Students supplies tools for scaffolding research skills, with examples of undergraduate research activities and case studies on projects in the various areas of music study. Undergraduate research has become a common degree requirement in some disciplines and is growing rapidly. Many undergraduate activities in music have components that could be combined into compelling undergraduate research projects, either in the required curriculum, as part of existing courses, or in capstone courses centered on undergraduate research. The book begins with an overview chapter, followed by the seven chapters on research skills, including literature reviews, choosing topics, formulating questions, citing sources, disseminating results, and working with data and human subjects. A wide variety of musical subdisciplines follow in Chapters 9-18, with sample project ideas from each, as well as undergraduate research conference abstracts. The final chapter is an annotated guide to online resources that students can access and readily operate. Each chapter opens with inspiring quotations, and wraps up with applicable discussion questions. Professors and students can use Undergraduate Research in Music: A Guide for Students as a text or a reference book in any course that has a significant opportunity for the creation of knowledge or art, within the discipline of music or in connecting music with other disciplines.
Writing in Music by
Writing in Music demystifies music writing conventions and methods by offering strategies for the types of writing that students most often encounter in college courses on music. The book offers guidance through the writing process and, for research assignments, through the research process.
News Literacy: The Keys to Combating Fake News
At a time when misinformation in the media is abundant, this book explains the difficulty in nurturing students to become critical researchers and offers practical lessons that empower students to excavate information that will help them learn. This guide to teaching news literacy explores a wealth of resources and classroom-tested lessons that educators in grades 7-12 can use in their own libraries and classrooms. To introduce the concept of news literacy, the authors explain the steps of the inquiry and research process in detail and examine the Stanford History Education Group (SHEG) 2016 report "Evaluating Information: The Cornerstone of Civic Online Reasoning" and related research studies. Lesson plans corresponding to each stage of the process are coordinated to relevant standards from the CCSS and ISTE and are accompanied by rubrics for providing students feedback on their progress as well as samples of student work as it evolved through the stages. Furthermore, the authors' anecdotal insights from their experiences in collaboratively implementing the lessons with colleagues are an invaluable addition for any librarian seeking to work with teachers to help students become critical researchers. Provides easily replicated and adaptable standards-based lessons Observes a classroom-tested research model applicable to grade levels 7-12 Constructs a usable framework for collaboration with colleagues Gives educators tools to advocate for the necessity of a vibrant, inquiry-based library media program
Once upon a Time in the Twenty-First Century: Unexpected Exercises in Creative Writing
Once Upon a Time in the Twenty-First Century: Unexpected Exercises in Creative Writing is a unique creative writing text that will appeal to a wide range of readers and writers--from grade nine through college and beyond. Successful creative writers from numerous genres constructed these exercises, including poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction to one-act plays, song lyrics, genre fiction, travel guides, comics and beyond. The exercises use a broad range of creative approaches, aesthetics, and voices, all with an emphasis on demystifying the writing process and having fun.
Writing in the Biological Sciences
Practical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Resource for Scientific Communication presents students with all of the techniques and information they need in order to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries effectively. Angelika H. Hofmann introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines of professional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication.
Universities and Colleges: a Very Short Introduction
Exploring the origins and the concept, the idea and the ideal, of the university, this Very Short Introduction discusses one of the world's oldest, most resilient, and most adaptable institutions. David Palfreyman and Paul Temple consider the links between universities and the economy, and the role of universities within society.
A Guide to Study Skills and Careers in Criminal Justice and Public Security
A Guide to Study Skills and Careers in Criminal Justice and Public Security is the ultimate how-to resource for success in the study of criminal justice. Renowned author Frank Schmalleger, who has over 40 years of field experience, has teamed up with researcher and educator Catherine D. Marcum to introduce students to the field of criminal justice, break down its many components, and describe a variety of employment opportunities available to criminal justice graduates. Students will learn how to effectively approach the study of criminal justice; communicate successfully with professors, peers, and potential employers; choose classes that will assist with career goals; develop good study habits and critical thinking skills; and write effectively in criminal justice. Additionally, as their academic careers advance, students will gain insights into how to best prepare for successful careers.
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by
The Twelfth Edition of this powerhouse best-selling text maintains its tradition as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry in all of its diversity. Readers new to the music business and seasoned professionals alike will find David Baskerville and Tim Baskerville's handbook the go-to source, regardless of their specialty within the music field.
The Best Jobs in the Music Industry by
The Best Jobs in the Music Industry is an essential guide for those who want to explore different areas of the industry beyond these obvious routes. Michael Redman takes readers on a tour of different music careers-from performer to label executive to recording engineer and music producer, plus more-and boils down the essentials of each job and what you will need to get your foot in the door.
A Comprehensive Guide to Music Therapy by
Music therapy as an intervention in medical, educational and many other environments has a rich and diverse history of methods, approaches and models. Consolidating the many components of music therapy, this completely updated edition of A Comprehensive Guide to Music Therapy covers everything students, teachers and practitioners of music therapy need to know.
Becoming a Music Teacher: From Student to Practitioner by
Becoming a Music Teacher: Student to Practitioner focuses on making the connections between the college music classroom and public school music classroom transparent, visible, and relevant. Award-winning music educators Donald L. Hamann and Shelly Cooper have created a versatile text for music teacher education, and one that will provide a significant resource for music education students across the US.
The First-Year Music Major: Strategies for Success by
Designed to address the many challenges that first-year undergraduate music students often encounter, The First-Year Music Major: Strategies for Success provides concrete approaches that will help anyone embarking on a degree in music develop the knowledge and skills needed to complete their first year successfully.
Essentials for Composers: Creative Process by Design by
Composers guides novice composers through a set of basic steps, examples, and concepts to help them work through stages of the creative process in manageable and stimulating ways. Middleton explains how to approach each topic (harmony, melody, counterpoint, orchestration, variation) and explore the creative process through experimentation by completing related exercises. Such direction, which prompts efforts toward defining, developing, discovering, and shaping one's own creative process, unseals the essence of music composition.
Music Fundamentals for Musical Theatre by
This book offers a series of lessons in music fundamentals, including theory, sight-singing and aural tests, giving readers the necessary skills to navigate music and all that is demanded of them, without having had a formal music training. It focuses on the skills required of the musical theatre performer and draws on musical theatre repertoire in order to connect theory with practice.
The Psychology Major's Handbook by
The Psychology Major's Handbook offers students a wealth of practical information to succeed throughout their college journey--from choosing a major and learning how to study to writing papers and deciding what to do after graduation.
Handbook of Positive Body Image and Embodiment
Handbook of Positive Body Image and Embodiment is the first comprehensive, research-based resource to address the breadth of innovative theoretical concepts and related practices concerning positive ways of living in the body, including positive body image and embodiment.
Trans* in College: Transgender Students' Strategies for Navigating Campus Life and the Institutional Politics of Inclusion
This is both a personal book that offers an account of the author's own trans* identity and a deeply engaged study of trans* collegians that reveals the complexities of trans* identities, and how these students navigate the trans* oppression present throughout society and their institutions, create community and resilience, and establish meaning and control in a world that assumes binary genders. This book is addressed as much to trans* students themselves - offering them a frame to understand the genders that mark them as different and to address the feelings brought on by the weight of that difference - as it is to faculty, student affairs professionals, and college administrators, opening up the implications for the classroom and the wider campus. This book not only remedies the paucity of literature on trans* college students, but does so from a perspective of resiliency and agency. Rather than situating trans* students as problems requiring accommodation, this book problematizes the college environment and frames trans* students as resilient individuals capable of participating in supportive communities and kinship networks, and of developing strategies to promote their own success.
Dyslexia in Higher Education: Anxiety and Coping Skills by
People can best help dyslexic students once they understand dyslexia's association with anxiety and effective coping strategies, both cognitively and emotionally. By highlighting the perspectives of dyslexic students, this book evidences the prevalence of anxiety in dyslexic communities.
Performance Anxiety Strategies: : A Musician's Guide to Managing Stage Fright by
Performance Anxiety Strategies presents relevant and noteworthy research and insight into some of the most popular and many lesser-known therapies--including holistic, exposure, cognitive, behavioral, and medicinal treatments. Each chapter also features self-guided activities and exercises, words of wisdom from established performing artists and athletes, and suggestions for music teachers, as well as first-person narratives about the authors' personal journeys with music performance anxiety both onstage and in the classroom.
Managing Stage Fright: A Guide for Musicians and Music Teachers by
Why is it that well-prepared, talented, hardworking, and intelligent performers find their performance and self-esteem undermined by the fear of memory slips, technique failures, and public humiliation? In Managing Stage Fright: A Guide for Musicians and Music Teachers, author Julie Jaffee Nagel unravels these mysteries, taking the reader on an intensive backstage tour of the anxious performer's emotions to explain why stage fright happens and what performers can do to increase their comfort in the glare of the spotlight.
What Every Singer Needs to Know about the Body by
This book provides detailed descriptions of the structures and movements necessary for healthy and efficient body awareness, balance, breathing, phonation, resonance, articulation, and gesture. Many voice books focus on the anatomical facts, but leave singers asking, "How can I apply this to my singing?" What Every Singer Needs to Know About the Body helps to answer that question, providing practical exercises and detailed illustrations.
The Super Quick Skills Collection provides concise overviews on improving your academic skills, working well with others, and improving your overall wellness.
Check out the complete Super Quick Skills Collection in Reed Library (behind our Board Game Collection), or browse the Collection Discovery catalog.
Take Great Notes by
Take Great Notes helps you figure out which points matter most, and how to digest information efficiently and effectively.
Find Your Source by
Find Your Source shows you how to cut to the chase and uncover the right sources for your project.
Avoid Plagiarism by
Avoid Plagiarism makes understanding plagiarism simple, giving you the know-how to write confidently and independently.
Think Critically by
Think Critically gives you simple, direct guidance on how to effectively assess and critique the world around you.
Work Well in Groups by
Being able to work in groups is an important skill to master at university - especially when you're assessed on it. Learn how to master this key professional and life skill to become an effective team member.
Manage Your Time by
This handy guide gives you simple, practical and achievable advice on how to better utilise your time and successfully meet deadlines.
Check That Fact by
This practical guide shows you how to be savvy about using sources and improve your information literacy.
Be a Brilliant Dyslexic Student by
An accessible, positive study guide for students with dyslexia, this book uses tried-and-tested strategies to empower you to achieve your academic goals.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
