Reed Library: Virtual Displays: National News Literacy Week

News Literacy Project:

This annual event underscores the vital role of news literacy in a democracy and provides audiences with the knowledge, tools and abilities to become more news-literate. It also aims to inspire news consumers, educators and students to practice news literacy and to strengthen trust in news media by reinforcing the role of credible journalism.

This virtual display coincides with the displays located in Reed Library from January 23-27, 2023.

Converging Media by John V. Pavlik; Shawn McIntosh
Call Number: P90 .P355 2019
Publication Date: 2018
The Free Press by Shally-Jensen, Michael, editor.
Call Number: KF4774 .F74 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Gatewatching and News Curation by Axel Bruns
Call Number: PN4784.O62 B78 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Information Wars by Richard Stengel
Call Number: U163 .S73 2019
Publication Date: 2020
Journalism and the American Experience by Bruce J. Evensen
Call Number: PN4888.P6 E84 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Media & culture : mass communication in a digital age by Richard Campbell; Christopher R. Martin; Bettina Fabos
Call Number: P94.65.U6 C36 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Media Control by Robert E. Gutsche
Call Number: P95.82.U6 G88 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Media Essentials by Richard Campbell; Christopher R. Martin; Bettina Fabos
Call Number: P94.65.U6 C365 2020
Publication Date: 2015-11-13
News Literacy by Michelle Luhtala; Jacquelyn Whiting
Call Number: P96.M4 L84 2018
Publication Date: 2018
NGOs As Newsmakers by Matthew Powers
Call Number: PN4784.F6 P69 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Reimagining Journalism by Ed Madison; Ben DeJarnette; Frank Sesno (Foreword by)
Call Number: PN4867.2 .M33 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Shooting the Messenger by Andrew Fowler
Call Number: PN4735 .F69 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The Watchdog Still Barks by Beth Knobel
Call Number: PN4888.I56 K56 2018
Publication Date: 2018

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national, and international levels. Its diverse sources include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1,500 full text newspapers in addition to over 500,000 radio and television transcripts.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Current news and press releases from the Associated Press and web sources.
The New York Times (1985 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of The New York Times from 1985 to the present.
New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
Full, complimentary access for Fredonia students, faculty, and staff to The New York Times and NYTimes.com articles from 1851 to the present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Full text articles on social issues. Includes topic overviews, primary sources, statistics, photographs, and podcasts.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Web News This link opens in a new window
Web News provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe, covering a range of business and general news topics.

Virtual Displays

Ebooks

Additional Information

Practice

Resources

Tutorials