![Eating Disorders: Understanding Causes, Controversies, and Treatment [2 Volumes]](http://syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9781440853012/LC.GIF&client=springshare)
More from NPR...
May is Mental Health Awareness Month, a national movement dedicated to raising awareness and fighting stigma about mental health, and advocating for policies that support people with mental illness and their families.
This virtual display coincides with the displays located in Reed Library from May 1 - 31.
Handbook of Emotions
Recognized as the definitive reference, this handbook brings together leading experts from multiple psychological subdisciplines to examine one of today's most dynamic areas of research. Coverage encompasses the biological and neuroscientific underpinnings of emotions, as well as developmental, social and personality, cognitive, and clinical perspectives.
Happy Brain: Where Happiness Comes From, and Why
The pursuit of happiness is one of the most common and enduring quests of human life. It's what drives us to get a job, fall in love, watch stand-up comedy, go to therapy, have questionable obsessions, and come home at the end of the day. But where does happiness come from, and why do we need it so much? Is lasting, permanent happiness possible--or should it be? And what does any of this have to do with the brain? In this delightful sequel to Idiot Brain, Dean Burnett explores these questions from a neuroscientific perspective.
Heart, Brain and Mental Health Disparities for LGBTQ People of Color by
This timely edited collection presents a holistic and biopsychosocial analysis of LGBTQ People of Color well-being, focused on heart, brain, and mental health, and employs a unique incorporation of minority stress, intersectionality, and allostatic load frameworks. Bringing together established and emerging academics, its authors present a critical analysis of the latest research that encompasses the study of both risk and resilience factors in LGBTQ People of Color health.
The Oxford Handbook of Sexual and Gender Minority Mental Health by
The Oxford Handbook of Sexual and Gender Minority Mental Health provides a comprehensive and authoritative review of research on the mental health of sexual minorities-defined as those who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, or same-gender attracted; as well as the mental health of gender minorities-defined as individuals who do not fully identify with their sex assigned at birth, including people who are transgender or gender non-binary.
Mental Illness in Popular Culture
"Being crazy" is generally a negative characterization today, yet many celebrated artists, leaders, and successful individuals have achieved greatness despite suffering from mental illness. This book explores the many different representations of mental illness that exist--and sometimes persist--in both traditional and new media across eras.
The Cambridge Handbook of Anxiety and Related Disorders
This Handbook surveys existing descriptive and experimental approaches to the study of anxiety and related disorders, emphasizing the provision of empirically-guided suggestions for treatment.
Psychology and Behavioral Health
This newly updated set covers not only the history of the field and the core aspects of behaviourism, cognitive psychology, and psychoanalytic psychology but also diagnoses, disorders, treatments, tests, notable people, and issues, including many popular concepts.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
The Finnish Way: Finding Courage, Wellness, and Happiness Through the Power of Sisu
An engaging and practical guided tour of the simple and nature-inspired ways that Finns stay happy and healthy--including the powerful concept of sisu, or everyday courage.
Mental Health and Wellbeing in the Workplace: A Practical Guide for Employers and Employees by
Provides guidance for both employers and staff on promoting positive mental health and supporting those experiencing mental ill health in the workplace
Stress Management for Teachers: A Proactive Guide
This book provides vital coping and problem-solving skills for managing the everyday stresses of the classroom. Specific strategies help teachers at any grade level gain awareness of the ways they respond in stressful situations and improve their overall well-being and effectiveness.
Dyslexia in Higher Education: Anxiety and Coping Skills by
By highlighting the perspectives of dyslexic students, this book evidences the prevalence of anxiety in dyslexic communities. The author targets academic areas where students struggle, offering techniques to overcome these barriers. Such obstacles are not always due to cognitive factors but may be associated with negative experiences, leading to fear and uncertainty.
Managing Stage Fright: A Guide for Musicians and Music Teachers by
Why is it that well-prepared, talented, hardworking, and intelligent performers find their performance and self-esteem undermined by the fear of memory slips, technique failures, and public humiliation? In Managing Stage Fright: A Guide for Musicians and Music Teachers, author Julie Jaffee Nagel unravels these mysteries, taking the reader on an intensive backstage tour of the anxious performer's emotions to explain why stage fright happens and what performers can do to increase their comfort in the glare of the spotlight.
Managing Stress in Music Education
Managing Stress in Music Education presents research, theory, possible pitfalls, and strategies for music teachers looking to navigate the challenging climate of potential stressors. Covering a wide range of topics such as sleep, physical movement, nutrition, happiness, gratitude, and mindfulness, this book offers music educators the tools to thrive in a work environment that can often lead to stress and burnout.
Spark Joy
Spark Joy features step-by-step folding illustrations for everything from shirts to socks, plus drawings of perfectly organized drawers and closets. Kondo also answers frequently asked questions, such as whether to keep "necessary" items that may not bring you joy. With guidance on specific categories including kitchen tools, cleaning supplies, hobby goods, digital photos, and even building your own personal "power spot" in your home, this comprehensive companion is sure to spark joy in anyone who wants to simplify their life.
My Magic Breath: Finding Calm through Mindful Breathing
Sometimes it's hard to feel happy. But with this interactive picture book, children breathe along as they learn how to make angry or sad thoughts disappear.
Ruby Finds a Worry by
Meet Ruby -- a happy, curious, imaginative young girl. But one day, she finds something unexpected: a Worry. It's not such a big Worry, at first. But every day, it grows a little bigger . . . and a little bigger . . . . Until eventually, the Worry is ENORMOUS and is all she can think about. But when Ruby befriends a young boy, she discovers that everyone has worries, and not only that, there's a great way to get rid of them too . . . she just has to share her feelings.
This Is My Brain in Love by
Told in dual narrative, This Is My Brain in Love is a stunning YA contemporary romance, exploring mental health, race, and, ultimately self-acceptance.
Anxiety: a Very Short Introduction
This Very Short Introduction draws on the best scientific research to offer a highly accessible explanation of what anxiety is, why it is such a normal and vital part of our emotional life, and the key factors that cause it. Insights are drawn from psychology, neuroscience, genetics, epidemiology ,and clinical trials.
Clinical Psychology: a Very Short Introduction
In this Very Short Introduction Susan Llewellyn and Katie Aafjes-van Doorn provide insights into the world of clinical psychologists and their clients or patients, and cover the range of domains of practice, the difficulties tackled, and the approaches and models used.
Depression: a Very Short Introduction
Covering both depression and bipolar disorder, this Very Short Introduction will begin by giving a brief account of the history of these concepts and will then focus on the descriptions and understanding of these disorders.
Emotion: a Very Short Introduction
In this fascinating journey into the human heart, Dylan Evans explores the latest research from anthropology and psychology, neuroscience and artificial intelligence. Along the way he discusses the evolution of emotions and their biological basis, the science of happiness and the role that emotions play in memory and decision-making.
Psychoanalysis: a Very Short Introduction
In Psychoanalysis: A Very Short Introduction, Daniel Pick offers a lucid, lively, and wide-ranging survey of psychoanalysis. This book offers the reader a flavour of what it might be like to enter treatment, and suggests the possible surprises that can await both analyst and patient, as well as the potential benefits.
Psychotherapy: a Very Short Introduction
In this Very Short Introduction, Tom Burns and Eva Burns-Lundgren trace the development of psychotherapy from its origins in Freud's psychoanalysis to the range of different approaches - counselling, cognitive behaviour therapy, and other time-limited therapies, mindfulness, group and family therapies, and many more.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.