Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Books Not Available at Reed Library
Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
Searching for Books
ReedSearch is often the best place to start your search for books. Below you will find a small selection of items that exist in our physical and digital collections, as well as links to open access collections.
Books By Type
The Feminine Mystique "If you've never read it, read it now." --Arianna Huffington, O, The Oprah Magazine Landmark, groundbreaking, classic--these adjectives barely do justice to the pioneering vision and lasting impact of The Feminine Mystique. Published in 1963, it gave a pitch-perfect description of "the problem that has no name": the insidious beliefs and institutions that undermined women's confidence in their intellectual capabilities and kept them in the home. Writing in a time when the average woman first married in her teens and 60 percent of women students dropped out of college to marry, Betty Friedan captured the frustrations and thwarted ambitions of a generation and showed women how they could reclaim their lives. Part social chronicle, part manifesto, The Feminine Mystique is filled with fascinating anecdotes and interviews as well as insights that continue to inspire. This 50th-anniversary edition features an afterword by best-selling author Anna Quindlen as well as a new introduction by Gail Collins.
Call Number: HQ1426 .F844 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Feminism Is Queer In Feminism is Queer, Mimi Marinucci provides a valuable introduction to the intimately related disciplines of gender and queer theory, and develops the innovative concept of queer feminism, which treats queer theory as being continuous with feminist theory. While there were significant conceptual tensions between second-wave feminism and traditional lesbian and gay studies, queer feminism offers a paradigm for understanding gender, sex and sexuality that overcomes this conflict in order to foster solidarity between those campaigning for women's rights and those for LGBTQ rights. This updated and expanded edition engages with the latest developments in feminism and queer theory, including the new forms of both feminism and 'antifeminism' which have developed within online communities, the growing prominence of trans experiences in popular media, and the relevancy of queer feminism to a new generation of feminist activists. Feminism is Queer remains the indispensable guide for anyone with an interest in gender, sexuality, and the connections between feminism and queer issues.
Call Number: HQ1190 .M355 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-15
Feminist Theory Reader The third edition of the Feminist Theory Readeranthologizes the important classical and contemporary works of feminist theory within a multiracial transnational framework. This edition includes 16 new essays; the editors have organized the readings into four sections, which challenge the prevailing representation of feminist movements as waves. Introductory essays at the beginning of each section lay out the framework that brings the readings together and provide historical and intellectual context. Instructors who have adopted the book can email SalesHSS@taylorandfrancis.com to receive test questions associated with the readings. Please include your school and location (state/province/county/country) in the email. Now available for the first time in eBook format 978-0-203-59831-3.
Call Number: HQ1190 .F46346 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Gender Trouble Ever since feminist theory introduced the distinction between sex and gender, the question of what it means to be a woman has preoccupied feminist thought. In GenderTrouble Judith Butler questions whether it is possible to "be" a woman at all or, for that matter, any gender.
Call Number: HQ 1154 B88 1990
Publication Date: 1989-11-15
Narrative Theory Unbound Under the bold banner of Narrative Theory Unbound: Queer and Feminist Interventions, editors Robyn Warhol and Susan S. Lanser gather a diverse spectrum of queer and feminist challenges to the theory and interpretation of narrative. The first edited collection to bring feminist, queer, and narrative theories into direct conversation with one another, this anthology places gender and sexuality at the center of contemporary theorizing about the production, reception, forms, and functions of narrative texts. Through twenty-one essays prefaced by a cogent history of the field, Narrative Theory Unbound offers new perspectives on narrative discourse and its constituent elements; on intersectional approaches that recognize race, religion, and national culture as integral to understanding sexuality and gender; on queer temporalities; on cognitive research; and on lifewriting in graphic, print, and digital constellations. Exploring genres ranging from reality TV to fairy tales to classical fiction, contributors explore the thorny, contested relationships between feminist and queer theory, on the one hand, and between feminist/queer theory and contemporary narratologies, on the other. Rather than aiming for cohesiveness or conclusiveness, the collection stages open-ended debates designed to unbind the assumptions that have kept gender and sexuality on the periphery of narrative theory.
Call Number: P302.7 .N3824 2015
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Gender Panic, Gender Policy Using diverse theories and methods including analysis of online data, feminist critical discourse, fieldwork, grounded theory, and queer theory, this edited volume explores gender panic and policy in the United States as well as Argentina, Australia, Belarus, Japan, Russia, Sweden, and subnational populations. Contributors consider a range of issues from the meaning of learning to play the traditional female role in order to develop a contemporary heteronormative romantic relationship to the difficulties of fairly accommodating non-binary people in traditionally gendered settings or the problem of implementing a gender-neutral rape law in a prison system that is structurally gendered. Gendered policies pertaining, particularly, to women and their fertility as a result of panics over low birthrates are explored as are issues relating to the validation of and problems with binary gender categories in elite sports. The impact of UN gender equality initiatives including LGBT equality on nation-states is also examined.
Publication Date: 2017-10-30
Intersex Narratives This book explores representations of intersex - intersex persons, intersex communities, and intersex as a cultural concept and knowledge category - in contemporary North American literature and popular culture. The study turns its attention to the significant paradigm shift in the narratives on intersex that occurred within early 1990s intersex activism in response to biopolitical regulations of intersex bodies. Focusing on the emergence of recent autobiographical stories and cultural productions like novels and TV series centering around intersex, Viola Amato provides a first systematic analysis of an activism-triggered resignification of intersex.
Publication Date: 2016-02-22
The Queer Turn in Feminism More than any other area of late-twentieth-century thinking, gender theory and its avatars have been to a large extent a Franco-American invention. In this book, a leading Franco-American scholar traces differences and intersections in the development of gender and queer theories on both sides of the Atlantic. Looking at these theories through lenses that are both "American" and "French," thus simultaneously retrospective and anticipatory, she tries to account for their alleged exhaustion and currency on the two sides of the Atlantic. The book is divided into four parts. In the first, the author examines two specifically "American" features of gender theories since their earliest formulations: on the one hand, an emphasis on the theatricality of gender (from John Money's early characterization of gender as "role playing" to Judith Butler's appropriation of Esther Newton's work on drag queens); on the other, the early adoption of a "queer" perspective on gender issues. In the second part, the author reflects on a shift in the rhetoric concerning sexual minorities and politics that is prevalent today. Noting a shift from efforts by oppressed or marginalized segments of the population to make themselves "heard" to an emphasis on rendering themselves "visible," she demonstrates the formative role of the American civil rights movement in this new drive to visibility. The third part deals with the travels back and forth across the Atlantic of "sexual difference," ever since its elevation to the status of quasi-concept by psychoanalysis. Tracing the "queering" of sexual difference, the author reflects on both the modalities and the effects of this development. The last section addresses the vexing relationship between Western feminism and capitalism. Without trying either to commend or to decry this relationship, the author shows its long-lasting political and cultural effects on current feminist and postfeminist struggles and discourses. To that end, she focuses on one of the intense debates within feminist and postfeminist circles, the controversy over prostitution.
Publication Date: 2013-12-02
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies This far-reaching and contemporary encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic, and addresses questions such as: What are the key theories used to understand variations in sexual orientation and gender identity? How do gay-straight alliances (GSA) affect LGBTQ youth? How do LGBTQ people experience the transition to parenthood? And many more.
Publication Date: 2016
Mainstreaming Politics: Gendering Practices and Feminist Theory This book offers an innovative rethinking of policy approaches to gender equality and of the process of social change. It draws upon poststructuralist organisation and policy theory to argue that it is impossible to 'script' reform initiatives such as gender mainstreaming.
Publication Date: 2010
Clinical Encounters in Sexuality Clinical Encounters in Sexuality makes an intervention into the fields of clinical psychoanalysis and sexuality studies, in an effort to think about a range of issues relating to sexuality from a clinical psychoanalytic perspective. The editors have chosen queer theory as an interlocutor for the clinical contributors, because it is at the forefront of theoretical considerations of sexuality, as well as being both reliant upon and suspicious of psychoanalysis as a clinical practice and discourse. The book brings together a number of psychoanalytic schools of thought and clinical approaches, which are sometimes at odds with one another and thus tend not to engage in dialogue about divisive theoretical concepts and matters of clinical technique. The volume also stages, for the first time, a sustained clinical psychoanalytic engagement with queer theory. The central questions we present to readers to think about are: What are the discourses of sexuality underpinning psychoanalysis, and how do they impact on clinical practice? In what ways does sexuality get played out for, and between, the psychoanalytic practitioner and the patient? How do social, cultural and historical attitudes towards sexuality impact on the transference and countertransference, consciously and unconsciously? Why is sexuality so prone to reification? TABLE OF CONTENTS // Introduction: Clinical Encounters in Sexuality: Psychoanalytic Practice and Queer Theory, by Noreen Giffney SECTION 1: QUEER THEORIES / Chapter 1 Identity]: Precarious Sexualities: Queer Challenges to Psychoanalytic and Social Identity Categorisation, by Alice Kuzniar - Chapter 2 Desire]: Are We Missing Something? Queer Desire, by Lara Farina - Chapter 3 Pleasure]: Jouissance: The Gash of Bliss, by Kathryn Bond Stockton - Chapter 4 Perversion]: Perversion and the Problem of Fluidity and Fixity, by Lisa Downing - Chapter 5 Ethics]: Out of Line, On Hold: D.W. Winnicott's Queer Sensibilities, by Michael D. Snediker - Chapter 6 Discourse]: Discourse and the History of Sexuality, by Will Stockton SECTION 2: PSYCHOANALYTIC RESPONSES / Chapter 7: On Not Thinking Straight: Comments on a Conceptual Marriage, by R.D. Hinshelwood - Chapter 8: Queer as a New Shelter from Castration, by Abe Geldhof and Paul Verhaeghe - Chapter 9: The Redress of Psychoanalysis, by Ann Murphy - Chapter 10: Queer Directions from Lacan, by Ian Parker - Chapter 11: Queer Theory Meets Jung, by Claudette Kulkarni - Chapter 12: Queer Troubles for Psychoanalysis, by Carol Owens - Chapter 13: Clinique, by Aranye Fradenburg - Chapter 14: From Tragic Fall to Programmatic Blueprint: 'Behold this is Oedipus ...' by Olga Cox Cameron - Chapter 15: Enigmatic Sexuality, by Katrine Zeuthen and Judy Gammelgaard - Chapter 16: The Transforming Nexus: Psychoanalysis, Social Theory and Queer Childhood, by Ken Corbett - Chapter 17: Clinical Encounters: The Queer New Times, by Rob Weatherill - Chapter 18: Undoing Psychoanalysis: Towards a Clinical and Conceptual Metistopia, by Dany Nobus - Chapter 19: 'You make me feel like a natural woman' Thoughts on a Case of Transsexual Identity Formation and Queer Theory, by Ami Kaplan - Chapter 20: Sexual Difference: From Symptom to Sinthome, by Patricia Gherovici SECTION 3: RESPONSES TO PSYCHOANALYTIC PRACTICES ENCOUNTERING QUEER THEORIES / Chapter 21: A Plague on Both Your Houses, by Stephen Frosh - Chapter 22: Something Amiss, by Jacqueline Rose - Chapter 23: Taking Shelter from Queer, by Tim Dean - Chapter 24: Courageous Drawings of Vigilant Ambiguities, by Noreen O'Connor - Chapter 25: Understanding Homophobia, by Mark J. Blechner - Chapter 26: Transgender and Psychoanalysis, by Susan Stryker - Chapter 27: The Psychoanalysis that Dare Not Speak Its Name, Ona Nierenberg ABOUT THE COVER / On the Not-Meanings of Karla Black's There Can Be No Arguments, by Medb Ruane AFTERWORD, by Eve Watson
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
Come As You Are, after Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick This book brings together two pieces of writing. In the first, “After Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick," Jonathan Goldberg assesses her legacy, prompted mainly by writing about Sedgwick’s work that has appeared in the years since her death in April 2009. Writing by Lauren Berlant, Jane Gallop, Katy Hawkins, Scott Herring, Lana Lin, and Philomina Tsoukala are among those considered as he explores questions of queer temporality and the breaching of ontological divides. Main concerns include the relationship of Sedgwick’s later work in Proust, fiber, and Buddhism to her fundamental contribution to queer theory, and the axes of identification across difference that motivated her work and attachment to it.
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • email@example.com