Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Database: Women's and Gender Studies Videos Online
Women's and Gender Studies Video Online is a collection that features over a hundred documentary videos focused on women and LGBTQ-related topics, including history, social justice issues, and critical examinations of gender and sexuality. It not only features material centered on important figures, but also media that amplifies marginalized and disenfranchised voices.
Databases By Type
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Includes over 100 full-text publications, comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage, and a specialized LGBT+ thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national, and international levels. Its diverse sources include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos.
NewsBank has also curated hundreds of articles on Women's History.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides journal articles for all areas of sociology and related subject areas, with coverage for some journals dating back to 1895.
Women and Gender Studies Video Online This link opens in a new window
Provides films covering the study of gender, feminism, women’s history, media studies, and politics. The collection addresses issues of social justice, gender identity, sexual identity, LGBT+ studies, and provides insight into the contributions of women to history, culture, and society.
Women and Social Movements in the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Contains primary documents and images pertaining to women and social movements, 1600 to present.
The Digital Transgender Archive
This database compiles and provides access to digital and digitized materials related to transgender history from repositories worldwide.
"An open access repository of digitized contents pages of 150 academic journals and pop culture magazines for researchers and scholars to view what is currently being published in the fields of Feminism, Gender and Women's Studies, Sexuality Studies, and LGBTQIA+ studies."
Global Database on Violence Against Women
Affiliated with the United Nations, this database provides information on countries' governmental measures taken to counteract violence against women, including laws, policies, services, and research data and statistics.
Reed Library offers a number of video tutorials for popular databases in our collection.
Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford at email@example.com.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • firstname.lastname@example.org