Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Books Not Available at Reed Library
Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
Searching for Books
ReedSearch is often the best place to start your search for books. Below you will find a small selection of items that exist in our physical and digital collections, as well as links to open access collections.
Books By Type
Assessing Listening and Spoken Language in Children with Hearing Loss Assessing Listening and Spoken Language in Children with Hearing Loss is a comprehensive resource guide in assessments for professionals who provide care to infants, toddlers, preschoolers, and school-aged children who are deaf and/or hard of hearing.
Call Number: RF290 .A87 2015
Introduction to Audiology Introduction to Audiology offers a thorough introduction to hearing and balance disorders in a user-friendly format.
Call Number: RF290 .M34 2015
Introduction to Communication Disorders A clear, comprehensive introduction to communication sciences and disorders Introduction to Communication Disorders: A Lifespan Evidence-Based Perspective presents recent advances in the assessment and treatment of communication disorders in a highly readable manner. Each chapter is concise, yet comprehensive-striking a just right balance of information appropriate for introductory-level students. Readers gain a basic foundation in the areas of anatomy and physiology of speech and hearing, and an overview of the various disorders that affect voice, fluency, articulation, language, cognition, swallowing, and hearing across the lifespan. Updated case studies, evidence-based practice summary boxes, and new medically based photographs help students bridge the gap between theory and clinical application. Also available with the Enhanced Pearson eText The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content with embedded videos, audio samples, interactive application exercises, and self-check quizzes. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; the Enhanced Pearson eText does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with the Enhanced Pearson eText, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and the Enhanced Pearson eText search for: 0134800311 / 9780134800318 Introduction to Communication Disorders: A Lifespan Evidence-Based Perspective, with Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134801466 / 9780134801469 Introduction to Communication Disorders: A Lifespan Evidence-Based Perspective, Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card 0134801474 / 9780134801476 Introduction to Communication Disorders: A Lifespan Evidence-Based Perspective
Call Number: RC423 .O95 2015
The Voice and Voice Therapy The Voice and Voice Therapy incorporates the most current scientific evidence from a variety of disciplines that supports the behavioral approaches to voice assessment and intervention. Well-written, with meaningful applications and helpful pedagogy, the book is accessible and relevant to students, instructors, and clinicians. The 10th Edition includes nearly 500 new references representing advances in the field; updated topics and discussions; and new and improved pedagogical elements to ensure that students, instructors, and clinicians have the most current voice and voice-related disorders resource available.
Call Number: RF540 .B66 2020
A Dictionary of Audiology A Dictionary of Audiology features authoritative and detailed entries that clearly define and describe essential terms relating to hearing, balance, and related disorders. These entries expand on the audiology coverage present in Oxford Reference’s general medical dictionaries to provide a specialist source of reference for students and practitioners.
Handbook of Communication Disorders The current handbook takes an integrated psycholinguistic, neurolinguistic, and sociolinguistic perspective on Communication Disorders by targeting the interface between language and cognition as the context for understanding disrupted abilities and behaviors and providing solutions for treatment and therapy. Researchers and practitioners will be able to find in this handbook state-of-the-art information on typical and atypical development of language and communication (dis)abilities across the human lifespan from infancy to the aging brain, covering all major clinical disorders and conditions in various social and communicative contexts, such as spoken and written language and discourse, literacy issues, bilingualism, and socio-economic status.
INTRO - A Guide to Communication Sciences and Disorders INTRO: A Guide to Communication Sciences and Disorders, Third Edition is designed for the undergraduate student with an interest in entering the field of communication sciences and disorders. INTRO is an introduction to the professions of speech-language pathology and audiology and the underlying discipline on which they are based, communication sciences and disorders. This text provides essential information concerning a wide range of communication disorders found in children and adults.
Advances in Clinical Audiology Advances in Clinical Audiology is an excursus on the latest findings in clinical audiology with a strong emphasis in new emerging technologies which facilitate and optimize a better assessment of the human patient.
Advances in Speech-language Pathology Speech-language pathology has different practice and research histories, standards, methods, and challenges in different countries and regions. Awareness of these different realities may contribute to the scientific development of the field and improve the services delivered to different populations. Sharing solutions to similar problems in different contexts can increase evidence-based practice that is relevant in specific situations.
Neurodevelopment and Neurodevelopmental Disorder Nowadays, neurodevelopmental disorders comprise a large proportion of mental health diagnoses. These disorders, according to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, include intellectual disabilities, communication disorders, autism spectrum disorders, attention deficit hyperactivity disorders, specific learning disorders, and motor disorders. Current research is pointing in the direction of schizophrenia, bipolar disorders, and other disorders being included in the category of neurodevelopmental disorders as well. There is a great deal of overlap among these disorders and they are best understood in a dimensional fashion. This book sets out the future of psychiatry in relation to these disorders and what is basically a new understanding of psychiatry in recent decades. Chapters cover topics such as early recognition of schizophrenia, epilepsy, and the genetics of ataxia telangiectasia. Also included is an examination of the complex issue of systems biology and neurodevelopment.
Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • email@example.com