Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
ReedSearch is often the best place to start your search for books. Below you will find a small selection of items that exist in our physical and digital collections, as well as links to open access collections.
How Racism and Sexism Killed Traditional Media
An evaluative examination that challenges the media to rise above the systematic racism and sexism that persists across all channels, despite efforts to integrate. The Internet and social networks have opened up new avenues of communication for women and people of color, but the mainstream news is still not adequately including minority communities in the conversation. Part of the Racism in America series, How Racism and Sexism Killed the Traditional Media: Why the Future of Journalism Depends on Women and People of Color reveals the lack of diversity that persists in the communication industry. Uncovering and analyzing the racial bias in the media and in many newsrooms, this book reveals the lesser-known side of the media--newsrooms and outlets that are often fraught with underlying racist and sexist tension. Written by a veteran journalist of color, this title brings an insider's perspective combined with interviews from industry experts. The book analyzes the traditional media's efforts to integrate both women and people of color into legacy newsrooms, highlighting their defeats and minor successes. The author examines the future of women and people of color in the mainstream media. Gives a thorough background on the history of minority-produced media Highlights ideas for improving hiring practices and coverage for minorities Identifies the growing number of news consumers who are people of color Provides a chronology of diversity efforts in legacy newsrooms Includes material derived from interviews with experts like Dori J. Maynard with the Maynard Institute for Journalism Education and veteran journalists like Ellis Cose and Danyel Smith
Bell Hooks: a Critical Introduction to Media and Communication Theory
bell hooks' writings have been touchstones for major debates in the «culture wars», fostering insight into many central questions in communication studies. Her work is vital to students and scholars who explore the ways in which media shape our sense of our selves, our roles, and those with whom we interact. This book provides readers with a measured, contextualized introduction to how hooks' writings on media and culture enhance our understanding of key concepts in communication. hooks' insistence on focusing our attention on the workings of power and the impact of history and her willingness to explore connections between individual and group experiences have produced provocative, fruitful conjectures about media and culture.
The Future of 24-Hour News
Over the last 30 years 24-hour television news channels have reshaped the practice and culture of journalism. But the arrival of new content and social media platforms over recent years has challenged their power and authority, with fast-changing technologies accelerating the speed of news delivery and reshaping audience behaviour. Following on from The Rise of 24-Hour News Television: Global Perspectives (Cushion and Lewis, 2010), this volume explores new challenges and pressures facing television news channels, and considers the future of 24-hour news. Featuring a wide range of industry and academic perspectives, including the heads of some of the major international news channels (BBC Global News, Al Jazeera and Sky News, among others) as well as leading academics from around the world, contributors reflect on how well rolling television news is reinventing itself for digital platforms and the rapidly changing expectations of audiences. Overall, the 24 chapters in this volume deliver fresh insights into how 24-hour news channels have redefined rolling news journalism - or potentially could do - in order to remain relevant and effective in supplying continuous news for 21st-century audiences.
Reimagining Journalism
Amidst "alternative facts" and "post-truth" politics, news journalism is more important and complex than ever. This book examines journalism's evolution within digital media's ecosystem where lies often spread faster than truth, and consumers expect conversations, not lectures. The 2016 U.S. presidential election delivered a stunning result, but the news media's breathless coverage of it was no surprise. News networks turned debates into primetime entertainment, reporters spent more time covering poll results than public policy issues, and the cozy relationship between journalists and political insiders helped ensure intrigue and ratings, even as it eroded journalism's role as democracy's "Fourth Estate." Against this sobering backdrop, a broadcast news veteran and a millennial newshound consider how journalism can regain the public's trust by learning from pioneers both within and beyond the profession. Connecting the dots between faux news, "fake news," and real news, coauthors Madison and DeJarnette provide an unflinching analysis of where mainstream journalism went wrong--and what the next generation of reporters can do to make it right. The significance of Donald Trump's presidency is not lost on the authors, but Reimagining Journalism in a Post-Truth World is not a post-mortem of the 2016 presidential election, nor is it a how-to guide for reporting on Trump's White House. Instead, this accessible and engaging book offers a broader perspective on contemporary journalism, pairing lively anecdotes with insightful analysis of long-term trends and challenges. Drawing on their expertise in media innovation and entrepreneurship, the authors explore how comedians like John Oliver, Trevor Noah, and Samantha Bee are breaking (and reshaping) the rules of political journalism; how legacy media outlets like The Boston Globe, The Washington Post, and The New York Times are retooling for the digital age; and how newcomers like Vice, Hearken, and De Correspondent are innovating new models for reporting and storytelling. Anyone seeking to make sense of modern journalism and its intersections with democracy will want to read this book. Examines the historical roots of journalism's crisis while pushing the conversation toward promising experiments and solutions Offers insights from digital-era disruptors and innovators, as well as long-time veterans of the news business Provides context for the 2016 election's "fake news" phenomenon and explains--in clear and compelling prose--what savvy journalists are doing to rebuild trust in the real thing
A Dictionary of Media and Communication
This authoritative and up-to-date A-Z covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, and nonverbal communication.
A Dictionary of Journalism
A Dictionary of Journalism is an accessible and authoritative quick reference dictionary. It covers over 1,400 wide-ranging entries on the terms that are likely to be encountered by students of the subject, and aims to offer a broad, accessible point of reference on an ever-topical and constantly-changing field that affects everyone's knowledge and perception of the world.
Public Speaking Kaleidoscope
This book helps the reader to understand the various interconnected components of communication. The component of these theories are like small pieces of glass. These three lenses make a Kaleidoscope for the reader to see a beautiful pattern of these components that answer the questions above. Finally, the book provides a conceptual framework to the readers to help them make persuasive speeches and become charismatic leaders. This book is intended for a broad audience including students, scholars, researchers and professors in undergraduate and graduate schools, entrepreneurs and practicing business executives around the world. The objective is to give a quick view into the ocean of academic literature and help further understanding on this topic. The book will also have many examples and best practices taken from famous speeches of leaders around the world.
Handbooks of Communication Science
Locating the Moving Image: New Approaches to Film and Place
Leading scholars in the interdisciplinary field of geo-spatial visual studies examine the social experience of cinema and the different ways in which film production developed as a commercial enterprise, as a leisure activity, and as modes of expression and communication. Their research charts new pathways in mapping the relationship between film production and local film practices, theatrical exhibition circuits and cinema going, creating new forms of spatial anthropology. Topics include cinematic practices in rural and urban communities, development of cinema by amateur filmmakers, and use of GIS in mapping the spatial development of film production and cinema going as social practices.
The Complete Film Production Handbook
This book is for working film/TV professionals and students alike. If you're a line producer, production manager, production supervisor, assistant director or production coordinator--the book has everything you'll need (including all the forms, contracts, releases and checklists) to set up and run a production--from finding a production office to turning over delivery elements. Even if you know what you're doing, you will be thrilled to find everything you need in one place. If you're not already working in film production, but think you'd like to be, read the book -- and then decide. If you choose to pursue this career path, you'll know what to expect, you'll be prepared, and you'll be ten steps ahead of everyone else just starting out. New topics and information in the fourth edition include: * Low-budget independent films, including documentaries and shorts * Information specific to television production and commercials * The industry's commitment to go green and how to do it * Coverage of new travel and shipping regulations * Updated information on scheduling, budgeting, deal memos, music clearances, communications, digital production, and new forms throughout
Our Future in Public Relations
Aimed primarily at communications management professionals, Our Future in Public Relations explores whether the profession of public relations still matters today. Is PR just a new form of marketing or is it more alive and important than ever before, especially as a driver of purpose-driven organizations? In an era of fake news and diminishing trust, it's time to ask exactly what our future in public relations will be.
Navigating Disruption: Media Relations in the Digital Age
Navigating Disruption: Media Relations in the Digital Age offers an insight into this digital evolution through the eyes of a working-level journalist. This book tells the story of the seismic shift in media operations in both US and Singapore newsrooms between 2011 and 2015, when Bertrand Teo witnessed the cascading impact of digitalization in newsrooms across transnational borders.
Advanced Public Speaking
This advanced public speaking textbook is designed to encourage you as a speaker and to help you sharpen your skills. It is written to feel like you are sitting with a trusted mentor over coffee as you receive practical advice on speaking. Grow in confidence, unleash your personal power and find your unique style as you learn to take your speaking to the next level--polished and professional.
Business Communication for Success
Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.
Communication in the Real World
Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action.
The Data Journalism Handbook
When you combine the sheer scale and range of digital information now available with a journalist's "nose for news" and her ability to tell a compelling story, a new world of possibility opens up. With The Data Journalism Handbook, you'll explore the potential, limits, and applied uses of this new and fascinating field. This valuable handbook has attracted scores of contributors since the European Journalism Centre and the Open Knowledge Foundation launched the project at MozFest 2011. Through a collection of tips and techniques from leading journalists, professors, software developers, and data analysts, you'll learn how data can be either the source of data journalism or a tool with which the story is told--or both. Examine the use of data journalism at the BBC, the Chicago Tribune, the Guardian, and other news organizations Explore in-depth case studies on elections, riots, school performance, and corruption Learn how to find data from the Web, through freedom of information laws, and by "crowd sourcing" Extract information from raw data with tips for working with numbers and statistics and using data visualization Deliver data through infographics, news apps, open data platforms, and download links
Exploring Public Speaking - 4th Edition
We believe this text addresses all the subjects that traditional publishers’ books would address in an appropriate writing style and with appropriate college-level learning theory in mind. The appendices address some additional topics that might be excluded from most texts, but that we believe add to the experience: learning theory, plagiarism, speaking online, speaking to diverse audiences, and humor in public speaking. In the third and fourth editions we have added “case study” examples and some different outline samples.
Introduction to Narrative Journalism
This textbook was created for beginning narrative journalists exploring the craft. It is structured around the five elements of fiction, and provides both instruction and student examples of various narrative journalism projects.
Media, Society, Culture and You
Media, Society, Culture, and You is an approachable introductory Mass Communication text that covers major mass communication terms and concepts including "digital culture." It discusses various media platforms and how they are evolving as Information and Communication Technologies change.
This book has been peer-reviewed by 6 subject experts and is now available for adoption or adaptation. If you plan to adopt or adapt this open textbook, please let us know by filling out our adoption form.
Technology, Media Literacy, and the Human Subject: A Posthuman Approach
This book provides a transdisciplinary method that allows for both practical and theoretical analyses of media investigations. Informed by postphenomenology, media ecology, philosophical posthumanism, and complexity theory the author proposes both a framework and a pragmatic instrument for understanding the multiplicity of relations that all contribute to how we affect—and are affected by—our relations with media technology.
Writing Fabulous Features
"Writing Fabulous Features" teaches the art and craft of feature writing to help readers learning to write non-fiction with flair.
Writing for Electronic Media
People’s viewing habits are changing as they migrate to mobile sources, social media, and kitten videos.Television News is still a dominant #1 source, and radio is still the safest way to stay informed in your car. Hopefully, you already have some journalism background. This book does not teach the who, what, when, where, why, and how of reporting; its goal is to teach how to present the journalism you already know via electronic media, primarily television.
Writing for Strategic Communication Industries
Good writing skills are important in today's competitive work environment. This is especially the case for communication-related professions such as public relations, brand communication, journalism, and marketing. Writing for Strategic Communication Industries emphasizes practical application of academic inquiry to help readers improve their writing skills.
Explore additional Open Textbooks:
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.