Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
ReedSearch is often the best place to start your search for books. Below you will find a small selection of items that exist in our physical and digital collections, as well as links to open access collections.
Multicultural and International Approaches in Social Work Practice
Building upon the author s integrative and interactive ideas about human services fields, this book presents an intercultural perspective of social work education, practice, and research with culturally linguistically-relationally underprivileged minority groups in the local and global communities, to show how the synthesis of theories from postmodern social constructionism, multiculturalism, and international organization empowerment can be applied when working with Asian immigrant families. This book also demonstrates how a mutual development model of intercultural organizational-institutional collaborative partnership can be relevant when providing an International Experience for Human Services Abroad Course. Author Kui-Hee Song uses in-depth case studies in the culturally linguistic and diverse context of human services fields and in the cross-nationally interactive context of host country human services organizations and home university academic administrations. Kui-Hee Song examines the clinical change process of a Korean immigrant family that is working with Child Protective Services, seeking to resolve physical child abuse problems and generate new meanings in parent-child relationships through therapeutic conversational dialogue. As the new to this edition, a case of Ming's story is especially, the cultural differences between the Chinese immigrant client family and American medical setting where practitioner s personal beliefs were challenged. Kui-Hee Song critically examines specific steps to take in establishing intercultural service learning field placements for an experiential learning education abroad course. Song explores the significant leadership roles and responsibilities of host country human services organizations and home university administrators involved with making a new international human services experience abroad program planning, implementation, and evaluation. Specially, Song provides a profound understanding of the empowerment process of a Korean family: a conversational partnership in dialogue that invites the clients to speak their loud-hitherto unheard-voices and enhance a personal perception of competency for action and hope. Song also gives a thoughtful comprehension of a mutual empowerment process of cross-national collaborative partners: differential responsibilities but mutually shared power, vision, and goals in working relationship that allows for each collaborator to stand together in unity of transactional and transformational leadership behaviors and strengthens the sustainability of the effective international human services experience abroad program."
Research for Social Workers: An Introduction to Methods
A fully revised and updated new edition of this introduction to the research methods most commonly used in social work and social welfare.
Social Work: a Very Short Introduction
Social workers spend their time trying to ease social suffering. They encounter the extreme casualties of social inequality: the victims of poverty, illness, addiction, and abuse; they work with abusers and offenders; and operate in the space between the state and the poor or marginalized. Social work is replete with vivid human stories: the troubled teenage boy who cannot settle in a foster home; the frail older woman who is desperate for social contact; the community seeking a way to tackle gang violence; the sex offender leaving prison; and the disputed territory of international adoption. Social work therefore holds a fundamental importance throughout the modern world. In this Very Short Introduction, Sally Holland and Jonathan Scourfield explain what social work is and look at its rich historical development. Reflecting international human stories of social problems and social work relationships, as well as the philosophies behind the practice and the evidence about what works throughout the world, they look at the various definitions, history, and debates about purpose and effectiveness, theory, and methods. Including wide ranging examples of social work practice around the world and within particular population groups, they reflect the international variation of social work theory and practice, as well as highlighting all of the main controversies and debates. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
The Social Work Dictionary
The dynamic vocabulary of social work, like the profession itself, continues to grow and become more complex. Since the first edition of 'The Social Work Dictionary' in 1987, this essential reference work has been recognised as the definitive lexicon of social work. Now in its fifth edition, the dictionary captures over 9,000 terms, cataloguing and cross-referencing the nomenclature, concepts, organisations, historical figures, and values that define the profession. A special historical section represents a chronology of the significant developments in the United States and the world toward social welfare policies, practices, and the betterment of humanity. Used extensively in schools of social work, social service agency libraries, and in social work offices world-wide, this is a staple in professional libraries. It is unequalled as a study tool for preparing for licensing and certification exams. Every social worker -- from professor to student, from novice to experienced professional -- should own this unparalleled resource for understanding the language of social work and related disciplines.
Clinical Assessment and Diagnosis in Social Work Practice
In Clinical Assessment and Diagnosis in Social Work Practice, seasoned practitioner-scholars Jacqueline Corcoran and Joseph Walsh provide an in-depth exploration of fourteen major mental disorders that social workers commonly see in practice, including anxiety disorders, depression, bipolar disorder, and schizophrenia. They skillfully integrate several perspectives in order to help practitioners meet the challenges they will face in client assessment, and present a risk and resilience framework that helps social workers understand environmental influences on the emergence of mental disorders and the strengths that clients already possess. The authors also catalog the latest evidence-based assessment instruments and treatments for each disorder so that social workers can intervene efficiently and effectively, using the best resources available. Students and practitioners alike will appreciate the wealth of case examples, evidence-based assessment instruments, treatment plans, and new social diversity sections that make this an essential guide to the assessment and diagnostic processes in social work practice.
Human Rights-Based Approaches to Clinical Social Work Practice
This groundbreaking Brief brings a rights-based perspective to social work as opposed to the charity- and needs-based formats traditional to the field. Core principles for effective practice are discussed in the context of global human rights advocacy, from addressing individuals' immediate issues to challenging the structures that allow continued injustices to marginalized populations. Focusing specifically on interventions with survivors (and some perpetrators) of torture, human trafficking, and domestic violence, coverage explores and explodes myths about these issues--some of which survivors themselves may believe--and illustrates the immediate application and long-term benefits of rights-based therapy.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans Health Inequalities: International Perspectives in Social Work
This ground-breaking book examines inequalities experienced by LGBT people and considers the role of social work in addressing them. The book is organised in three parts: the first provides a policy context in four countries, the second examines social work practice in tackling health inequalities, and part three considers research and pedagogic developments. The book's distinctive approach includes international contributions, practice vignettes and key theoretical perspectives in health inequalities, including social determinants of health, minority stress, ecological approaches and human rights.Lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans health inequalities is relevant to social work educators, practitioners and students, alongside an interdisciplinary audience interested in LGBT health inequalities.
Science and Pseudoscience in Social Work Practice
Science is a way of thinking about and investigating the accuracy of assumptions about the world. It is a process for solving problems in which we learn from our mistakes. Social work has a long history of social reform and helping efforts. Let us continue this by paying attention to the important message of this book. --Eileen Gambrill, PhD, School of Social Welfare University of California at Berkeley (From the Foreword) Although many psychosocial interventions used in social work practice have strong research evidence supporting their efficacy, a surprising number do not, potentially resulting in harmful outcomes. In this book, the authors cast a critical eye on the reality of commonly used scientific and pseudoscientific practices in social work today. Stressing the need for separating research-based practices from those not supported by adequate levels of evidence, they examine the scientific and pseudoscientific bases for popular social work interventions used in a variety of treatment settings. The text examines the misuse of legitimate research and describes how social work education training can and should discourage pseudoscience. The concluding chapter describes pathways through which social work practice can become more firmly grounded in contemporary scientific research. This engaging book is intended for courses in critical thinking and evidence-based practice and is a valuable resource for all social work students and practitioners. Key Features: Promotes critical thinking regarding the evidence-based research--or lack thereof--behind a variety of social work interventions Written by renowned social work educators Addresses the history and characteristics of pseudoscience Examines pseudoscience practices in assessment and work with children, adolescents, adults, and individuals with developmental difficulties
Social Work in Mental Health
Social Work in Mental Health brings together a range of scholarly reflections and writings on the different roles of a social worker in the field of mental health. It provides a holistic picture to introduce readers to the wider issues of social work and mental health practice. Contexts and Theories for Practice begins with an exploration of the context of social work practice. It offers opportunities to consider global perspectives on mental health, as well as relevant historical, contemporary and emerging trends and ideologies from around the world. The book provides a detailed discussion on the theoretical and practice frameworks that are based on social justice and human rights perspectives. It not only provides an overview of intervention strategies but also directs readers’ attention to an alternative way of addressing mental health issues. The author presents a cross-cultural and global perspective of mental health, but with specific references to India and Asia. He also addresses some of the recent debates in recovery, partnerships and strengths-based practices. The book has been specially designed for social work students, human service professionals and mental health practitioners and academicians.
Foundations of Social Work Research
The text Foundations of Social Work Research covers social work research comprehensively and appropriately. Across twelve chapters, the author begins by introducing research, the science behind research and how this translates to the profession of social work, and the importance of understanding research as it applies to social work practice across all system levels. In addition to comprehensive chapters, the text contains a glossary, practice behavior indices, bibliography, derivative notes, and links by each chapter.
Graduate Research Methods in Social Work
We designed our book to help graduate social work students through every step of the research process, from conceptualization to dissemination. Our textbook centers cultural humility, information literacy, pragmatism, and an equal emphasis on quantitative and qualitative methods. It includes extensive content on literature reviews, cultural bias and respectfulness, and qualitative methods, in contrast to traditionally used commercial textbooks in social work research.
Scientific Inquiry in Social Work
As an introductory textbook for social work students studying research methods, this book guides students through the process of creating a research project. Students will learn how to discover a researchable topic that is interesting to them, examine scholarly literature, formulate a proper research question, design a quantitative or qualitative study to answer their question, carry out the design, interpret quantitative or qualitative results, and disseminate their findings to a variety of audiences. Examples are drawn from the author's practice and research experience, as well as topical articles from the literature.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.