Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Books Not Available at Reed Library
Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
Searching for Books
ReedSearch is often the best place to start your search for books. Below you will find a small selection of items that exist in our physical and digital collections, as well as links to open access collections.
Books By Type
Computer Science: a Very Short Introduction Over the past sixty years, the spectacular growth of the technologies associated with the computer is visible for all to see and experience. Yet, the science underpinning this technology is less visible and little understood outside the professional computer science community. As a scientificdiscipline, computer science stands alongside the likes of molecular biology and cognitive science as one of the most significant new sciences of the post Second World War era.In this Very Short Introduction, Subrata Dasgupta sheds light on these lesser known areas and considers the conceptual basis of computer science. Discussing algorithms, programming, and sequential and parallel processing, he considers emerging modern ideas such as biological computing and cognitivemodelling, challenging the idea of computer science as a science of the artificial.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: Very Short Introductions VSI 466
The Computing Universe: A Journey through a Revolution Computers now impact almost every aspect of our lives, from our social interactions to the safety and performance of our cars. How did this happen in such a short time? And this is just the beginning. In this book, Tony Hey and Gyuri Pápay lead us on a journey from the early days of computers in the 1930s to the cutting-edge research of the present day that will shape computing in the coming decades. Along the way, they explain the ideas behind hardware, software, algorithms, Moore's Law, the birth of the personal computer, the Internet and the Web, the Turing Test, Jeopardy's Watson, World of Warcraft, spyware, Google, Facebook and quantum computing. This book also introduces the fascinating cast of dreamers and inventors who brought these great technological developments into every corner of the modern world. This exciting and accessible introduction will open up the universe of computing to anyone who has ever wondered where his or her smartphone came from.
Call Number: QA76.17 .H49 2015
Cracking the Digital Ceiling: Women in Computing Around the World Is computing just for men? Are men and women suited to different careers? This collection of global perspectives challenges these commonly held western views, perpetuated as explanations for women's low participation in computing. By providing an insider look at how different cultures worldwide impact the experiences of women in computing, the book introduces readers to theories and evidence that support the need to turn to environmental factors, rather than innate potential, to understand what determines women's participation in this growing field. This wakeup call to examine the obstacles and catalysts within various cultures and environments will help those interested in improving the situation understand where they might look to make changes that could impact women's participation in their classrooms, companies, and administrations. Computer scientists, STEM educators, students of all disciplines, professionals in the tech industry, leaders in gender equity, anthropologists, and policy makers will all benefit from reading this book.
Call Number: QA76.9.W65 C7 2019
Foundation Mathematics for Computer Science John Vince describes a range of mathematical topics to provide a foundation for an undergraduate course in computer science, starting with a review of number systems and their relevance to digital computers, and finishing with differential and integral calculus. Readers will find that the author's visual approach will greatly improve their understanding as to why certain mathematical structures exist, together with how they are used in real-world applications. Each chapter includes full-colour illustrations to clarify the mathematical descriptions, and in some cases, equations are also coloured to reveal vital algebraic patterns. The numerous worked examples will consolidate comprehension of abstract mathematical concepts. Foundation Mathematics for Computer Science covers number systems, algebra, logic, trigonometry, coordinate systems, determinants, vectors, matrices, geometric matrix transforms, differential and integral calculus, and reveals the names of the mathematicians behind such inventions. During this journey, John Vince touches upon more esoteric topics such as quaternions, octonions, Grassmann algebra, Barycentric coordinates, transfinite sets and prime numbers. Whether you intend to pursue a career in programming, scientific visualisation, systems design, or real-time computing, you should find the author's literary style refreshingly lucid and engaging, and prepare you for more advanced texts.
Call Number: QA76.9.M35 V565 2015
A People's History of Computing in the United States Silicon Valley gets all the credit for digital creativity, but this account of the pre-PC world, when computing meant more than using mature consumer technology, challenges that triumphalism. The invention of the personal computer liberated users from corporate mainframes and brought computing into homes. But throughout the 1960s and 1970s a diverse group of teachers and students working together on academic computing systems conducted many of the activities we now recognize as personal and social computing. Their networks were centered in New Hampshire, Minnesota, and Illinois, but they connected far-flung users. Joy Rankin draws on detailed records to explore how users exchanged messages, programmed music and poems, fostered communities, and developed computer games like The Oregon Trail. These unsung pioneers helped shape our digital world, just as much as the inventors, garage hobbyists, and eccentric billionaires of Palo Alto. By imagining computing as an interactive commons, the early denizens of the digital realm seeded today's debate about whether the internet should be a public utility and laid the groundwork for the concept of net neutrality. Rankin offers a radical precedent for a more democratic digital culture, and new models for the next generation of activists, educators, coders, and makers.
Call Number: QA76.17 .R365 2018
Adventures in Computer Science: From Classical Bits to Quantum Bits The main focus of this textbook is the basic unit of information and the way in which our understanding of this has evolved over time. In particular the author covers concepts related to information, classical computing, logic, reversible computing, quantum mechanics, quantum computing, thermodynamics and some artificial intelligence and biology, all approached from the viewpoint of computer sciences. The book begins by asking the following nontrivial question: what is a bit? The author then discusses logic, logic gates, reversible computing and reversible architectures, and the concept of disorder. He then tries to establish the relationship between three essential questions that justify quantum approaches in computer sciences: the energy required to perform a real-life computation, the size of current processors, and the reversibility of quantum operations. Based on these concepts, the author establishes the conditions that justify the use of quantum techniques for certain kinds of computational tasks, and he uses formal descriptions and formal argumentations to introduce key quantum mechanical concepts and approaches. The rest of the book is formally different, focusing on practical issues, including a discussion of remarkable quantum algorithms in a treatment based on quantum circuit theory. The book is valuable for graduate students in computer science, and students of other disciplines who are engaged with physical models of information and computing.
Applied Computer Science The second edition of this introductory text includes an expanded treatment of collisions, agent-based models, and insight into underlying system dynamics. Lab assignments are accessible and carefully sequenced for maximum impact. Students are able to write their own code in building solutions and Python is used to minimize any language barrier for beginners. Problems involving visualization are emphasized throughout with interactive graphics, image files, and plots of generated data. This text aims to establish a core learning experience around which any number of other learning objectives could be included. The text is presented in eight chapters where each chapter contains three problems and each problem develops five specific lab assignments, plus additional questions and discussion. This approach seeks to leverage the immediate feedback provided by the computer to help students as they work toward writing code creatively. All labs will scale to available hardware and free software could be used for the entire course, if desired. Lab assignments have been used since 2011 at the #1 ranked U.S. high school. It is an ideal textbook for high school courses that prepare students for advanced placement tests.
Computer and Information Science This edited book presents scientific results of the 15th IEEE/ACIS International Conference on Computer and Information Science (ICIS 2016) which was held on June 26- 29 in Okayama, Japan. The aim of this conference was to bring together researchers and scientists, businessmen and entrepreneurs, teachers, engineers, computer users, and students to discuss the numerous fields of computer science and to share their experiences and exchange new ideas and information in a meaningful way. Research results about all aspects (theory, applications and tools) of computer and information science, and to discuss the practical challenges encountered along the way and the solutions adopted to solve them. The conference organizers selected the best papers from those papers accepted for presentation at the conference. The papers were chosen based on review scores submitted by members of the program committee, and underwent further rigorous rounds of review. This publication captures 12 of the conference's most promising papers, and we impatiently await the important contributions that we know these authors will bring to the field of computer and information science.
Principles of Computer Science Provides students with an overview of the fundamentals of this [computer science]. Designed to provide users with a solid, easy-to-understand background to the key terms and subject matter of computer science
Computer Networks: A Systems Approach Suppose you want to build a computer network, one that has the potential to grow to global proportions and to support applications as diverse as teleconferencing, video on demand, electronic commerce, distributed computing, and digital libraries. What available technologies would serve as the underlying building blocks, and what kind of software architecture would you design to integrate these building blocks into an effective communication service? Answering this question is the overriding goal of this book—to describe the available building materials and then to show how they can be used to construct a network from the ground up.
Computer Science I This textbook covers the traditional introductory Computer Science I topics but takes a unique approach. Topics are covered in a language-agnostic manner in the first part with supplemental parts that cover the same concepts in a specific language. The current version covers C, Java, and PHP. This textbook as been used in several Computer Science I sections over multiple years at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Think Java: How To Think Like a Computer Scientist Currently used at many colleges, universities, and high schools, this hands-on introduction to computer science is ideal for people with little or no programming experience. The goal of this concise book is not just to teach you Java, but to help you think like a computer scientist. You'll learn how to program--a useful skill by itself--but you'll also discover how to use programming as a means to an end. Authors Allen Downey and Chris Mayfield start with the most basic concepts and gradually move into topics that are more complex, such as recursion and object-oriented programming. Each brief chapter covers the material for one week of a college course and includes exercises to help you practice what you've learned. Learn one concept at a time: tackle complex topics in a series of small steps with examples Understand how to formulate problems, think creatively about solutions, and write programs clearly and accurately Determine which development techniques work best for you, and practice the important skill of debugging Learn relationships among input and output, decisions and loops, classes and methods, strings and arrays Work on exercises involving word games, graphics, puzzles, and playing cards
Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford at email@example.com.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • firstname.lastname@example.org