Reed Library: History: Databases

Databases By Type

Subscription Databases
Open Access Databases

Academic Search Complete
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
History Commons (formerly Accessible Archives)
Contains a wealth of historical documents such as African American Newspapers (1827-1902), American County Histories, Civil War Diaries, as well as such resources as Godey's Ladies Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Lily, The Virginia Gazette, The Liberator, and much more.
America: History & Life
Locate research articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Citations, summaries, and links full text articles are available, with coverage dating back to 1954.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
American National Biography
Locate full text biographies for over 17,400 American figures. Includes images.
Congressional Record
Contains the Annals of Congress (1789-1824) and Congressional Record (to 2001).
Historical Abstracts
A guide to content covering the history of the world - excluding North America - from prehistory to the present.
Humanities Source
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities, with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works, and reviews.
Indigenous Peoples Of North America
Provides access to a collection of robust and diverse sources, including indigenous language materials, from both American and Canadian institutions focusing on the culture and heritage of indigenous people.
JSTOR
Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.
Military and Intelligence Database
Includes scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Subject areas include governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to over 500 titles covering the entire nineteenth century (1800 - 1899) with special emphasis on westward expansion, the American Civil War, African Americans, Native Americans, Women's Rights Groups, Labor Groups, and more.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
This standard source indexes popular publications, focusing on U.S. culture and history from 1890-1982.
The Times (London) Digital Archive
Provides access to full-text facsimiles of The Times (London) from 1785-2019.
U.S. History Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
War and Terrorism Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.
Women and Social Movements in the U.S.
Contains primary documents and images pertaining to women and social movements, 1600 to present.
World History Collection
Includes scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers, offering balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Digital Commons: History
Database that provides access to full-text sources, including peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Digital Public Library - Primary Source Sets
The Digital Public Library of America includes photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, artwork, and government documents from museums and libraries nationwide.
HathiTrust
Open access digital library offering access to over 17 million digitized items, including classic historical texts.
National Archives
A repository of documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government.
New York Heritage
The New York Heritage project includes digitized issues of historical newspapers from across New York State.
Project Gutenberg
An online repository that provides free access to ebooks in the public domain, including historically significant publications and historical documents and accounts.

History: Databases

Featured Database: American National Biography

Databases By Type