History: Primary Sources

Contains a wealth of historical documents such as African American Newspapers (1827-1902), American County Histories, Civil War Diaries, as well as such resources as Godey's Ladies Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Lily, The Virginia Gazette, The Liberator, and much more.

EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

Contains the Annals of Congress (1789-1824) and Congressional Record (to 2001).

The full-text, full-image edition of Harper's Weekly, a Civil War-era magazine, with coverage from 1857-1865.

Provides access to a collection of robust and diverse sources, including indigenous language materials, from both American and Canadian institutions focusing on the culture and heritage of indigenous people.

Provides access to over 500 titles covering the entire nineteenth century (1800 - 1899) with special emphasis on westward expansion, the American Civil War, African Americans, Native Americans, Women's Rights Groups, Labor Groups, and more.

This standard source indexes popular publications, focusing on U.S. culture and history from 1890-1982.

Provides access to full-text facsimiles of The Times (London) from 1785-2019.

Contains primary documents and images pertaining to women and social movements, 1600 to present.

This collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.

This collection comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education.

This collection provides unique documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp commandants and camp personnel.

This collection provides access to the documents of The Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR), which was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which President Roosevelt had called to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.

This collection consists of original documents collected by Diamant over a period of approximately 30 years dealing primarily with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance.

This publication comprises two collections related to Holocaust Era Assets. The first includes Records Regarding Bank Investigations and Records Relating to Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, from the records of the Office of the Finance Division and Finance Advisor in the Office of Military Government, U.S. Zone(Germany) (OMGUS), during the period 1945-1949. The second comprises Records Regarding Intelligence and Financial Investigations, 1945-1949, from the Records of the Financial Intelligence Group, Office of the Finance Adviser.

This collection reproduces the Tagebuch or journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945. The journal is in typed format, in chronological order, covering all aspect of Generalgouvernment (GG) administration from its seat in the royal Wawel castle in Krakau (Kraków). The entries reflect administrative matters, rather than the spontaneous thoughts or feelings usually found in a diary.

This collection consists of index cards listing the name, date and place of birth, occupation and last address of Jews whose German citizenship was revoked in accordance with the "Nuremberg Laws" of 1935, including Jews from Germany, Austria and Czech Bohemia.

This collection provides access to documents of SAFEHAVEN, which was the code name of a project of the Foreign Economic Administration, in cooperation with the State Department and the military services, to block the flow of German capital across neutral boundaries and to identify and observe all German overseas investments.

Testaments to the Holocaust is the online publication of the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-semitic activities of the German Nazi Party.

This collection comprises documents from a wide variety of sources, including the Gestapo, local police and government offices, Reich ministries, businesses, etc., pertaining to Jewish communities.

This collection provides a wealth of unique correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican's role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope's personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews.