Reed Library: English Composition: Databases

Databases By Type

Subscription Databases
Open Access Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, and linguistics.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
A resource for full-text literary works, including poems, short stories, novels, essays, plays and speeches.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for general reference publications, primary source documents, and an image collection of over 453,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Full text articles on social issues. Includes topic overviews, primary sources, statistics, photographs, and podcasts.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.

Digital Public Library of America
Digital repository that makes "millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience."
Google Books
Launched by Google, this digital repository grants free access to a huge and diverse selection of texts, including many literary works.
HathiTrust
Open access digital library offering access to over 17 million digitized items, including countless pieces of classic literature in the public domain.
Internet Archive: Text Archive
With over 20 million ebooks in its collection, the Internet Archive is a fast-growing database that provides access to freely downloadable texts. Its collections include many classic literary works.
Project Gutenberg
An online repository that provides free access to ebooks in the public domain, including classic literature.
Representative Poetry Online
Digital repository that contains hundreds of poems, from periods ranging from the Old English period to the current day.
Writing Commons
This database operates as an encyclopedia focused on writing, which publishes articles and content targeted towards writers and researchers from the college level up.

Database Tutorials

Reed Library offers a number of video tutorials for popular databases in our collection.

English Composition: Databases

Featured Database: Points of View Reference Center

Databases By Type

Database Tutorials