Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
ReedSearch is often the best place to start your search for books. Below you will find a small selection of items that exist in our physical and digital collections, as well as links to open access collections.
Counseling the Culturally Diverse: Theory and Practice by
This fully revised, 8th edition of the market-leading textbook on multicultural counseling comprehensively covers the most recent research and theoretical formulations that introduce and analyze emerging important multicultural topical developments. It examines the concept of "cultural humility" as part of the major characteristics of cultural competence in counselor education and practice; roles of white allies in multicultural counseling and in social justice counseling; and the concept of "minority stress" and its implications in work with marginalized populations. The book also reviews and introduces the most recent research on LGBTQ issues, and looks at major research developments in the manifestation, dynamics, and impact of microaggressions.
The Cambridge Handbook of Anxiety and Related Disorders
This Handbook surveys existing descriptive and experimental approaches to the study of anxiety and related disorders, emphasizing the provision of empirically-guided suggestions for treatment.
Evidence-Based Practice in Action by
A growing number of empirically supported treatments are available to mental health practitioners, yet evidence-based practice requires knowledge and skills that are often overlooked in clinical training. This authoritative reference and text grounds the reader in the concepts, rationale, and methods of evidence-based practice.
Counseling Diversity in Context by
In Counseling Diversity in Context, Jason Brown addresses this question, exploring the possibilities and limitations of counseling, as well as the forces that help and hinder communities, while demonstrating the need for alternatives to mainstream psychological approaches. Divided into two parts, the book provides a structural understanding of the context in which cross-cultural counseling takes place, and a model, informed by intersectional analysis, to support counselors in playing a more activist role in helping to change that context. Brown encourages counselors to not only understand the social problems that contribute to personal challenges faced by clients but to also raise awareness and promote change.
High Risk Clients by
High Risk Clients provides a comprehensive and concise resource that you will turn to time after time to effectively intervene and keep clients safe.
The International Handbook of Black Community Mental Health by
This is the first international handbook on Black community mental health, focusing on key issues including stereotypes in Mental health, misdiagnoses, and inequalities/discrimination around access, services and provisions.
Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health by
The Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health is a down-to-earth, informative, and affirming manual for mental health clinicians working with patients of diverse gender and sexual identities. In recent years, people have begun to grapple with these issues in a healthier, more public way, and mental health practitioners must be prepared to meet their patients with the knowledge, understanding, and grasp of the context in which patients live their lives.
Social (in)Justice and Mental Health by
Social justice entails equal access to liberties, rights, and opportunities, as well as care for the least advantaged members of society. The paradigm-shifting new book Social (In)Justice and Mental Health addresses the ways in which society's failure to deliver on that humane ideal harms people with mental illness. The editors, at the forefront of the effort to make psychiatry responsive to critiques of institutional racism, argue that in the United States, a perfect storm of unfair and unjust policies and practices, bolstered by deep-seated beliefs about the inferiority of some groups, has led to a small number of people having tremendous advantages, freedoms, and opportunities, while a growing number are denied those liberties and rights. Mental health clinicians bear a special responsibility to be aware of these structural inequities, to question their own biases, to intervene on behalf of patients and their families, and to advocate for mental health equity. To that end, the book provides a framework for thinking about why these inequities exist and persist and provides clinicians with a road map to address these inequalities as they relate to racism, the criminal justice system, and other systems and diagnoses. The book is hands-on, with topics mental health clinicians will find timely and relevant: * The role of social injustice and specific diagnoses and conditions, including substance use disorders, schizophrenia, personality disorders, and child trauma, is covered. For example, research has shown that white psychiatrists are more likely to over diagnose schizophrenia in Black patients, and this diagnostic bias may partly account for Black men being involuntarily committed to mental institutions in higher numbers.* The authors advocate for research that prioritizes the needs of participants and communities, rather than the needs of institutions, and focuses on structural, not individual-level, differences.* Accompaniment, an important strategy for infusing social justice into clinical practice, is described and modeled. This process of radical empathy--of trying to minimize power dynamics in clinical relationships by listening, witnessing, and advocating with patients--is critically important in confronting mental health inequities. * The inadequacy of current medical and mental health education and training in countering the powerful forces of social injustice in mental health is discussed in detail. The authors emphasize that change requires adopting an active practice of self-study and self-reflection, and accordingly, a list of self-study resources, consisting of books, documentaries, podcasts, and TED talks, is provided to further the reader's knowledge and awareness. * Of further assistance are the chapter-ending "Questions for Self-Reflection," which challenge mental health clinicians to examine their own attitudes and preconceived ideas about race, poverty, disabilities, and privilege. Social (In)Justice and Mental Health addresses the context in which mental health care is delivered, strategies for raising consciousness in the mental health profession, and ways to improve treatment while redressing injustice. Clinicians owe it to themselves, their patients, and their profession to read--and heed--this important work.
Science over Stigma by
In Science Over Stigma, Dr. Morehead argues that it is time for a full-throated defense of mental health treatment, and that it falls to everyone, from medical and mental health professionals to the general public, to advocate on its behalf. In accessible terms this book sets forth a definition of mental illness, candidly discussing what is known and what remains unknown, and then describes its prevalence, social and physical consequences, and a range of treatments. Each chapter includes advocacy tips that help readers translate the information they've learned into the means for constructive dialogue.
Telemental Health : The Essential Guide to Providing Successful Online Therapy by
Virtual care is the new normal. Are you prepared? In this comprehensive guide, therapist and certified telemental health trainer Joni Gilbertson discusses the entire virtual treatment process, from intake to termination (and beyond). Drawing from her own successful online practice, in addition to training thousands of professionals on telemental health, Gilbertson's straightforward, conversation style allows clinicians to see themselves in her case examples and clinical decision making. Designed with both the seasoned and newly minted therapist in mind, this guidebook provides a map to the essentials of a successful online practice, including: Platforms that are both HIPAA-compliant and user-friendly An ethical roadmap for navigating dilemmas common to virtual care Up-to-date information on virtual care best practices and laws Must-have risk management safeguards for your license, your practice, and your client Customizable, legally sound forms, including informed consent, release of information, emergency plans, and more.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
