Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
ReedSearch is often the best place to start your search for books. Below you will find a small selection of items that exist in our physical and digital collections, as well as links to open access collections.
Barron's LSAT
This must-have review book thoroughly prepares law school candidates for the all-important Law School Admission Test.This must-have review book thoroughly prepares law school candidates for the all-important Law School Admission Test.
Law in American History
In the first of the three volumes of his projected comprehensive narrative history of the role of law in America from the colonial years through the twentieth century, G. Edward White takes up the central themes of American legal history from the earliest European settlements through the Civil War.
Mass Media Law
In its twentieth edition, Mass Media Law comprehensively examines the principles of media law, First Amendment freedoms of speech, and press and assembly. This timely revised edition is extremely pertinent in this era of both "fake news" and open hostility by some politicians toward the press. Students are offered an updated look at the ever-changing landscape of media law. Led by a team of preeminent scholars in the field of mass media law: Clay Calvert, Dan Kozlowski and Derigan Silver, this new edition is engaging, readable, and entertaining.
Environmental Law: a Very Short Introduction
This Very Short Introduction provides an overview of the main features of environmental law, and discusses how environmental law deals with multiple interests, socio-political conflicts, and the limits of knowledge about the environment.
Habeas Corpus: a Very Short Introduction
The concept of habeas corpus--literally, to receive and hold the body--empowers courts to protect the right of prisoners to know the basis on which they are being held by the government and grant prisoners their freedom when they are held unlawfully. It is no wonder that habeas corpus has long been considered essential to freedom. For nearly eight hundred years, the writ of habeas corpus has limited the executive in the Anglo-American legal tradition from imprisoning citizens and subjects with impunity. Writing in the eighteenth century, the widely influential English jurist and commentator William Blackstone declared the writ a "bulwark" of personal liberty. Across the Atlantic, in the leadup to the American Revolution, the Continental Congress declared that the habeas privilege and the right to trial by jury were among the most important rights in a free society.
Human Rights: a Very Short Introduction
This Very Short Introduction, in its second edition, brings the issue of human rights up to date, considering the current controversies surrounding the movement. Discussing torture and arbitrary detention in the context of counter terrorism, Andrew Clapham also considers new challenges to human rights in the context of privacy, equality and the right to health.
Law: a Very Short Introduction
In this Very Short Introduction Raymond Wacks introduces the major branches of the law, describing what lawyers do, and how courts operate, and considers the philosophy of law and its pursuit of justice, freedom, and equality.
The U. S. Constitution: a Very Short Introduction
Though the U.S. Constitution was ratified in 1788, its impact on our lives is as recent as today's news. Claims and counterclaims about the constitutionality of governmental actions are a habit of American politics. This document, which its framers designed to limit power, often has made political conflict inevitable. It also has accommodated and legitimized the political and social changes of a vibrant, powerful democratic nation. A product of history's first modern revolution, the Constitution embraced a new formula for government: it restrained power on behalf of liberty, but it also granted power to promote and protect liberty.
Oxford Dictionary of Law
This bestselling dictionary is an authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. It contains over 4,800 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system.
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
What is involved in estate planning? What can I legally do if I have noisy neighbors? What are the consequences of an expired visa? The Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Containing 276 articles, the Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law includes: brief descriptions of each issues historical background, covering important statutes and cases, profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations, details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state, and comprehensive bibliographies, including print and Web resources and lists of relevant organizations.
Electronic Evidence
In this updated edition of the well-established practitioner text, Stephen Mason and Daniel Seng have brought together a team of experts in the field to provide an exhaustive treatment of electronic evidence.
Legal Literacy: An Introduction to Legal Studies
To understand how the legal system works, students must consider the law in terms of its structures, processes, language, and modes of thought and argument--in short, they must become literate in the field. Legal Literacy fulfills this aim by providing a foundational understanding of key concepts such as legal personhood, jurisdiction, and precedent, and by introducing students to legal research and writing skills. Examples of cases, statutes, and other legal materials support these concepts.
Sources of American Law: An Introduction to Legal Research
At its most basic definition the practice of law comprises conducting research to find relevant rules of law and then applying those rules to the specific set of circumstances faced by a client. However, in American law, the legal rules to be applied derive from myriad sources, complicating the process and making legal research different from other sorts of research. This text introduces first-year law students to the new kind of research required to study and to practice law.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.