Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
ReedSearch is often the best place to start your search for books. Below you will find a small selection of items that exist in our physical and digital collections, as well as links to open access collections.
ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription
ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription is the flagship title from the American College of Sports Medicine, the prestigious organization that sets the standards for the exercise profession. This critical handbook delivers scientifically based standards on exercise testing and prescription to the certification candidate, the professional, and the student. This manual gives succinct summaries of recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy and diseased patients The tenth edition reflects some crucial and exciting changes, making the content necessary for effective study and practice. New pre-exercise health screening recommendations are critical to helping more of the population begin a safe, healthy physical activity program without consulting a physician. New and expanded information on the risks of sedentary behavior, clinical exercise testing and interpretation, high intensity interval training, musculoskeletal injury risk, fitness testing protocols and norms, and an expansion of the principles of health behavior change are included. Additionally, significant reorganization of content will help you reach the information you need quickly. This manual is an essential resource for all exercise professionals, as well as other health professionals who may council patients on exercise including physicians, nurses, physician's assistants, physical and occupational therapists, dieticians, and health care administrators.
Bad Advice
Science doesn't speak for itself. Neck-deep in work that can be messy and confounding and naïve in the ways of public communication, scientists are often unable to package their insights into the neat narratives that the public requires. Enter celebrities, advocates, lobbyists, and the funders behind them, who take advantage of scientists' reluctance to provide easy answers, flooding the media with misleading or incorrect claims about health risks. Amid this onslaught of spurious information, Americans are more confused than ever about what's good for them and what isn't. In Bad Advice, Paul A. Offit shares hard-earned wisdom on the dos and don'ts of battling misinformation. For the past twenty years, Offit has been on the front lines in the fight for sound science and public heath. Stepping into the media spotlight as few scientists have done--such as being one of the first to speak out against conspiracy theories linking vaccines to autism--he found himself in the crosshairs of powerful groups intent on promoting pseudoscience. Bad Advice discusses science and its adversaries: not just the manias stoked by slick charlatans and their miracle cures but also corrosive, dangerous ideologies such as Holocaust and climate-change denial. Written with wit and passion, Offit's often humorous guide to taking on quack experts and self-appointed activists is a must-read for any American disturbed by the uptick in politicized attacks on science.
Human Rights Violations in Medicine
The ultimate manual for medical student and physician self-defense-a pocket-guide for surviving medical training and practice without dying by suicide so you can love your life as a physician!
Science of Addiction
A leading addictions specialist presents information about the neurobiology of drug and alcohol addictions and how individuals with addictions respond to various therapies. The strong focus on the most commonly addictive drugs -- alcohol, nicotine, cocaine, heroin -- as well as others, ensures wide coverage of this issue.
Emergency Medical Services
Emergency Medical Services: Clinical Practice and Systems Oversight is the official textbook of the National Association of EMS Physicians(tm) (NAEMSP(tm)) National EMS Medical Directors Course and Practicum(tm). Now paired with a companion website featuring self-assessment exercises, audio and video clips of EMS best practices in action, and more, this essential study aid guides students through the core knowledge they need to successfully complete their training and begin their careers as EMS physicians. Emergency Medical Services: Clinical Practice and Systems Oversight consists of: Volume 1: Clinical Aspects of EMS Volume 2: Medical Oversight of EMS Companion website featuring supportive self-assessment exercises, audio and video clips
Medical Aspects of Disability for the Rehabilitation Professionals
The fifth edition of this landmark volume has been substantially updated and expanded to encompass an abundance of innovative rehabilitation research supported by changing technology and new research methodologies. Written for rehabilitation practitioners, researchers, and students, it distills crucial new information regarding aspects of disability pertaining to medical conditions commonly encountered in rehabilitation settings. The fifth edition addresses new topics at the forefront of medical rehabilitation and disability from clinical, functional, and psychological perspectives, including traumatic brain injury, stroke and spinal cord injury, limb deficiency, organ transplantation, geriatric rehabilitation, and new and technology-based rehabilitation research. The book delivers new findings about social work in physical medicine, complementary and alternative treatments, trends in treatment delivery and payment systems, relevant legislation, and telerehabilitation. New chapter authors—noted authorities in their fields—address rheumatic diseases, stroke, rehabilitation nursing, research directions, and integrative medicine, among other topics. The text continues to be the only guide to medical aspects of disability for nonphysician rehabilitation professionals and other health care providers outside of rehabilitation medicine. It serves as a comprehensive guide on what to expect and how to manage each medical issue, causative agents, classification, pain management, psychological factors, and more.
Medical Practice Variations
This title deals with internationally documented variations in medical practice and health service that exist across countries as well as regions across a specific country. Such variations raise critical concerns about the quality, equity and efficiency of health care resources across the world. Health services researchers have long been aware of large variations in the use of medical care across regions and medical providers. In the 1930s, the British pediatrician J.A. Glover observed that the rates of tonsillectomy in British schoolchildren varied widely, depending on the district where the students lived and the doctors who examined them. This volume provides a contextual landscape for the study of health care utilization through the lens of medical practice variations. It is grounded in the pioneering work by medical care epidemiologist, Dr. John Wennberg, who revealed wide variations in elective surgical rates across small areas in the U.S. and his findings that these variations were generally not explained by differences in population illness rates or patient preferences but rather, there were strong associations between supply of health care resources, such as hospital beds and physicians and health care utilization. This volume introduces the concept of medical practice variations and its early history, outlines established concepts and frameworks, with an overview of methods used to understand the variations in medical care . It makes the case for outcomes research in determining what works in health care and policy reforms to rationalize how care is delivered. Each chapter synthesizes the current published literature in the field and covers a description of medical practice variations in the area, determinants of these variations and outcomes. It outlines the most current research on specific types of utilization such as inpatient care, emergency services, elective surgery, primary care, obstetric and gynaecological care, mental health care and end-of-life care, among others. Studies of variation in condition-specific care focus on common conditions such as acute myocardial infarction, congestive heart failure, stroke, diabetes and procedures such as cancer surgery and joint replacement. Special topics include health care spending and quality, shared decision making and disparities.
Understanding Medical Education
Written by leading experts in the field, Understanding Medical Education provides a comprehensive resource of the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice. This authoritative and accessible reference is designed to meet the needs of all those working in medical education from undergraduate education through postgraduate training to continuing professional development.
Clinical Trials in Ovarian Cancer
Collecting and synthesizing research findings from a wide array of medical journal articles and book chapters, Clinical Trials in Ovarian Cancer provides physicians with an invaluable resource. Gynecologic oncologist Christine S. Walsh systematically outlines each of the seminal Phase III trials that have shaped the treatment of ovarian cancers, detailing the rationale for the trial, the patient population studied, treatment delivery methods, efficacy, toxicity, and trial conclusions. She provides a clear overview of established treatments, as well as still-controversial experimental approaches.
Health in Hard Times
Available Open Access under CC-BY-NC license. How has austerity impacted on health and wellbeing in the UK? Health in Hard Times explores its repercussions for social inequalities in health. The result of five years of research, the book draws on a case study of Stockton-on-Tees in the north-east of England, home to some of the starkest health divides. By placing individual and local experiences in the context of national budget cuts and welfare reforms, it provides a holistic perspective on countrywide inequalities. Edited by a leading expert, this is an important book for anyone seeking to understand one of today's most significant determinants of health.
The Impact of Food Bioactives on Health
"Infogest" (Improving Health Properties of Food by Sharing our Knowledge on the Digestive Process) is an EU COST action/network in the domain of Food and Agriculture that will last for 4 years from April 4, 2011. Infogest aims at building an open international network of institutes undertaking multidisciplinary basic research on food digestion gathering scientists from different origins (food scientists, gut physiologists, nutritionists...). The network gathers 70 partners from academia, corresponding to a total of 29 countries. The three main scientific goals are: Identify the beneficial food components released in the gut during digestion; Support the effect of beneficial food components on human health; Promote harmonization of currently used digestion models Infogest meetings highlighted the need for a publication that would provide researchers with an insight into the advantages and disadvantages associated with the use of respective in vitro and ex vivo assays to evaluate the effects of foods and food bioactives on health. Such assays are particularly important in situations where a large number of foods/bioactives need to be screened rapidly and in a cost effective manner in order to ultimately identify lead foods/bioactives that can be the subject of in vivo assays. The book is an asset to researchers wishing to study the health benefits of their foods and food bioactives of interest and highlights which in vitro/ex vivo assays are of greatest relevance to their goals, what sort of outputs/data can be generated and, as noted above, highlight the strengths and weaknesses of the various assays. It is also an important resource for undergraduate students in the 'food and health' arena.
Innovative Medicine
This book is devoted to innovative medicine, comprising the proceedings of the Uehara Memorial Foundation Symposium 2014. It remains extremely rare for the findings of basic research to be developed into clinical applications, and it takes a long time for the process to be achieved. The task of advancing the development of basic research into clinical reality lies with translational science, yet the field seems to struggle to find a way to move forward. To create innovative medical technology, many steps need to be taken: development and analysis of optimal animal models of human diseases, elucidation of genomic and epidemiological data, and establishment of "proof of concept". There is also considerable demand for progress in drug research, new surgical procedures, and new clinical devices and equipment. While the original research target may be rare diseases, it is also important to apply those findings more broadly to common diseases. The book covers a wide range of topics and is organized into three complementary parts. The first part is basic research for innovative medicine, the second is translational research for innovative medicine, and the third is new technology for innovative medicine. This book helps to understand innovative medicine and to make progress in its realization.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.