Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Database: Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center pulls together dependable reference sources and provides in-depth coverage on 2500 of the most studied authors, making it a good first stop for literary research.
Databases By Type
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, and linguistics.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Integrates Literature Resources from Gale and Literature Criticism Online into a single research environment.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities, with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works, and reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Covers writers (novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and others) with in-depth material for the 2500 most studied authors. Includes standard reference sources: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism (select), and the Encyclopedia of Literature.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
A resource for full-text literary works, including poems, short stories, novels, essays, plays and speeches.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, book chapters, and dissertation citations on literature, language, linguistics, dramatic arts, and the practice of teaching language.
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Digital Public Library of America
Digital repository that makes "millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience."
Launched by Google, this digital repository grants free access to a huge and diverse selection of texts, including many literary works.
Open access digital library offering access to over 17 million digitized items, including countless pieces of classic literature in the public domain.
Internet Archive Text Archive
With over 20 million ebooks in its collection, the Internet Archive is a fast-growing database that provides access to freely downloadable texts. Its collections include many classic literary works.
An online repository that provides free access to ebooks in the public domain, including classic literature.
Representative Poetry Online
Digital repository that contains hundreds of poems, from periods ranging from the Old English period to the current day.
Reed Library offers a number of video tutorials for popular databases in our collection.
Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • email@example.com