Reed Library: Anthropology: Databases

Databases By Type

Academic Search Complete
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
Humanities Source
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities, with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works, and reviews.
JSTOR
Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.
Social Sciences Full Text
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides journal articles for all areas of sociology and related subject areas, with coverage for some journals dating back to 1895.

American Museum of Natural History Digital Repository
Archive containing digital records from the American Museum of Natural History's research laboratory. The anthropology section includes digitized field notes, data, and other original material.
Council for the Preservation of Anthropological Records
CoPAR is a repository that provides access to a variety of archival material relating to anthropology. Additionally, it provides a directory of anthropological archives, as well as guides on anthropological manuscripts and other archival material.
Digital Archaeological Record
Established by a consortium of well-respected universities and institutions, tDAR is an archive that provides access to digital records of archaeological research data.
World Oral Literature Project
A collaboration between Yale and Cambridge, this repository seeks to preserve and provide access to oral literature from a diversity of cultures and communities around the world.
HathiTrust
Open access digital library offering access to over 17 million digitized items, including classic ethnographies and texts from pioneers of the field like Malinowski and Boas.
Project Gutenberg
An online repository that provides free access to ebooks in the public domain, including classic texts in anthropology.