Only items acquired prior to 2015 were identified for review.

This process applies only to the general circulating collection, excluding items in the Music Collection, Juvenile Collection, and Special Collections & Archives, which have different preservation and use considerations.

Any item that has not circulated since 2005 or before, meaning it has gone at least 20 years without any recorded use, has been selected for potential deselection.

Previous editions of works are often replaced by newer versions that incorporate updated research, revised content, and current best practices. In subject areas where information evolves rapidly—such as health sciences, law, and technology—older editions may contain outdated or inaccurate material that could misinform users. To ensure the collection remains current and reliable, superseded editions are typically withdrawn unless they hold demonstrable historical, archival, or scholarly value that justifies their continued inclusion.

Multi-volume works that are missing essential volumes can present significant barriers to use, limiting their research and instructional value. Incomplete sets often lead to user frustration and underutilization, particularly when key volumes are unavailable or out of print. Unless there is a strong likelihood of acquiring the missing components or the remaining volumes have standalone relevance, these sets may be deselected. This approach helps maintain a more coherent and user-friendly collection while optimizing shelf space for materials that are complete, accessible, and more likely to support current needs.

Multiple copies of the same title may be retained when demand or instructional use justifies duplication. However, when usage declines or excess copies exceed current need, the surplus may be deselected to optimize shelf space and improve collection efficiency. Reducing unnecessary duplication ensures that the collection remains responsive to user demand while creating room for new and diverse resources.