#GoOpenVA: "#GoOpenVA is a collaborative initiative that enables educational entities throughout Virginia to create, share, and access openly-licensed educational resources."
Canvas Commons: "A digital library full of educational content, Commons allows Canvas users to share learning resources with other users as well as import learning resources into a Canvas course."
GALILEO Open Learning Materials: "GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials."
IOER: "IOER offers easy-to-use, no-cost, immediate online access to education and career resources and tools for individuals, schools, and organizations."
MERLOT: "The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."
Museum Victoria Collections: "This site allows users to explore the natural sciences and humanities collections of Museums Victoria in Australia, featuring collections of zoology, geology, paleontology, history, indigenous cultures and technology."
OASIS: "OASIS currently searches open content from 99 different sources and contains 374,699 records."
OAsis: "OAsis is the Commonwealth of Learning’s online institutional repository for learning resources and publications."
OER Commons: "OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum."
Open Course Library: "The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts."
Open Library: "The eCampusOntario Open Library provides educators and learners with access to more than 500 free and openly-licensed educational resources."
OpenLearn: "Welcome to OpenLearn - the home of free learning from The Open University... Whether it’s a 60-second animated video or a 24-hour course you are after, you will find it on OpenLearn for free."
Teaching Commons: "The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world."
WiscOnline: "As a non-profit serving the private and public sectors, our products range from corporate learning solutions to free, publicly accessible instructional programs."
World Digital Library: "The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures."
B.C. Open Textbook Collection: "The B.C. Open Textbook Collection is home to a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties."
Boundless Resources: "High-quality content and resources for all your teaching needs."
Cornell Open: "Cornell Open is a global open access portal for both new and classic out-of-print titles from the distinguished catalog of Cornell University Press."
Directory of Open Access Books: "The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books... The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access..."
LibreTexts: "The LibreTexts mission is... to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources..."
Milne Open Textbooks: Previously known as Open SUNY Textbooks, "a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff."
OAPEN: "OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication."
Open Research Library: "The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books."
Open Textbook Library: "Make a difference in your students' lives with free, openly-licensed textbooks."
Open TextBookStore: "OpenTextBookStore was created by educators frustrated with the time involved in finding adoptable open textbooks, with the hope to make open textbook adoption easier for other faculty."
OpenStax: "OpenStax is a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University, and it's our mission to give every student the tools they need to be successful in the classroom."
Project Gutenberg: "Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks... You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired."
Standard Ebooks: "Standard Ebooks is a volunteer driven, not-for-profit project that produces new editions of public domain ebooks that are lovingly formatted, open source, and free."
Unglue.it: "Unglue.it is a place for individuals and institutions to join together in support of free ebooks."
Khan Academy: "We’re a nonprofit with the mission to provide a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere."
Lumen: "Discover recommended OER courses that improve learning, covering 50+ high-enrollment college subjects."
MIT OppenCourseWare: "MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity."
Saylor Academy: "Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn. We offer nearly 100 full-length courses at the college and professional levels..."
SUNY OER Services: "SUNY OER offers over 100 easily customizable courses aimed at empowering faculty choice and improving student learning. All content and platforms in this catalog are available at no cost to SUNY faculty and students."
CC Search: "CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone."
Flickr: The Commons: "The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives."
Freesound: "Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, and all sorts of bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse."
HippoCampus: "HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects."
Noun Project: "The Noun Project community is building a global visual language that is helping to unite the world... a language that allows quick and easy communication no matter who you are."
Open Peeps: "The library works like building blocks made of vector arms, legs, and emotions. You can mix these elements to create different Peeps."
Pexels: "Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Pexels license."
Smithsonian Open Access: "Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking."
Unsplash: "Unsplash is a platform powered by an amazing community that has gifted hundreds of thousands of their own photos to fuel creativity around the world."
Videvo: "Videvo offers free stock videos and motion graphics for use in any project."
Wikimedia Commons: "A collection of... freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute"
Worldmapper: "Worldmapper is a collection of world maps called cartograms, where territories are resized on each map according to the subject of interest."
NOTE: not all materials within these repositories are OER. Check the licensing of each material before use.
Directory of Open Access Journals: "this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities."
Elsevier Open Access: "All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download."
Open Access Journals: "This publisher hosts over 700+ leading-edge peer reviewed Open Access Journals and organizes over 3000 International Conferences all over the world."
Oxford Open Journals: "Oxford University Press (OUP) is mission-driven to facilitate the widest possible dissemination of high-quality research. We embrace both green and gold open access (OA) publishing to support this mission"
SpringerOpen: "The SpringerOpen portfolio has grown tremendously since its launch in 2010, so that we now offer researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals."
Art History Teaching Resources: "Art History Teaching Resources (AHTR) is a peer-populated platform for educators who use visual and material culture in their teaching practice."
Open Art Histories: "Open Art Histories (OAH) is a platform for art, art history, visual art, communication, and museum studies teachers and instructors in Canada."
Smarthistory: "Smarthistory’s free, award-winning digital content unlocks the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people..."
The Public Speaking Project: "This website offers an assortment of virtual tools to help users improve their public speaking skills."
FLOSS Manuals: "A community making great, flexible, user-friendly manuals together. We create booklets, course materials and manuals for creative, cultural and campaigning uses of Free Software."
Learn to Program: "This collection of free notes is aimed at helping the complete beginner learn the basics of computer programming using Processing, a free and easy to use program available for many platforms."
QuantEcon: "QuantEcon is a NumFOCUS fiscally sponsored project dedicated to development and documentation of modern open source computational tools for economics, econometrics, and decision making."
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository: "The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."
SNOW: "SNOW is a branch of the Inclusive Design Research Centre at OCAD University that focuses on Inclusive Education and Learning. Our goal is to provide information and training about technologies and inclusive practices both in and outside the classroom."
Engineering Technology: "This website consists of a series of 3D simulations on engineering technology topics..."
Modular Electronics Learning Project: "The Modular Electronics Learning (ModEL) project represents the culmination of nearly two decades of professional instruction in the field of industrial electricity and electronics."
The Nature of Writing: "Writing is difficult... That’s why The Nature of Writing provides instructional videos, prose explanations, and exercises–all to give you the confidence to write with style."
Writing Commons: "We are an international community of writers, teachers, and researchers ... passionate about helping writers realize their potential in work and school contexts."
Writing Spaces: "Writing Spaces is an open textbook project for college-level writing studies courses."
JHSPH OpenCourseWare: "OCW offers open materials and images from more than a hundred courses developed by the faculty of JHSPH, the world’s foremost institution of public health education and research."
Surgery 101: "‘Surgery 101’ is a series of podcasts designed to help people learn about the basics of surgery. Our website features a range of educational podcasts and videos, and there is also a Surgery 101 app and a YouTube channel."
Digital Public Library of America: "DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions."
Center for OER and Language Learning: "The overall mission .. is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings."
Global Storybooks Portal: "Global Storybooks is a free multilingual literacy resource for children and youth worldwide. Read, download, toggle, and listen to a wide variety of illustrated stories..."
The Live Lingua Project: "This project is the internet's largest collection of free public domain language learning materials. It hosts thousands of free ebooks, audios and videos for over 130 languages from around the world."
The Pathways Project: "The Pathways Project, an initiative from the Boise State University Department of World Languages, is a collaborative network of open educational resources (OER) including instructional language teaching materials and professional development created by and uniquely for Idaho’s K-16 language teachers and students."
The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction: "CALI hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 1,000 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students."
H2O: "H2O offers a platform for making and sharing open-licensed casebooks and other course materials online."
Mathispower4u: "This site provides more than 6,000 free mini-lessons and example videos with no ads. All of the videos are closed captioned and ADA compliant."
MyOpenMath: MyOpenMath is an online course management and assessment system for mathematics and other quantitative fields. MyOpenMath’s focus is providing rich algorithmically generated assessment to support the use of free, open textbooks..."
IMSLP Petrucci Music Library: "The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge."
Musictheory.net: "This site contains free lessons, exercises, and tools related to music theory."
Musopen: "We provide recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. Put simply, our mission is to set music free."
Mutopia Project: "2124 pieces of music – free to download, modify, print, copy, distribute, perform, and record – all in the Public Domain or under Creative Commons licenses..."
Open Music Theory: "Open Music Theory is an open-source, interactive, online 'text'book for college-level music theory courses."
ChemCollective: "The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests."
Clinical Anatomy: "A collection of videos, interactive modules, anatomical illustrations, interactive radiology, and other media for clinical anatomy."
FOSTER: "The FOSTER portal is an e-learning platform that brings together the best training resources addressed to those who need to know more about Open Science..."
Open Geography Education: "This website is dedicated to providing free, open curriculum and resources to anybody who is interested in our geographic world."
AnatomyTOOL: "AnatomyTOOL is a platform for learning and teaching of Anatomy that offers open, quality reviewed, anatomical learning materials and tools."
Open Social Work: A collaborative project that addresses open education, open access, open science, and the practices that support them.
The Society Pages: "The Society Pages (TSP) is an open-access social science project headquartered in the Department of Sociology at the University of Minnesota and supported by individual donors."
The Sociological Cinema: "Launched in 2010, TSC is a resource for using video and pop culture to teach and learn sociology."
IRIS Center: "The IRIS Center is a national center dedicated to improving education outcomes for all children, especially those with disabilities birth through age twenty-one, through the use of effective evidence-based practices and interventions."
Applied Math and Science Education Repository: "AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use."
Grasple: "Find high quality curated open exercises and lessons on math & stats created by the community."
NanoHUB: "nanoHUB.org is the premier open and free platform for computational research, education, and collaboration in nanotechnology, materials science, and related fields."
National Science Digital Library: "The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines"
PhET: "Interactive Simulations for Science and Math"
Howlround Theatre Commons: "HowlRound is a free and open platform for theatremakers worldwide that amplifies progressive, disruptive ideas about the art form and facilitates connection between diverse practitioners."
Skills Commons: "Your FREE and OPEN digital library of Workforce Training Materials"
Training and PD Resources for Manufacturing: "The Ohio Manufacturers’ Association (OMA) has partnered with California State University, SkillsCommons to provide easy access to high-quality FREE and OPEN training resources..."
ViVET: "On ViVET, we provide videos, courses, training, and topics. They are all related to Vocation and Education Training (VET)."
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • firstname.lastname@example.org