Reed Library offers numerous Research Guides to help you locate the most relevant databases and resources for your coursework.
These online guides, created by our librarians, provide a wealth of information on scholarly and non-scholarly materials, including books, databases, articles/journals, and web resources. You'll also find helpful tips for citing sources, professional organizations, and library services.
In-person: Reference Hours
Call: 716-673-3222
Text: 716-407-7698
Email: reedref@fredonia.edu
To effectively research a topic, you should explore various sources such as books, reference materials, periodicals, and online resources.
So many books, so little time...
The ReedSearch tool on the library's homepage allows you to search through various sources. This makes it an excellent place to find books in our collection, both physically and online. You can filter by material type to limit your results to books.
Use the custom search bar embedded here to find books available through the Reed Library:
Looking for eBooks?
While ReedSearch does a pretty good job searching through all of our available resources, it may also be helpful to search directly in one of our eBook databases:
There are many tools and resources you can use to help you find different types of articles.
Do you already know the journal?
Use the E-Journal Portal to search by title, subject, or ISSN.
A-Z Database list:
Reed Library has hundreds of databases that provide access to thousands of journals. You can look through our list of databases by subject in our full database list. You can also visit our Research Guides for additional guidance.
Do you have the citation?
If you already have some citation information (article title, author(s), etc.), you can use the Citation Linker tool to help you find the article.
Peer-Reviewed Journals
Many professors require peer-reviewed journals and articles. These are scholarly sources written by authorities in the field, such as professors or researchers. Experts in the same field have evaluated a peer-reviewed article before publication. This process ensures that the article meets high quality, accuracy, and originality standards.
While searching for articles, use filters and limiters to select "Peer Reviewed."
In ReedSearch this is under "Availability."
There are several ways to find Newspaper articles through Reed Library.
The links listed below should take you directly to a specific newspaper database. If you are off-campus you will need to log in with your eServices username and password.
Newspaper Databases:
You can also use ReedSearch to find newspaper articles by selecting "Newspaper Articles" under the material type on the left side of the page:
Additionally, all Fredonia students, faculty and staff can sign up for a digital version of the New York Times. This provides you with full access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes.com phone app.
For additional information, visit the Professional Development Center's New York Times in Education page.
When you start researching, you’ll probably turn to the Internet first. While online sources like blogs, Wikipedia, social media, and ChatGPT aren’t considered scholarly, they can be super helpful for staying updated on current conversations about your topic. These sources may also point you toward more credible academic information.
But remember, not everything you find online is reliable for academic research. Check out the Evaluating Sources page, especially the website domain section, or ask a librarian for help in learning how to evaluate sources better.
Primary sources are firsthand accounts or materials created during the time period being studied, like speeches, diaries, photographs, or original research. Secondary sources, such as books and articles, analyze or interpret primary sources. Tertiary sources, like encyclopedias and textbooks, summarize information from both primary and secondary sources, providing helpful overviews.
To learn more about source types, log in to your E-services account and follow the instruction module below:
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.