Reed Library: Religious Studies: Databases

Databases By Type

Subscription Databases
Open Access Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Locate research articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Citations, summaries, and links full text articles are available, with coverage dating back to 1954.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A guide to content covering the history of the world - excluding North America - from prehistory to the present.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities, with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works, and reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to sources covering all fields of philosophy, including ethics, social philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education and language.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides journal articles for all areas of sociology and related subject areas, with coverage for some journals dating back to 1895.

Association of Religious Data Archives
ARDA strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Includes American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.
Atla Digital Library - Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of Atla and the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) is a collection of digital resources contributed by member libraries. The creation of CDRI in 2003 was made possible by a generous grant from the Henry Luce Foundation. The CDRI collections provide access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography. Its coverage focus includes ancient Near East; missions; world religion; and more. We are thrilled to give this collection a new home with improved appearance, stability, and usability.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Independent, international database that contains over 16,500 peer-reviewed open access journals, including many religious studies publications.
HathiTrust
Open access digital library offering access to over 17 million digitized items, including many classic theological texts.
Project Gutenberg
An online repository that provides free access to ebooks in the public domain, including classic texts in theology.

Database Tutorials

Reed Library offers a number of video tutorials for popular databases in our collection.

Religious Studies: Databases

Featured Database: Association of Religious Data Archives

Databases By Type

Database Tutorials