Reed Library: Film Studies: Databases

Databases By Type

Academic Search Complete
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
Fine Arts and Music Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Humanities Source
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities, with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works, and reviews.
JSTOR
Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.
MLA International Bibliography
Articles, books, book chapters, and dissertation citations on literature, language, linguistics, dramatic arts, and the practice of teaching language.
Pop Culture Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Internet Archive - Moving Pictures Archive
This library contains digital movies ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections
This collection, from the library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, contains more than 35,000 digitized images. Formats include correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music, lobby cards and movie star ephemera.
Media History Digital LIbrary
Millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Video Data Bank
Founded in 1976 at the inception of the media arts movement, the Video Data Bank is the leading resource in the United States for videotapes by and about contemporary artists.