Reed Library: Ethnic Studies: Databases

Databases By Type

Subscription Databases
Open Access Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes over 42,000 essays and images from 162 sources. Topics covered include blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Locate research articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Citations, summaries, and links full text articles are available, with coverage dating back to 1954.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Indigenous Peoples Of North America This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of robust and diverse sources, including indigenous language materials, from both American and Canadian institutions focusing on the culture and heritage of indigenous people.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.
North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new window
244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This standard source indexes popular publications, focusing on U.S. culture and history from 1890-1982.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides journal articles for all areas of sociology and related subject areas, with coverage for some journals dating back to 1895.

Accessible Archives
Contains a wealth of historical documents such as African American Newspapers (1827-1902), American County Histories, Civil War Diaries, as well as such resources as Godey's Ladies Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Lily, The Virginia Gazette, The Liberator, and much more.
African American Newspapers
Provides links to many historical African American newspapers online, from Marist College.
Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. From the University of Georgia.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Independent database that contains over 16,500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Freedom Archives
The Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings as well as print materials dating primarily from the late-1960s to the mid-90s. These collections chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements for liberation and social justice.
Library of Congress Digital Archives
Provides free access to the Library of Congress's digital collections, which includes material related to racial and ethnic history and current issues.

Database Tutorials

Reed Library offers a number of video tutorials for popular databases in our collection.

Ethnic Studies: Databases

Featured Database: Civil Rights Digital Library

Databases By Type

Database Tutorials