Reed Library: Philosophy: Databases

Databases By Type

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities, with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works, and reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to sources covering all fields of philosophy, including ethics, social philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education and language.
Philosophy and Religious Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains films documenting philosophical and religious thought and how it shapes human behavior today.

Directory of Open Access Journals
Independent, international database that contains over 16,500 peer-reviewed open access journals, including many philosophy publications.
HathiTrust
Open access digital library offering access to over 17 million digitized items, including classic texts by thinkers like Plato, Kant, and Kierkegaard.
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy."
PhilArchive
The largest open access philosophy database. It contains nearly 65 thousand articles from a wide variety of publications, covering over 5 thousand distinct topics.
Project Gutenberg
An online repository that provides free access to ebooks in the public domain, including classic texts in philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Compiled and edited by experts in the field, this is an authoritative, comprehensive encyclopedia of philosophy topics with over 1500 entries. It covers figures, concepts, and more.

Reed Library offers a number of video tutorials for popular databases in our collection.