Reed Library: Sociology: Databases

Databases By Type

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides journal articles for all areas of sociology and related subject areas, with coverage for some journals dating back to 1895.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform. Provides you with access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, history and a wide variety of other areas. Download customizable graphs, infographics, and full reports that you can use in your reports.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for citations to scholarly journal articles in all subject areas. Conduct cited reference searches for articles that cite a previously published work (1970 - present).

Digital Commons Network: Sociology
Database that provides access to full-text sources, including peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
HathiTrust
Open access digital library offering access to over 17 million digitized items, including classic sociological texts by thinkers like Durkheim and Weber.
Project Gutenberg
An online repository that provides free access to ebooks in the public domain, including classic texts in sociology.
Social Science Open Access Repository
Digital library that provides access to full-text social science articles.
Social Science Research Network
Digital library composed of various specialized research networks that provides quick access to articles in over 65 disciplines, including sociology and sociological subfields.

Reed Library offers a number of video tutorials for popular databases in our collection.