It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Database: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
This database contains nearly 17,000 albums, featuring the sounds of regions from every continent. It includes genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more (part of Music Online from Alexander Street Press).
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Includes 1,217 essays and images from 10 sources, in addition to hundreds of audio examples (part of Music Online from Alexander Street Press).
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Covers 1970-present.
A cross-searchable index of various Alexander Street Press music databases, including: African American Reference, Classical Music Reference, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Classical Scores Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music and Jazz Music Library.
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources, including The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Provides key films in the discipline of Psychology. The collection provides documentaries, interviews, case studies, and psychological experiments. Topics covered include addiction, group psychology, feminist psychology, family psychology, children & adolescent psychology, depression, obsessive compulsive disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder.
Citations and summaries of psychology topics. Also includes the psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Coverage from 1887 to present.
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts and subject indexing. Its coverage spans 1967 to the present, and the database is updated monthly. RILM covers articles in over 11,000 journals (including publications in 214 different languages), many of which are not specifically devoted to music. RILM includes over 700,000 records, and over 40,000 new records are added every year.
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Search by country, language, instrument, country, genre, etc. Listen to both music and spoken word. Includes nearly 3,000 albums of music in a wide variety of musical forms and genres (part of Music Online from Alexander Street Press).
Can’t seem to find the perfect song for your lyric analysis intervention? Look no further! This database aims to be an ever-growing resource for music therapists, students, and interns to utilize and improve.
The Music Division is one of the world's preeminent music collections—documenting the art of music in all its diversity—classical and opera as well as the whole spectrum of popular music including spirituals, ragtime, jazz, musical theater, film, rock and world music.
This archives' extraordinary holdings cover virtually every aspect of recorded sound—from Mozart to Maria Callas to Motown, from symphonic works to presidential speeches, from radio dramas to television specials.
Reed Library offers a number of video tutorials for popular databases in our collection.
Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford at email@example.com.