Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Citation Manager: Zotero: Importing References

Video tutorial

Importing references from a database

Many online databases allow you to automatically export citations to Zotero so you don't have to manually enter them. However, it's important to know how to enter and edit citations, as you'll need to double-check that any automatic imports are correct, and make sure they conform to the capitalization standards of your citation style.

1. Ensure the Zotero desktop app is open before importing a citation.

2. From the article page, click the Zotero Connector button in your browser toolbar.

Zotero will generate a citation in your library and attach the full text, if available.

For JSTOR: In order to save the full text, you may need to click the full text PDF link and accept the terms and conditions. Then go back to the article page and use the Zotero Connector.

Importing from Gale databases

The above process does not work with Gale databases, such as Academic OneFile and Gale Virtual Reference Library. To import citations from these databases:

1. In the Tools menu on the right-hand side of the database page, click Citation Tools.

2. In the pop-up window, choose "Reference Manager" from the dropdown menu at the bottom, and click Export.

The database will save a .ris file to your computer.

3. In Zotero, open the File menu and choose Import.

Navigate to where you saved the file and open it. Zotero will add the citation information as a new reference.

4. If the full-text PDF is available and you would like to attach it to the record, you may do so manually.

Connect with Us

Connect With Us
 

undefinedChat live or text a librarian 24/7

Our virtual reference service is available around the clock for any questions you may have.


undefined 
Text: 716-407-7698 

Fredonia librarians are available
Monday - Thursday: 10 am - 6 pm
Friday: 10 am - 4 pm

Sunday: 3 pm - 7 pm

undefined


Individual research appointments

Schedule an individual research appointment with a librarian. We are currently meeting virtually due to COVID-19.

undefined
  Email

Please address any questions or concerns to reedref@fredonia.edu

We appreciate your opinion about our resources and services. Please complete the library feedback form and be as specific as possible (e.g., time, location, staff member, resource). Thank you.
reedref@fredonia.edu @ReedLibrary@SUNYFredLibrary @SUNYFredLibrary

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu