Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If Reed Library doesn’t have the article, book, score, DVD, or other item you are looking for, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. This service is free!
What are eBooks?
This Guide will help you find information on eBooks available in Reed Library. An eBook (electronic book; e-book; digital book) is the digital version of a printed book, or a full-length book text that is published in digital format to be viewed on the computer, dedicated eBook readers and mobile phones.
You can read eBooks from your computer, or on an e-reader like a Kindle or Nook.
Where to find eBooks
You can find eBooks owned by Reed Library in two ways.
You can search ReedSearch for your desired terms, just as you would for a print book, then limit the search to items "Available online" and then limit Material Type to "Books"
You can also access eBooks from databases that collect them. The following databases in Reed Library include eBooks:
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central allows you to read eBooks in your browser, on your desktop, or on your iOS or Android device; create and share book lists; and print articles from books.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 300 language and subject reference works from the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, plus the Visual English Dictionary, Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, and Encyclopedia of Mammals.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink features full-text eBooks in the sciences and other disciplines.
Connect with Us
In-person, in Reed Library
See our Daily Hours for more information
Individual Research Appointments
Schedule an individual research appointment with a librarian. We can meet in person or virtually.
Please address any questions or concerns to email@example.com
Chat Live 24/7
Our virtual reference service is available around the clock for any questions you may have.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • firstname.lastname@example.org