Skip to Main Content
The State University of New York at Fredonia Reed Library

Student Services: Off-Campus Database Access

Get a general overview of Reed Library's study spaces, resources, and information about getting help.

Database Access Help

Access to most databases and journals is restricted to members of the SUNY Fredonia community. If you are not a current Fredonia student, faculty, or staff member, you cannot access these resources.

When logging in from off campus, you will be asked to log in with your eServices username and password:

Screenshot of Reed Library's database login screen

About eServices Usernames/Passwords

eServices login credentials are used to log in to Reed Library's databases. Student eServices usernames generally consist of 2-4 letters of the last name followed by the last 4 numbers of your FredoniaID. Faculty and staff usernames generally consist of 2-8 letters of the last name, and possibly the first and/or middle initials.

To log into databases, do not include "@fredonia.edu" in your eServices ID

To find your eServices username and password, log in to Your Connection, then, under "Personal Information," click on "View Your User IDs and Passwords."

Ad-Blockers/Firewalls

  • Our proxy server and many databases use cookies to verify that you are an authorized user. Ad-blocking and privacy extensions (e.g., uBlock, Ghostery) may block these cookies, hindering access. If a database is not working as expected, try disabling any ad-blocking/privacy extensions.
  • If you do not see a login screen for any database, or get a "404 error," "This page cannot be displayed," "Page not found," "Address not found," or a blank page, this is most likely caused by a firewall.
  • Some databases use pop-ups, which may be blocked by your browser. If you get a message that states that a pop-up has been blocked while using a database, add an exception for the given database or site. Typically there is a button on the top of the page, near where it tells you that it has been blocked, that will enable you to add an exception.

Administrative Access

  • If you are trying to connect to the internet through your workplace, or a school, it could be that the administrators have blocked certain ports for security reasons. Please refer your system administrator to this support page for assistance in remedying this issue. 

JavaScript

  • Some resources require JavaScript to work. Please make sure that it is enabled for your browser. This setting is typically under Tools - Options.

If you are unable to resolve the problem after following these steps, contact the Library at 716-673-3222 or reedref@fredonia.edu, and we will be happy to assist you. 

The proxy server is a system that the University uses to make sure that students, faculty, and staff are able to access restricted copyrighted resources. We have purchased limited licenses to these databases which allow only members of the University to access them. The proxy server serves as a gatekeeper to these databases and journals so that students, faculty, and staff can access them from off campus.

Research Assistance

In-person: Reference Hours

Call: 716-673-3222
Text: 716-407-7698
Email: reedref@fredonia.edu

Book a Research Appointment

Chat 24/7

Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary

Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford

Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike logo Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.