Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

New Student Guide: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to Reed Library! We are here to help you by providing you with a vast variety of services and resources. Use this guide to familiarize yourself with what Reed Library has to offer and don't hesitate to contact us for help!

Check out the "Ask a Librarian" box to find out how.

Not Sure Where To Start?

Reed Library has a variety of different services that are designed to help you, whether you need research assistance, don't know where to start on an assignment, can't find a book, or need to know where you can fax something on campus.

Help is available through walk-up assistance at the reference desk. You may see a librarian sitting at that big circular desk in the middle of the library. If you do, feel free to walk up to them and ask for help!

Want an hour of one on one time with a librarian? Schedule an individual research appointment so that we can really focus on your assignment and figure it out together!

You can also call (716-673-3222) or Email us!

Is the library closed? You still have access to a librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week through our Ask Us 24/7 chat service. Just type your question into the chat box on our homepage and receive instant help!

The different ways you can receive help are featured in our "Ask a Librarian" box!

Online Resources

Reed Library has a vast collection of online resources that are available to you 24/7. These resources can be accessed from both on and off-campus via the Reed Library website.

You have access to over 180 databases through the Reed Library website. Within these databases you will find articles, audiovisual materials, eBooks, and other types of multimedia.

So many databases! Not sure where to begin? Research Guides organize Reed Library's books, journals, databases, websites and more by area of study. 

Reed Library also has access to library items worldwide. Need something that we don't have? Request it through Interlibrary Loan to receive it for FREE from another library!

 

Physical Resources

Reed Library is home to a vast collection that spans more than 430,000 books and 15,000 multimedia items. These items can be searched through the classic catalog.

The Music Collection, located within Reed Library, contains a wealth of music materials in various formats: booksscoresperformance parts, sound recordings and video recordings.

The Archives & Special Collections are located on the 1st floor of the Carnahan-Jackson Center in Reed Library. It contains a unique range of primary source materials available for research by the students, faculty, and staff of Fredonia, as well as researchers outside of the campus community.

Connect with Us

Need help finding scholarly information on your topic, but do not know where to start? Try the resources to the right.

Library Map

Testimonial

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu
@ReedLibrary@SUNYFredLibrary @SUNYFredLibrary