Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Music Collection: Bibliographies of Music Literature

**Did You Know?**

Just what is a music bibliography? Simply put, it is a listing of materials, in print or electronic formats, that form an organized survey of the literature of a specific field of study. A bibliography, according to bibliographer Vincent Duckles, "offers one of the best means of gaining an over-all impression of a subject area."


The majority of music bibliographies have call numbers that begin with a Library of Congress class number ranging from ML 113 through ML 134.

Bibliographies of Music Literature: Essential Titles

General Bibliographies

Crabtree, Phillip and Donald H. Foster. Sourcebook for Research in Music. 2nd ed. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2005.
Available electronically on Ebook Central

Duckles,  Vincent H. and Ida Reed. Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography. 5th ed. New York: Schirmer Books, 1997.
Music Reference ML113 .D83 1997

Mixter, Keith E. General Bibliography for Music Research. [Warren,] Mich.: Harmonie Park Press, 1996.
Music Reference ML 113 M59 1996

Sampsel, Laurie J. Music Research: A Handbook. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2013.
Music Reference ML113 .S28 2013

Stylistic Period / Chronological Bibliographies

Bull, Storm. Index to Biographies of Contemporary Composers. New York: Scarecrow Press, 1964-
Music Reference ML 105 B9

Diamond, Harold J. Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature. New York: Schirmer Books, 1991.
Music Reference ML 128 A7 D5 1991

Hoek, D. J. Analyses of Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-2000. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
Music Reference ML113 .H695 2007

Bio-Bibliographies / Composer Research Guides

Hartig, Linda Bishop. Violet Archer: A Bio-Bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
Music Reference ML 134 A68 H3 1991

Langford, Jeffrey Alan. Hector Berlioz: A Guide to Research. New York: Garland, 1989.
Music Reference ML 134 B5 L3 1989

Palmieri, Robert. Sergei Vasilʹevich Rachmaninoff: A Guide to Research. New York: Garland Pub., 1985.
Music Reference ML134.R12 P3 1985

Smialek, William. Frédéric Chopin: A Guide to Research. New York: Garland Pub., 2000.
Music Reference ML134.C54 S65 2000

National Bibliographies

Brookhart, Edward. Music in American Higher Education: An Annotated Bibliography. Warren, Mich.: Harmonie Park Press, 1988.
Music Reference ML 120 U5 B77 1988

Morey, Carl. Music in Canada: A Research and Information Guide. New York: Garland, 1997.
Music Reference ML 120 C2 M6 1997

Peters, Diane E. Canadian Music and Music Education: An Annotated Bibliography of Theses and Dissertations. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1997.
Music Reference ML 120 C2 P47 1997

Phemister, William. American Piano Concertos: A Bibliography. Detroit: Published for the College Music Society, Information Coordinators, 1985.
Music Reference ML128.P3 P5 1985

Tsuge, Genʾichi. Japanese Music: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub., 1986.
Music Reference ML 120 J3 T8 1986

Topical Bibliographies and Research Guides

Everett, William A. The Musical: A Research and Information Guide. New York: Routledge, 2004.
Music Reference ML128 .M78 E84 2004

Hart, Mary L. The Blues: A Bibliographical Guide. New York: Garland Pub., 1989.
Music Reference ML128.B49 H3 1989

Meadows, Eddie. Jazz Research and Performance Materials: A Select Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub., 1995.
Music Reference ML128.J3 M33 1995

Merriman, Lyle. Woodwind Research Guide: A Selective Bibliography of Materials Pertaining to the Literature, Development, and Acoustics of Woodwind Instruments. Evanston, Ill.: Instrumentalist Co., 1978.
Music Reference ML128.W5 M5

Phelps, Roger P. A Guide to Research in Music Education. 5th ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 2005.
Music Reference MT1 .P5 2005

Post, Jennifer. Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide. New York: Routledge, 2004.
Music Reference ML 128 E8 P6 2004
Available electronically on Ebook Central.

Stedman, Preston. The Symphony: A Research and Information Guide. New York: Garland Pub., 1990-
Music Reference ML128.S9 S7 1990

Miscellaneous Bibliographies

Pruett, James W. Research Guide to Musicology. Chicago: American Library Association, 1985.
Music Reference ML 3797 P78 1985

Yaffe, John. Arias, Ensembles, & Choruses: An Excerpt Finder for Orchestras. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2012.
Music Reference ML128.V7 Y34 2012

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu