Jazz Studies: Databases

Includes over 42,000 essays and images from 162 sources. Topics covered include blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

More than 3,700 albums' worth of recordings, from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic, and beyond.

Contains over 10,000 albums, including thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. It's the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online (part of Music Online from Alexander Street Press).

A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Covers 1970-present.

Naxos Music Library provides access to over 190,000 CDs and nearly 3 million tracks of classical, jazz, world, and folk music. Over 1,000 albums are added monthly.

Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources, including The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts and subject indexing. Its coverage spans 1967 to the present, and the database is updated monthly. RILM covers articles in over 11,000 journals (including publications in 214 different languages), many of which are not specifically devoted to music. RILM includes over 700,000 records, and over 40,000 new records are added every year.