Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
ReedSearch is often the best place to start your search for books. Below you will find a small selection of items that exist in our physical and digital collections, as well as links to open access collections.
Ecology: a Very Short Introduction
Understanding how our living environment works is essentially a study of ecological systems. Ecology is the science of how organisms interact with each other and with their environment, and how such interactions create self-organising communities and ecosystems. This science touches us all. The food we eat, the water we drink, the natural resources we use, our physical and mental health, and much of our cultural heritage are to a large degree products of ecological interactions of organisms and their environment.
A Field on Fire: The Future of Environmental History
The eighteen essays in "A Field on Fire" present new research paths in topics that are especially promising but insufficiently developed or altogether neglected in the field of environmental history
Handbook of Environmental and Ecological Statistics
This handbook focuses on the enormous literature applying statistical methodology and modelling to environmental and ecological processes. The 21st century statistics community has become increasingly interdisciplinary, bringing a large collection of modern tools to all areas of application in environmental processes. In addition, the environmental community has substantially increased its scope of data collection including observational data, satellite-derived data, and computer model output. The resultant impact in this latter community has been substantial; no longer are simple regression and analysis of variance methods adequate. The contribution of this handbook is to assemble a state-of-the-art view of this interface.
Marine Pollution: What Everyone Needs to Know
In Marine Pollution: What Everyone Needs to Know, Judith Weis covers marine pollution from many different angles, each fascinating in its own right. Beginning with its sources and history, the book describes in detail each common pollutant, why exactly it is harmful, why it may draw controversy, and how we can prevent it from destroying our aquatic ecosystems.
Comprehensive Environmental Studies
Comprehensive Environmental Studies covers Renewable and non-renewable resources, Ecosystems, Biodiversity and its Conservation, Environmental Pollution, Social Issues and the Environment, Human Population and the Environment, and Field work Guidelines in eight elaborately-written chapters full of case studies, statistics and discussion on the national and the international situation. The book will be helpful to students of all disciplines offering Environmental studies as a general optional subject or as a major. It will also be useful to students at master level and for competitive examinations as it covers different aspects of environmental and ecology including water, air and soil pollution.
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment—its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories. Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, this is the ideal reference for students of environment and conservation, as well as for professionals in the field.
Forging Environmentalism
Drawing on an unusually rich empirical base, this timely and compelling book examines how environmental values are constructed and legitimized within the policy process. It trains the spotlight on four environmentally significant countries - China, Japan, India, and the United States - representing a wide diversity of cultural, social, economic, and political characteristics. Through a combination of case studies and comparative analysis, the contributors illuminate cultural assumptions, standards, and analytic techniques that shape environmental actions and policies around the world. "Forging Environmentalism" provides valuable direction regarding what can be done to secure public support for environmental policies. Incorporating expert legal, economic, philosophical, sociological, and political perspective points the way toward the possibilities for a convergence of environmental norms and values across diverse cultures.
Principles of Ecology
Ecology considers how organisms of the same species interact with each other, how organisms of different species in the same space interact, and how multiple communities interact to make up an ecosystem, information crucial in understanding how biodiversity affects ecological function. In over 120 articles, Principles of Ecology addresses topics including: Morphology, Human ecology, Resilience, Social ecology, Co-evolution, Traits, Biome and Biosphere.
American Environmental History
A comprehensive survey of American Environmental History
Environmental Change and Sustainability
Environments around the globe are undergoing human-induced change. Human population growth, rapid urbanization, expanding global economy, and the diffusion of western consumer lifestyles are placing increasing pressure on natural and social systems. Global institutions, nation-states, and local communities are seeking to identify and employ sustainable solutions to these environmental and socio-economic challenges. Sustainability has emerged as a policy discourse that seeks to balance the desire and need for economic growth with the protection of the environment, and the promotion of social and environmental justice. This book contributes to the study and search for sustainable responses to global environmental change.
Environmental Monitoring
"Environmental Monitoring" is a book designed by InTech - Open Access Publisher in collaboration with scientists and researchers from all over the world. The book is designed to present recent research advances and developments in the field of environmental monitoring to a global audience of scientists, researchers, environmental educators, administrators, managers, technicians, students, environmental enthusiasts and the general public. The book consists of a series of sections and chapters addressing topics like the monitoring of heavy metal contaminants in varied environments, biological monitoring/ecotoxicological studies; and the use of wireless sensor networks/Geosensor webs in environmental monitoring.
The Environment in the Age of the Internet
The Environment in the Age of the Internet is an interdisciplinary collection that draws together research and answers from media and communication studies, social sciences, modern history, and folklore studies.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.