Interlibrary Loan services allow current Fredonia faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that are not owned by Reed Library.
For more information, visit our guide on ILL.
ReedSearch is often the best place to start your search for books. Below you will find a small selection of items that exist in our physical and digital collections, as well as links to open access collections.
Chemical Information for Chemists
While it is not difficult to find data in many cases, what advice can you get on the quality of the data retrieved? Chemical Information for Chemists could help with this problem and more. This book is a chemical information book aimed specifically at practicing chemists. Written and edited by experts in the field, it is ideal for chemists who lack a chemical information professional able to teach basic and intermediate techniques in retrieving and evaluating information using the unique entry points of the chemical literature, including structure, formula, substructure, and sequence. Aimed at students on undergraduate and graduate courses, it could also be a useful guide to new information specialists who are facing the challenging diversity of chemical literature.
Green Organic Chemistry and its Interdisciplinary Applications
Green Organic Chemistry and Its Interdisciplinary Applications covers key developments in green chemistry and demonstrates to students that the developments were most often the result of innovative thinking. Using a set of selected experiments, all of which have been performed in the laboratory with undergraduate students, it demonstrates how to optimize and develop green experiments. The book dedicates each chapter to individual applications, such as: Engineering; The chemical industry; The pharmaceutical industry; Analytical chemistry; Environmental chemistry. Each chapter also poses questions at the end, with the answers included.
Survival Guide to General Chemistry
This work evolved over thirty combined years of teaching general chemistry to a variety of student demographics. The focus is not to recap or review the theoretical concepts well described in the available texts.Instead, the topics and descriptions in this book make available specific, detailed step-by-step methods and procedures for solving the major types of problems in general chemistry. Explanations, instructional process sequences, solved examples and completely solved practice problems are greatly expanded, containing significantly more detail than can usually be devoted to in a comprehensive text. Many chapters also provide alternative viewpoints as an aid to understanding. Key Features: The authors have included every major topic in the first semester of general chemistry and most major topics from the second semester. Each is written in a specific and detailed step-by-step process for problem solving, whether mathematical or conceptual Each topic has greatly expanded examples and solved practice problems containing significantly more detail than found in comprehensive texts Includes a chapter designed to eliminate confusion concerning acid/base reactions which often persists through working with acid/base equilibrium Many chapters provide alternative viewpoints as an aid to understanding This book addresses a very real need for a large number of incoming freshman in STEM fields
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry
Providing students with the tools they'll need to be successful writers, A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry emphasizes writing as a way of examining, evaluating, and sharing ideas. The book teaches readers how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically. Students are also given detailed advice on locating, evaluating, and citing useful sources within the discipline.
Arrow-Pushing in Organic Chemistry
Organic chemistry is required coursework for degrees in life, food, and medical sciences. To help the students discouraged by the belief that this topic cannot be mastered without significant memorization, Arrow Pushing in Organic Chemistry serves as a handy supplement for understanding the subject.
Biochemistry: a Very Short Introduction
Very Short Introductions: Brilliant, Sharp, Inspiring From the simplest bacteria to humans, all living things are composed of cells of one type or another, all of which have fundamentally the same chemistry. This chemistry must provide mechanisms that allow cells to interact with the external world, a means to power the cell, machinery to carry out varied processes within the cell, a structure within which everything runs, and also governance through a web of interlocking chemical reactions. Biochemistry is the study of those reactions, the molecules that are created, manipulated, and destroyed as a result of them, and the massive macromolecules (such as DNA, cytoskeletons, proteins and carbohydrates) that form the chemical machinery and structures on which these biochemical reactions take place. It didn't take long for an understanding of the chemistry of life to turn into a desire to manipulate it. Drugs and therapies all aim to modify biochemical processes for good or ill: Penicillin, derived from mould, stops bacteria making their cell walls. Aspirin, with its origins in willow bark, inhibits enzymes involved in inflammatory responses. A few nanograms of botulinum toxin (botox), can kill by preventing the release of neurotransmitters from the ends of nerves and so leads to paralysis and death, or give a wrinkle free forehead (if administered in very tiny quantities).This Very Short Introduction discusses the key concepts of biochemistry, as well as the historical figures in the field and the molecules they studied, before considering the current science and innovations in the field, and the interaction between biochemistry, biotechnology, and synthetic biology. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Chemistry: a Very Short Introduction
Most people remember chemistry from their schooldays as largely incomprehensible, a subject that was fact-rich but understanding-poor, smelly, and so far removed from the real world of events and pleasures that there seemed little point, except for the most introverted, in coming to terms with its grubby concepts, spells, recipes, and rules. Peter Atkins wants to change all that. In this Very Short Introduction to Chemistry, he encourages us to look at chemistry anew, through a chemist's eyes, in order to understand its central concepts and to see how it contributes not only towards our material comfort, but also to human culture. Atkins shows how chemistry provides the infrastructure of our world, through the chemical industry, the fuels of heating, power generation, and transport, as well as the fabrics of our clothing and furnishings. By considering the remarkable achievements that chemistry has made, and examining its place between both physics and biology, Atkins presents a fascinating, clear, and rigorous exploration of the world of chemistry - its structure, core concepts, and exciting contributions to new cutting-edge technologies. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
The History of Chemistry: a Very Short Introduction
From man's first exploration of natural materials and their transformations to today's materials science, chemistry has always been the central discipline that underpins both the physical and biological sciences, as well as technology. In this Very Short Introduction, William H. Brock traces the unique appeal of this fundamental science throughout history. Covering alchemy, early-modern chemistry, pneumatic chemistry and Lavoisier's re-interpretation of chemical change, the rise of organic and physical chemistry, and the transforming power of synthesis, Brock explores the extraordinary and often puzzling transformations of natural and artificial materials, as well as the men and women who experimented, speculated, and explained matter and change. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Molecules: a Very Short Introduction
In this Very Short Introduction, Philip Ball explores the role of the molecule in and around us - how, for example, a single fertilized egg can grow into a multi-celled Mozart, what makes spider's silk insoluble in the morning dew, and how this molecular dynamism is being captured in the laboratory, promising to reinvent chemistry as the central creative science of the century.
Organic Chemistry: a Very Short Introduction
In this Very Short Introduction Graham Patrick covers the whole range of organic compounds and their roles. Beginning with the structures and properties of the basic groups of organic compounds, he goes on to consider organic compounds in the areas of pharmaceuticals, polymers, food and drink, petrochemicals, and nanotechnology. He looks at how new materials, in particular the single layer form of carbon called graphene, are opening up exciting new possibilities for applications, and discusses the particular challenges of working with carbon compounds, many of which are colorless. Patrick also discusses techniques used in the field.
The Periodic Table: a Very Short Introduction
In this Very Short Introduction Eric Scerri looks at the trends in properties of elements that led to the construction of the table, and shows how the deeper meaning of the table's structure gradually became apparent with the development of atomic theory and, in particular, quantum mechanics, which underlies the behavior of all of the elements and their compounds.
Physical Chemistry: a Very Short Introduction
With the development of a variety of exciting new areas of research involving computational chemistry, nano- and smart materials, and applications of the recently discovered graphene, there can be no doubt that physical chemistry is a vitally important field. It is also perceived as the most daunting branch of chemistry, being necessarily grounded in physics and mathematics and drawing as it does on quantum mechanics, thermodynamics, and statistical thermodynamics. With his typical clarity and hardly a formula in sight, Peter Atkins' Very Short Introduction explores the contributions physical chemistry has made to all branches of chemistry. Providing insight into its central concepts Atkins reveals the cultural contributions physical chemistry has made to our understanding of the natural world. About the Series: Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects--from Islam to Sociology, Politics to Classics, Literary Theory to History, and Archaeology to the Bible. Not simply a textbook of definitions, each volume in this series provides trenchant and provocative--yet always balanced and complete--discussions of the central issues in a given discipline or field. Every Very Short Introduction gives a readable evolution of the subject in question, demonstrating how the subject has developed and how it has influenced society. Eventually, the series will encompass every major academic discipline, offering all students an accessible and abundant reference library. Whatever the area of study that one deems important or appealing, whatever the topic that fascinates the general reader, the Very Short Introductions series has a handy and affordable guide that will likely prove indispensable.
Biochemical Thermodynamics
This book is dedicated to studying the thermodynamic bases of the structure-function relationship of proteins. It moves from the elementary principles of physical chemistry to the most current topics of biochemistry, including those that may be subject to some controversy. It considers thermodynamic properties related to the stability and function of proteins from the point of view of physics in a language that, without sacrificing conceptual rigor, is easy to read. Detailing the thermodynamics of protein-ligand interactions, protein naturation, allostery, oxidative phosphorylation and protein phosphorylation, the book will be of interest to students and teachers of chemistry, physics, biochemistry and biotechnology.
Chemical Elements
U X L expands its line of science resources in response to requests from librarians and teachers to bring you Chemical Elements. This 3-vol. title, now updated and presented in full color, provides in-depth, current and accurate information on 112 known chemical elements, plus coverage of recently discovered elements 113 through 116 and 118 (now awaiting approval from the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry). Chemical Elements follows U X Ls highly-praised style by covering this difficult topic in a manner and writing level accessible enough for younger and middle school students, yet appropriate for high school students, too. Adding to its appeal are more than 290 photographs and illustrations, most in color, showcasing various elements, the products in which they are used, and the places in which they are found. Such imagery brings the elements to life. Black-and-white images of historical significance are also included. Through standard rubrics, researchers will learn how the element was discovered and by whom, the elements practical role in everyday life, who or what it is named after and more. Sidebars spotlight well-known products containing the element, trivia on famous events relating to the element, definitions of difficult words and more. Added value is provided through a comprehensive further reading section, a timetable of events, a glossary of terms, a two-page color-coded p
A Dictionary of Chemistry
A Dictionary of Chemistry is a popular and authoritative guide to all aspects of its discipline. With over 5,000 entries, its broad coverage includes physical chemistry and biochemistry, and is heavily informed by the most current research.
Handbook of Smart Materials in Analytical Chemistry
A comprehensive guide to smart materials and how they are used in sample preparation, analytical processes, and applications This comprehensive, two-volume handbook provides detailed information on the present state of new materials tailored for selective sample preparation and the legal frame and environmental side effects of the use of smart materials for sample preparation in analytical chemistry, as well as their use in the analytical processes and applications. It covers both methodological and applied analytical aspects, relating to the development and application of new materials for solid-phase extraction (SPE) and solid-phase microextraction (SPME), their use in the different steps and techniques of the analytical process, and their application in specific fields such as water, food, air, pharmaceuticals, clinical sciences and forensics. Every chapter in Handbook of Smart Materials in Analytical Chemistry is written by experts in the field to provide a comprehensive picture of the present state of this key area of analytical sciences and to summarize current applications and research literature in a critical way. Volume 1 covers New Materials for Sample Preparation and Analysis. Volume 2 handles Analytical Processes and Applications. Focuses on the development and applications of smart materials in analytical chemistry Covers both, methodological and applied analytical aspects, for the development of new materials and their use in the different steps and techniques of the analytical process and their application in specific fields Features applications in key areas including water, air, environment, pharma, food, forensic, and clinical Presents the available tools for the use of new materials suitable to aid recognition process to the sample preparation and analysis A key resource for analytical chemists, applied laboratories, and instrument companies Handbook of Smart Materials in Analytical Chemistry, 2V Set is an excellent reference book for specialists and advanced students in the areas of analytical chemistry, including both research and application environments.
Novel Carbon Materials and Composites
Connects knowledge about synthesis, properties, and applications of novel carbon materials and carbon-based composites This book provides readers with new knowledge on the synthesis, properties, and applications of novel carbon materials and carbon-based composites, including thin films of silicon carbide, carbon nitrite, and their related composites. It examines the direct bottom-up synthesis of the carbon-based composite systems and their potential applications, and discusses the growth mechanism of the composite structures. It features applications that range from mechanical, electronic, chemical, biochemical, medical, and environmental to functional devices. Novel Carbon Materials and Composites: Synthesis, Properties and Applications covers an overview of the synthesis, properties, and applications of novel carbon materials and composites. Especially, it covers everything from chemical vapor deposition of silicon carbide films and their electrochemical applications to applications of various novel carbon materials for the construction of supercapacitors to chemical vapor deposition of diamond/silicon carbide composite films to the covering and fabrication processes of nanodot composites. Looks at the recent progress and achievements in the fields of novel carbon materials and composites, including thin films of silicon carbide, carbon nitrite, and their related composites Discusses the many applications of carbon materials and composites Focuses on the hot topic of the fabrication of carbon-based composite materials and their abilities to extend the potential applications of carbon materials Published as a title in the new Wiley book series Nanocarbon Chemistry and Interfaces. Novel Carbon Materials and Composites: Synthesis, Properties and Applications is an important book for academic researchers and industrial scientists working in the fabrication and application of carbon materials and carbon-based composite materials and related fields.
Phycotoxins: Chemistry and Biochemistry
Phycotoxins are a diverse group of poisonous substances produced by certain seaweed and algae in marine and fresh waters and are important to the scientific community for many reasons, the most obvious being that they pose food safety issues which requires a large investment to regularly monitor the presence of these compounds in foods. Phycotoxins: Chemistry and Biochemistry, second edition presents the most updated information available on phycotoxins. Major emphases are given to chemistry and biochemistry, while origins, mechanism of action, toxicology, and analytical methodology are also covered. Since the publication of the first edition, there have been major advances in the science of marine and aquatic toxins, as well as advances in toxicology, analytical chemistry and pharmacology. This fully revised and updated edition includes several new chapters, including those on ciguatoxins, pinnatoxin, ichthyotoxins, as well as new chapters on food safety control of marine toxins, climate change and water toxins, and microalgae as a source of nutraceuticals. The book will be of interest to toxicologists, marine, food, and plant scientists, as well as researchers and academics in the areas of food science, medicine, public health, toxicology, pharmacology and marine biology.
Principles of Chemistry
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of chemistry, from elements and molecules to chemical reactions and properties of matter.
Biochemistry: Free For All
We are happy to welcome you to our second Open Educational Resource (OER) textbook, Biochemistry Free For All. Biochemistry is a relatively young science, but its rate of growth has been truly impressive. The rapid pace of discoveries, which shows no sign of slowing, is reflected in the steady increase in the size of biochemistry textbooks. Growing faster than the size of biochemistry books have been the skyrocketing costs of higher education and the even faster rising costs of college textbooks. These unfortunate realities have created a situation where the costs of going to college are beyond the means of increasing numbers of students.
Chemistry 2e
Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.
The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative. Changes made in Chemistry 2e are described in the preface to help instructors transition to the second edition.
Chemistry Atoms First 2e
Chemistry: Atoms First 2e is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association. This text is an atoms-first adaptation of OpenStax Chemistry 2e. The intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry. Additionally, it gives students a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course. It also aims to center the study of chemistry on the atomic foundation that many will expand upon in a later course covering organic chemistry, easing that transition when the time arrives.
Organic Chemistry Laboratory Techniques
In this resource you will find theory and procedures on the main organic lab techniques (chromatography, crystallization, extraction, distillation) as well as general concepts on how to set up and heat apparatuses (see the Table of Contents tab for a more complete listing of topics).
All procedures are accompanied by step-by-step pictures, and graphics are heavily utilized throughout the resource.
Thermodynamics and Chemistry - Second Edition
Thermodynamics and Chemistry is designed primarily as a textbook for a one-semester course in classical chemical thermodynamics at the graduate or undergraduate level. It can also serve as a supplementary text and thermodynamics reference source.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • reedref@fredonia.edu
FB: @ReedLibraryInsta: @SUNYFredLibrary X: @SUNYFredLibrary
Accessibility Statement: Reed Library is dedicated to making information accessible for everyone. If you notice an accessibility issue within this guide, please contact Katelynn Telford
Except where otherwise noted, this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.