Reed Library: World Languages: Databases

Databases By Type

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find information on almost any topic. Contains the full text of over 4,450 magazines, journals and newspapers, and indexing for many more, with coverage dates back to 1975 for many publications.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities, with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, original works, and reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Covers writers (novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and others) with in-depth material for the 2500 most studied authors. Includes standard reference sources: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism (select), and the Encyclopedia of Literature.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, book chapters, and dissertation citations on literature, language, linguistics, dramatic arts, and the practice of teaching language.

Bibliography of Linguistic Literature Database
Online bibliography for general linguistics and Germanic and Romance languages with focus on German and English philology, language acquisition and teaching, as well as applied linguistics. Older content is freely accessible.
MERLOT - World Languages Community Portal
MERLOT welcomes all language educators and students of World Languages to access the many OER available in the ever-expanding World Languages Collection. This pioneer community contains thousands of OER, many of them peer-reviewed by distinguished scholars in the field.
Open Learn - Languages
This collection features lessons in 48 languages, including Spanish, French, English, Mandarin, Italian, Russian and more. Download audio lessons to your computer or mp3 player and you’re good to go.
Pascal and Francis bibliographic databases
Provides access to more than 20 millions references (articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports and thesis) in exact sciences and technology, in biological and medical sciences, in art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences.

Reed Library offers a number of video tutorials for popular databases in our collection.