Music Composition: Databases

Includes over 42,000 essays and images from 162 sources. Topics covered include blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

A history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past (includes content from the original African American Music database). Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Also included are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.

One of the largest multi-label databases of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The collection contains over 14,000 albums.

Contains reference materials spanning the entire history of Western classical music. Over 28,000 essays and images from 39 sources, including the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.

Contains over 24,000 scores from the Renaissance to the 21st century, with full scores, study scores, piano-vocal scores, and piano reductions.

This database contains nearly 17,000 albums, featuring the sounds of regions from every continent. It includes genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more (part of Music Online from Alexander Street Press).

An authoritative reference containing over 2,500 entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances. Provides extensive coverage of all the characters in operas, and gives synopses for over 200 operas and operettas (part of Oxford Reference Online).

More than 3,700 albums' worth of recordings, from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic, and beyond.

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Includes 1,217 essays and images from 10 sources, in addition to hundreds of audio examples (part of Music Online from Alexander Street Press).

This online volume contains a collection of synopses and descriptions of over 250 operas; each essay provides a full synopsis of the opera's plot, a cast list, a note on the singers in the original production, and information on the origins of the work and its literary and social background (part of Oxford Reference Online).

The most comprehensive guide to opera singers ever produced, this online volume offers a collection of authoritative biographies for over 1500 singers, from the birth of opera to the present day (part of Oxford Reference Online).

A comprehensive compendium of music scholarship, Grove Music Online is the leading online resource for music research.

Contains over 10,000 albums, including thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. It's the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online (part of Music Online from Alexander Street Press).

Provides a comprehensive backfile of major scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, business, ecology, language, literature, and music.

Includes audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.

A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Covers 1970-present.

A cross-searchable index of various Alexander Street Press music databases, including: African American Reference, Classical Music Reference, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Classical Scores Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music and Jazz Music Library.

Naxos Music Library provides access to over 190,000 CDs and nearly 3 million tracks of classical, jazz, world, and folk music. Over 1,000 albums are added monthly.

Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources, including The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts and subject indexing. Its coverage spans 1967 to the present, and the database is updated monthly. RILM covers articles in over 11,000 journals (including publications in 214 different languages), many of which are not specifically devoted to music. RILM includes over 700,000 records, and over 40,000 new records are added every year.

A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Search by country, language, instrument, country, genre, etc. Listen to both music and spoken word. Includes nearly 3,000 albums of music in a wide variety of musical forms and genres (part of Music Online from Alexander Street Press).