Reed Library: JoVE: Resources Provided

Resources Summary

JoVE (Journal of Visual Experiments) is the world-leading producer and provider of science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education.

SUNY Fredonia is currently subscribed to JoVE Education, which consists of three components:

JoVE Science Education: A revolutionary video library dedicated to teaching scientific and clinical fundamentals through easy-to-understand video demonstrations. With text translations and subtitles in over 10 languages, 500+ videos on topics commonly taught in science courses capture key conceptual and methodological details that are difficult to visualize using text alone.
JoVE Core: Video textbooks for introductory courses that can serve as effective primary or supplementary teaching resources. Key concepts are brought to life through high-impact animations and scientist-in-action videos of experiments conducted in laboratory settings.
JoVE Lab Manual: Curriculum-focused video resources that support teaching and learning of commonly taught introductory labs. Three separate videos with step-by-step instructions for each lab experiment illustrate lab preparation for instructors, key theoretical concepts, and a protocol for students.

A more detailed summary of each component can be found below.

JoVE Science Education

General Laboratory Techniques
This collection exhibits how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments.
Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology
This collection demonstrates how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.
Biology I: Yeast, Drosophila, and C. Elegans
This unique collection features three model organisms commonly used in life sciences research; also covering methodology to maintain them in the laboratory.
Biology II: Mouse, Zebrafish, and Chick
This collection features three vertebrate species commonly used in life sciences research; also covering methodology on how they are maintained in the laboratory.
Lab Animal Research
This collection is a comprehensive video guide for appropriate lab animal care and use. Since a majority of biomedical research is focused on studies involving rodents, it is critical that every scientist learns the essential procedures demonstrated in these videos.
Lab Safety
This collection provides safety guidelines to be followed when working with hazardous materials and equipment. It covers universal topics such as PPE, electrical safety, and general emergency guidelines, as well as some specific safety procedures for chemistry and biology laboratories.

Neuroscience
This collection provides an introduction to the field of neuroscience, exploring five major branches of study: neurophysiology; neuroanatomy; cell and molecular neuroscience; behavioral neuroscience; and developmental neuroscience.
Developmental Biology
This collection introduces the field of developmental biology and cover five areas: developmental genetics; molecular developmental biology; stem cell biology; organogenesis; and aging and regeneration.
Genetics
This collection focuses on genetics and incorporates five broad subdisciplines: the genetics of individuals and populations; genetics and disease; gene expression; epigenetics; and genetic engineering.
Cell Biology
This collection provides a glimpse into the field of cell biology and profiles five important cellular phenomena: cell division; motility; endocytosis and exocytosis; metabolism; and cell death.
Immunology
This collection covers many staple techniques of immunology labs, including the labeling and sorting of immune cells. It also demonstrates proliferation methods for immune cells and antibodies, as well as common assays for immune activity including ELISA. Finally, it demonstrates staining and imaging of immune tissue and cell samples.
Microbiology
This collection demonstrates the key tools of microbiological investigation, including proper sterile technique and plating, how to use selective media and enrich samples, and culturing methods for mixed or pure samples. Additionally, it looks at common methods for identifying microbial isolates, as well as procedures for the genetic manipulation of bacteria.

General Chemistry
This collection helps provide a solid foundation in general chemistry by showcasing basic lab techniques, demonstrating commonly used equipment, and exploring the theory behind fundamental methodology in Chemistry.
Organic Chemistry
This collection features techniques routinely used in the organic chemistry lab, focusing on regulating temperature and atmosphere during chemical reactions and post-reaction refinement.
Analytical Chemistry
This collection takes a broad look at quantitative analysis and instrumentation including electrochemistry, spectroscopy, chromatography, and mass spectrometry.
Biochemistry
This collection presents commonly used purification methods, such as affinity chromatography, as well as analytical methods, like MALDI-TOF. In addition, the videos showcase methods for assessing biomolecule interaction and function, such as co-immunoprecipitation and metabolic labeling.
Organic Chemistry II
This collection covers the theory and reactions necessary to carry out syntheses on a more advanced level. In addition, a few videos introduce methods commonly used to analyze the reaction products such as infrared spectroscopy and polarimetry.
Inorganic Chemistry
This collection covers a range of inorganic chemistry protocols and concepts including air-free techniques, syntheses of transition metal based compounds, core inorganic chemistry concepts like Lewis Acid and Bases, and advanced analysis techniques including EPR spectroscopy.

Environmental Science
This collection utilizes an interdisciplinary approach to explore and evaluate environmental systems with topics ranging from soil and water contaminants, invasive species, alternative energy and forestry.
Environmental Microbiology
This collection provides an introduction to microbial communities in the environment and their roles in ecosystems; and also explores common methods used to study environmental microbiology.
Earth Science
This collection features topics ranging from geology to geochemistry; with a variety of demonstrations including physical and chemical properties of minerals and the analysis of rock formations.

Physics I
This collection covers classical mechanics and thermodynamics discussing relevant laws and equations; every topic is presented with experiments validating theoretical hypothesis, and real world contextual examples.
Physics II
This collection explores topics including electrostatics, magnetism, optics, wave-based oscillations, and electrical circuits; explaining underlying principles behind physical phenomena that have changed our world.

Bioengineering
This collection covers core bioengineering concepts, which include production of biomaterials, histotypic and whole organ tissue cultures, bioprocessing techniques, and the complex system-level fields of bioMEMs and biosensing.
Electrical Engineering
This collection starts with an electrical safety video that introduces the best practices for commonly used equipment in an electrical laboratory. Subsequent videos introduce elements such as inductors, transformers, convertors, rectifiers, and inverters.
Mechanical Engineering
This collection introduces a range of concepts that are essential for understanding and designing mechanical systems. Each video examines a specific topic and describes fundamental analytical methods commonly employed to understand physical behaviors.
Chemical Engineering
This collection explains fundamental concepts in chemical engineering using an experimental approach and it presents necessary operating procedures of various apparatuses such as the tray dryer and the viscometer.
Structural Engineering
This collection introduces students to fundamental concepts and protocols for material characterization, with specific emphasis on common construction materials such as steel, wood, and concrete.
Biomedical Engineering
This collection describes the central concepts in biomedical engineering with a focus on imaging techniques to visualize and detect medical conditions, methods to quantify biomechanical strain, and computational modeling to simulate blood flow.
Materials Engineering
This collection features cutting-edge methods for analysis and characterization of materials, and introduces a range of advanced materials and processes for new technologies and applications.
Aeronautical Engineering
This collection introduces fundamental concepts in aeronautical engineering with a focus on methods to evaluate aerodynamic performance, techniques to visualize subsonic and supersonic flow patterns, and procedures to calibrate measurement systems for real-time flight control.

Physical Examinations I
This collection provides a foundation for performing physical exams; with techniques ranging from measuring blood pressure or vital signs, to key pulmonary and cardiovascular physical examinations.
Physical Examinations II
This collection is a specialized edition featuring methodologies and procedures associated with more sensitive and comprehensive physical exams such as HEENT exams, abdominal exams, and pelvic exams.
Physical Examinations III
This collection covers physical examination of two major systems in our body: neurological and musculoskeletal, with videos explaining relevant anatomy, the rationale behind the steps, and the interpretation of the exam findings.
Emergency Medicine and Critical Care
This collection delves into a wide range of procedures employed in emergency and intensive care settings, ranging from basic life support methods such as CPR and rescue breathing to other common procedures performed during emergency situations.
Nursing Skills
This collection demonstrates medication preparation and administration, with videos highlighting important safety checks, considerations, dosage calculations, and common mistakes associated with improper medication administration.
Coronavirus / COVID-19 Procedures
This collection demonstrates procedures for healthcare workers who are screening and treating patients for COVID-19/Coronavirus.

Behavioral Sciences
This collection presents the fundamentals of behavior neuroscience and focuses on the concepts of learning, memory, cognition, movement, addiction and behavioral disorders.
Experimental Psychology
This collection provides a framework for observing how psychological experiments are embedded in the actual research process, starting from the initial research design to arriving at conclusions in a study.
Cognitive Psychology
This collection describes a number of influential paradigms used to study complex mental processes underlying attention, perception, learning and memory.
Developmental Psychology
This collection explores the experimental domains of attention and perception, reasoning, social learning and memory processes - highlighting the dynamic changes that emerge throughout infancy and childhood.
Neuropsychology
This collection presents multidisciplinary techniques in behavior, neurophysiology, anatomy, and functional imaging to help diagnose brain damage and mental disorders.
Sensation and Perception
This collection delves into a variety of procedures to study how the brain processes our complex sensory world and solves problems confronting conscious awareness and visual, tactile, and auditory perception.
Social Psychology
This collection features classical methods used to investigate how social contexts influence people's actions, thoughts, and attitudes and provides a transparent look into social experiments.

JoVE Core

Biology
JoVE Core series brings biology to life through over 300 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons that explain key concepts in biology, plus more than 150 scientist-in-action videos that show actual research experiments conducted in today’s laboratories.
Chemistry
JoVE Core Chemistry brings general chemistry concepts to life using concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons. Plus, in the scientist-in-action videos, we demonstrate classical and original research experiments performed in today's laboratories worldwide.
Molecular Biology
JoVE Core Molecular Biology showcases the molecular processes of the cell through clear and concise animated video lessons. Additionally, in scientist-in-action videos, these concepts' application is demonstrated through real experiments in modern laboratories.
Organic Chemistry
JoVE Core Organic Chemistry explains basic concepts of stereochemistry, reactions, and mechanisms using concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons. Additionally, the scientist-in-action videos demonstrate the application of related concepts in classical and original research experiments performed in today's laboratories worldwide.
Social Psychology
JoVE Core Social Psychology brings the foundations of our social world to life. Through 66 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons, we explain key concepts in the field. Plus, in another 25 scientist-in-action videos, we demonstrate classical and original research experiments performed in the laboratory.

JoVE Lab Manual

Biology Manual
Comprehensive, curriculum-focused videos for both instructors and students in introductory biology lab courses.
Chemistry Manual
Comprehensive, curriculum-focused videos for both instructors and students in introductory chemistry lab courses.