A database is an online collection of articles that you can search by topic or keyword. Databases are great sources of high quality, scholarly articles.
Not sure where to start? Visit our guide for more information on databases and tips on effective search strategies for finding exactly what you need.
The Music Index Online (via EBSCOhost) - A subject-author guide to periodical literature from over 800 international music journals and magazines. The online version indexes articles from 1975 to the present,covering a wide range of music topics in both the scholarly and popular arenas. Also included are book and recording reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (via EBSCOhost) - An abstracted bibliography of scholarly music writings published worldwide. Contains entries in over 300 languages, with most citations abstracted in English. Over 700 scholarly journals are indexed, as well as dissertations, Festschriften, articles in books, conference proceedings, and videos of scholarly interest. 1967-present only.
JSTOR - Provides a comprehensive (full-text) backfile of major scholarly journals. Includes many journals in the Arts and Sciences, including Music. Journals are not current, most having a "moving wall" or "embargo" of three to five years, depending on publication.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts - Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
These indexes are not entirely related to music, but all have coverage of leading music journals, and most have links to full-text articles.
Academic OneFile - A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature etc.
Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost) - A multidisciplinary databases of more than 6,100 periodicals with coverage for some journals going back to 1887.
ERIC (via EBSCOhost) - Provides access to education literature and resources, including more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full text documents.
Humanities Source (via EBSCOhost) - includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984.
Daniel A. Reed Library • The State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • firstname.lastname@example.org