Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Music Collection: Basic Music Reference Sources

Basic Music Reference Sources

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians / Nicolas Slonimsky, ed. 6 vols. New York : Schirmer Books, 2001.
Music Reference ML105 .B16 2001
Also available online as part of Classical Music Reference Library.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music / James Porter and Timothy Rice, eds. 10 vols. New York: Garland Pub., 1998-2002.
Music Reference ML100 .G16 1998
Also available online from Alexander Street Press

Harvard Dictionary of Music / Don Michael Randel, ed.. 4th ed. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2003.
Music Reference ML100 .A64 2003   

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians / Stanley Sadie, ed.. 2nd ed. 29 vols. London: Macmillan, 2001.
Music Reference ML100 .N48 2001
Also available online as part of Oxford Music Online

The Oxford Companion to Jazz / edited by Bill Kirchner. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
Music Reference ML3507 .O94 2000

Oxford Dictionary of Music. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.
Available online via Oxford Reference

General Bibliographies

Crabtree, Phillip and Donald H. Foster. Sourcebook for Research in Music. 2nd ed. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2005.
Available online via Ebook Central

Duckles,  Vincent H. and Ida Reed. Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography. 5th ed. New York: Schirmer Books, 1997.
Music Reference ML113 .D83 1997

Mixter, Keith E. General Bibliography for Music Research. [Warren,] Mich.: Harmonie Park Press, 1996.
Music Reference ML 113 M59 1996

Sampsel, Laurie J. Music Research: A Handbook. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
Music Reference ML113 .S28 2009

Guides to Music Writing and Researching

Bayne, Pauline Shaw. A Guide to Library Research in Music. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2008.
Music Reference ML3797 .B29 2008

Cowdery, James R. How to Write about Music: The RILM Manual of Style. 2d ed. New York : Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, 2006.
Music Reference ML3797 .H69 2006

Herbert, Trevor. Music in Words: A Guide to Researching and Writing about Music. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
Music Reference ML3797 .H537 2009

Wingell, Richard J. Writing about Music: An Introductory Guide. 2nd ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1997.
Music Reference ML3797 .W54 1996

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu