Skip to main content
The State University of New York at FredoniaReed Library

Music Collection: Music E-Journals

Music E-Journals

These are online, freely-available (meaning there is no subscription fee to access them) music journals, that come from a variety of web sources. Many of the journals listed are peer-reviewed. The library also subscribes to many music journals in electronic format; for a listing of those, see the information box on the left of this page.

Acoustics
Acoustic Research Letters Online (ARLO) [peer-reviewed]
Research in all fields of acoustics, articles published by the Acoustical Society of America from 1999-2005. ARLO has been replaced by JASA Express Letters (JASA-EL) [see below].

JASA Express Letters (JASA-EL) [peer-reviewed]
Research results and technical discussion in all fields of acoustics (published by the Acoustical Society of America). It serves physical scientists, life scientists, engineers, psychologists, physiologists, architects, musicians, and speech communication specialists.

Musicology
British Postgraduate Musicology [peer-reviewed]
A peer-reviewed journal publishing research by postgraduate or recent postdoctoral students of music. 

Echo: A Music-Centered Journal [peer-reviewed]
"An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal created and edited by graduate students in the Department of Musicology at the University of California, Los Angeles." An online only e-journal, published biannually since 1999. Full text of articles available in HTML and PDF formats.

Empirical Musicology Review [peer reviewed]
An open access e-journal that provides an "international forum promoting the understanding of music in all of its facets."

Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music [peer-reviewed]
Peer-reviewed journal published by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music.

Popular Musicology Online [refereed journal]
Refereed academic journal with an international advisory panel of leading popular musicologists.

Music Theory
EUNOMIOS: An Open Journal for Theory, Analysis and Semiotics of Music
NOTE: contributions published without editing or peer review!

Music Theory Online: A Journal of Criticism, Commentary, Research and Scholarship [peer-reviewed]
The online journal of the Society for Music Theory.

National Journals
Polish Music Journal [peer-reviewed]
"An academic, peer-reviewed publication devoted to musicological studies of Polish music and music in Poland." 

Finnish Music Quarterly
Published in English, this journal covers all aspects of music in Finland. The online edition has selected full-text articles aticles (availability: 2006-)

Other (Miscellaneous) Journals
MIX Magazine Online
Covers professional recording and sound production technology

Music & Anthropology: Journal of Mediterranean Musical Anthropology [peer-reviewed]
An online multimedia peer-reviewed journal.

Online Trombone Journal
"A free Internet resource for and by trombonists."

More E-Journals

The Library also offers an Electronic Journal List, that contains all of our full-text electronic journal holdings. You can search for a particular journal title, and then link to the database so you can search or browse the title you are looking for.

Daniel A. Reed LibraryThe State University of New York at Fredonia • 280 Central Ave., Fredonia, NY 14063 • 716-673-3184 • Fax: 716-673-3185 • reedref@fredonia.edu